We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Weekend with Friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Early evening at Casa Sisal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Early evening at Casa Sisal
Casa Sisal from lawn East side view of Casa Sisal
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Early evening at Casa Sisal
Casa Sisal from lawn
East side view of Casa Sisal
View from Casa Sisal towards chimney
Back lawn area and ponds
Casa Sisal entry
Living area
Casa Sisal open area
Casa Sisal dinning & kitchen behind
Casa Sisal sitting area detail
Casa Sisal master bedroom
Master bathroom at Casa Sisal
Master bath shower area
Guest bedroom at Casa Sisal
Casa Sisal guest bedroom detail
Bathroom with shower
Living area view toward the great lawn and hacienda beyond
Back entrance
Looking through the house from back pond
Rooftop view
Arch from hacienda to Sisal
View through house
Casa Sisal entry at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Merida, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alexis K
Vacaville, California
1 review
“Beautiful Weekend with Friends”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Casa Sisal was a dream come true. Beauty, quite, stunning house, lovely hosts. My friends and I enjoyed every moment at Casa Sisal. It was also a great location to go out and explore from. We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How friendly and kind the Hosts treated us.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajsbolton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Mecca for Modernism”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A mecca for Modernism hidden away in a former plantation about 25 minutes drive from Merida, Casa Sisal was the final stop of our mini adventure exploring the beautiful Yucatan peninsula.

The house, designed by Mexican architect Salavador Reyes Rios, is set beautifully in an expansive garden filled with palm trees. If you are passionate about design and architecture, you will not fail to be smitten with this wonderful holiday home. Put simply, it looks stunning! We found it to be a wonderful place to relax & unwind at the end of our holiday.

Howie & Cyndy and their staff gave us a warm welcome & made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The were polite, friendly & on hand with useful hints and tips about the local area. They have the art of hospitality down to a fine tee.

If you do want to explore the local area, rest assured there is plenty of interesting things to see and do. Visiting the Yucatan's capital city Merida was our highlight. Merida is a colourful town with a creative spirit. Part of its charm is the faded glamour that is being brought back to life. We would personally recommend buying fresh fruit & vegatables from the food stalls in one of the Centro markets, enjoying an exotically flavoured ice cream from El Principal and whizzing around town in a horse-drawn caleche. For good food, we would recommend a trip to Nectar for an evening meal.

We highly recommend a stay at Casa Sisal. For the price paid, we came away thinking we had landed a bargain for a great property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David G
Land O Lakes, Florida
1 review
“SPECTACULAR!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Casa Sisal during the first week of May. It was more than we had hoped. The house and grounds are spectacular! It's a very peaceful and relaxing environment. Its like staying at a five star hotel but you have the whole place to yourself. I absolutely loved not having to do any dishes or laundry for a week! And, an unexpected surprise, at dusk thousands of fireflies put on a show that you need to see to believe!! We had the pleasure of having the owners , Cindy and Howie, over for dinner and nice conversation. They also gave us some great tips for activities. We highly recommend this vacation rental. Thank you Cindy and Howie!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlyingSoc...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Modern Living in Yucatan”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Casa Sisal for four nights with our three year old son for a short getaway in Yucatan. We found the house because of its proximity to Merida, numerous cenotes around and also Umxal. It is located in a real mayan village 20 mins away from Merida. Part of hacienda san chich, an old sisal estate back to the heyday when yucatan is the world center of ropes. The property is very special as a contemporary guest house built with a ultra modern style but also pays homage to mayan traditionl architecture such as using chukum for both interior and exterior finish. With fine taste and attention to details, the house is designed with a lot of intelleigence, aesthetics and integrity. It is extremely visually pleasing, very spacious and practical for tropical climate. The software in the house is upscale with most things one would need for short stay. There is no TV but a DVD. so if you travel with kids, you may want to bring some kds DVD. We don't watch much TV, so no problem for us. Bottom line is we as architecture lovers, we enjoyed the house thoroughly.
Location wise, I think its a lot better than Merida centro. Its more authentic and rustic. The staffs are very friendly and are lovely local people, but they don't speak much English, so the guest should be aware of this and find way to do the basically communication. But in a way, its part of the charm traveling there for us.
The only thing that we hope is better is the hot water. It is not very hot or consistent, but because its pretty warm there, it didn't bother us much. Internet is a bit shaky but works fine for the most hours, just little things one has to deal with in a little village.
Cindy the owner is great in communicating even though she is not there but she is helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: achitecture
Liked least: the bird can be loud at night for at least a while
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$275
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing