We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental Cozumel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Allegro Cozumel(Cozumel)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (5 276)
Filter reviews
5 276 results
Traveller rating
2 014
1 730
825
430
277
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 014
1 730
825
430
277
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clublos olivosstayed at the occidental grandsonora grillspecialty restaurantsdive shopdive palancarfishthe mediterranean restaurantfirst clubquiet poolstayed in buildingbeach restaurantpizza placelobby bargrounds are beautifulactivity pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 5 276 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I would recommend this resort. It is a small resort which I like, not a lot of walking to get to the restaurants or beach. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is of excellent quality . Although the buffet is small in selection, the food is very good. You will always find plenty to eat. Especially recommend the omelets for breakfast. The lady chef that makes them at the outdoor table section ,highly recommend. Rooms at nice although the mattresses are a bit soft but comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank fcnolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear fcnolet

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Cozumel hotel for your visit to this beautiful island and for recommending us to the travel community of Tripadvisor, this is undoubtedly the best reward for us all.
We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times.
It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
Thank you also for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a last minute opportunity to travel to Mexico for Spring Break. We booked the hotel online the day before our arrival after reading many reviews of other all inclusive hotels in Cozumel. Overall, this was a very good experience for my family. My 3 boys enjoyed the numerous restaurants and access to food almost all day long.
The staff were friendly, and most things worked at the hotel. We complained that the catamaran sailboat was broken and they had a new sail and it operational on our 2nd to last day! Unfortunately, the wind was minimal for our last 2 days.
The diving onsite was decent, but we dove with another group for my whole family at an even better rate.
They will try to sell you on their vacation club, like a timeshare presentation, that gave us discounted diving (2 tank five for $60 each) and a free Jeep for a day!
We all enjoyed the trip and were pleasantly surprised at how nice everyone was, especially since they were sold out for the week.
Cheers!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sean M

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Cozumel was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.

Thank you for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is beautiful and beach amazing. Now for the rest food sub par. Could find something to eat but always cold and not appealing. At every meal they weren't ready for the meal. The worst service by most. Never got coffee in the mornings would ask and then maybe get coffee with no milk or the other way around. The beach staff were amazing. It's to bad because very little effort could make this place amaxing but lack of service and poor food quality makes this a resort I would not return. Talked to many guests and got the same response. The management needs to take a close look at there services

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cindy O

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Cozumel.We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.
Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Cozumel will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had my wedding here in March /18, and everything was perfect. We arrived about 1pm and they not only had our room ready but had upgraded us to a suite. Rooms are beautiful, spacious and clean. Nadia was our wedding coordinator and she was so helpful before, during and after our ceremony and whole week stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a destination wedding. Staff was super helpful and friendly. Food was outstanding. Eat at as many of the a la cartes as possible, it’s worth it. I was a little hesitant picking everything over email for our wedding especially the food. I was not disappointed. It was over the top. Everyone came to me the rest of the week just to tell me how great the dinner was. We had the beef, and I don’t even like beef on a regular day, but it was delicious. The one tier cake that came with our package was very impressive. I wasn’t expecting much, but the staff really out did themselves. The choices you have at the bar are really good. I’ve been to other places where if you want rum you only have 2 to pick from. All the bars on this resort have many. Some Mexican, some commercial American and also Canadian. My actual ceremony was perfect. We had it at 5pm. The weather, music, minister, and staff helping out were great. I couldn’t have done it better myself. They provided a beautiful bouquet, champagne, and wonderful service. Everything was on time and done to perfection. Dinner at the beach restaurant during sunset. It was awesome. Also the weather was perfect . Lots of activities to choose from the rest of the week. I honestly have no complaints about anything. Nadia and staff made this vacation and my wedding a dream. Would defiantly recommend and return again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Lesley T

First of all, we congratulate you with your Wedding and we thank you for choosing our Occidental Cozumel hotel for such a special occasion.We take a lot of pleasure in making each of our guests' visits "fantastic", especially when it comes to special occasions.

We appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your well being whilst staying among us.

We thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from an amazing trip at the Occidental Cozumel.

We booked a Royal Level Junior Suite and couldn't be more pleased. The bathroom had a tub and walk-in shower. There were plenty of drawers and a closet for your things, and everything else you'd expect - comfortable bed, safe and plenty of towels. The first floor rooms have a patio and higher floors have little balconies. Air conditioner worked great. Marisol did an excellent job keeping our room clean all week.

The Royal Level was well worth the cost. First, Gabriela went out of her way to ensure we had a first floor room as my wife has trouble with stairs. You also get two Wifi connections which worked all over the resort. We were able to book restaurants for the entire week, and even enjoyed free room service one night after a long day exploring the island. Best of all though was Emma - what a great asset for the Occidental. She was incredibly friendly and helpful!

We loved all the critters roaming the resort. The iguanas at the adult pool should get themselves an agent, as people came all day long to snap some photos. The grounds are lush and well maintained. The resort is relatively small and it didn't take long to walk from the front desk to the beach.

The food seems to be a hot topic. We ate at all the restaurants and buffets, and we didn't starve. We did get a little tired of the lunch buffet towards the end of the week though.

One thing that the Occidental really needs to correct is how slippery it is around the adult pool. We saw three people fall during the week. The handrail needs to be extended to the top stair and non-slip mats added around the stairs. It gets pretty slimy and slippery from everyone's sunscreen.

Overall, a great week and we look forward to returning.

Thanks Gabriela and Emma!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChiPhiPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Gerente at Occidental Cozumel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ChiPhipie

I would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always my goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and I am delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental cozumel was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.
We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate Emma on your behalf for her contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.
Thank you for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Gabriela Gaeta
Guest experience Manager
cozumel.guestexperience@occidental.barcelo.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews