We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allegro Playacar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viva Wyndham Azteca(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reef Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viva Wyndham Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Yucatan(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Riu Lupita(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5 817)
Filter reviews
5 817 results
Traveller rating
2 152
2 046
898
394
327
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 152
2 046
898
394
327
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst clubrooms are smallthatched rooftime sharepool baritalian restaurantentertainment staffsmall resortdifferent theme every nightlunch buffetactivity poolguest servicesgreat beachother resortsgated communityceiling fanmexican night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 5 817 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the price you pay this is a good spot. Food wasn’t the best at the buffet but you get complementary reservations at the 4 restaurants on site depending on how long you stay, and that food was good. It’s in a gated private community so it’s away from the actual town but it’s still easily accessible. Overall happy with my stay

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank floresedwin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Floresedwin55,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

It is with regret however that some aspects of our hotel did not meet your expectations; We are working with all the staff to give you the best service. Your comments have been taken on board and will help to improve our service and quality of them for all our guests.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I really enjoy coming to this resort! It's family friendly, the staff are wonderful and the layout of the resort is great! It's nice going to a place that isn't a solid block of a building. The beach is great and the whole experience was overall enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank aturn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Aturn88,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments after your recent visit with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations.

We are happy to choose you to stay on your vacation, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally.

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

The warmest greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay, clean sheets and all. We never booked a specialty restaurant but Rafael at the Topaz restaurant made sure we felt at home and was looked after. We found the resort very clean, and in good repair. We enjoyed the evening entertainment and foam party at the pool. My wife has M.S. and so we found the resort a great size to get around without too much walking. It's on our place to return to list.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Garry,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments after your recent visit with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations.

We are happy to choose you to stay on your vacation, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

The warmest greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our third visit here and my husband and I will never go back again! In the past we have loved going here, our family has made this a go to place to connect. The food is okay and the beach is nice, but if you have any problems with your room don't expect to get any help from the front desk. They will neither believe you or assist you with any issues, in fact they will basically shrug off your issues. Our sheets had blood on them, and not from us, which means either the housekeeping had an injury and bled on the sheets or they were dirty before we got there. Either way, it was very disturbing and having the issue brushed off was not acceptable.

Room Tip: Room #3112. No view and upstairs rooms tend to be noisy since the thatched roof allows sound to travel from other rooms really well.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BlondieCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Blondie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent vacation with us.

It is with regret however that some aspects of our hotel did not meet your expectations; We are working with all the staff to give you the best service. Your comments have been taken on board and will help to improve our service and quality of them for all our guests. Your case was transferred to Management and is being analyzed to take action on the areas in charge.

We strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics.

Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warmest Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I will admit I was a little nervous after I booked this resort. I've previously stayed at the Princess, Sirenis and Iberostar Quetzal. All decent sized resorts, 2 of which were huge. Turns out I was nervous for absolutely no reason! This resort was my favourite of all and mostly because of the size of the resort.I also love this resort because it is located in the gated community of Playacar which has an absolutely beautiful beach and is so close to 5th Ave that you could walk (beach walk or on the road). There are no palapas on the beach which was another concern of mine but there are plenty of palm trees to provide shade. Every day, all day there were plenty of seats available both at the pool and the beach. I didn't see anyone playing the towel game because there was just no need for it. Staff (including management) walked a long the beach every day picking up trash. It was nice to see. The food was good. The buffets were smaller than what I'm used to but if you can't find something to eat, you really need to broaden your tastes a little. Different theme nights every night at the buffet which kept it interesting. They limit the a la cartes to 2 for a 7 night stay. We did the Mexican and the Oriental which were both fantastic. Best a la cartes I've been to. There is no room service option but there is a 24 hour sports bar above the lobby which had snacks all the time. There was also a pool table, air hockey, and a couple other games in the sports bar. Flat screen tv's available for sports as well. If they weren't playing what you wanted they would pass over the remote to you. Rooms are small had everything you need, safe worked, AC worked, had no complaints about the functionality of anything. The buildings have thatched roofs which mean sound travels between the rooms and you can hear the outside noises. But after a day in the sun, I had no trouble drowning out the sounds and sleeping soundly. Overall, this resort was small, basic but awesome. I'm not one to return to the same resort but I would be more likely to return to this one than all the others I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Gerente at Allegro Playacar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Laura,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments after your recent visit with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your holiday expectations.

We are happy to choose you to stay on your vacation, your opinion is very important to us and we assure you that we will share it internally. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.

We hope you will allow us to make your next stay unforgettable.

The warmest greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews