We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$317
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/03/11
Expedia.com
US$308
View Deal
Snaptravel
US$318
US$194
View Deal
SAVE US$124
Free cancellation until 21/03/08
Hotels.comUS$308
eDreamsUS$317
Agoda.comUS$318
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 537)
Filter reviews
6 537 results
Traveller rating
3 402
1 766
739
283
347
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 402
1 766
739
283
347
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rosa maria tres rios capriccio restaurant frozen grapes beach butler lobster dinner ocean spa beautiful beach our waiter mayan coffee lobby bar great vacation all inclusive package family vacation water aerobics the wait staff beach area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 6 537 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2021

I really hate to do this but I have to be honest. This place is more of a glorified hotel rather than a resort. One swimming pool thats not very impressive. Two places to eat and the food was subpar. VERY few choices. The rooms are extremely basic. Our mirror was filthy with stains that could not be removed. The cabinets were not aligned properly. Tv was malfunctioning. The only thing that was good was the view of the ocean and the location.

The staff was very nice. I cant say anything bad about them at all.

we checked out after one night and went next door to the Royalton Chic Suites! Night and day difference. We spent more money but peace of mind is priceless. If we stayed at Sunset for the duration of our trip, I wouldve been extremely disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank secretsocietylive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Bárcenas, Otro at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

Great view, amazing service, comfortable beds, good food, and just a great place to stay. Family friendly. Entertainment is great. Spa service is amazing. I strongly recommend this place to evegdryone! Perfect for a romantic getaway, a birthday occasion, girls weekend, couples week/end, whatever! They go above and beyond to make it special if you let them know what it is that you are celebrating.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Relax443368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Bárcenas, Otro at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

We are always happy to hear that our guests went home with fond memories. Thanks for visiting us and for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2021

The accommodations were very good. Our room (and maybe others) had a in-room safety concern. There is a large step (3 steps high) between the actual steps to the sitting area and the bed. It would be very easy in the dark in an unfamiliar space to step off and be seriously injured falling onto a hard tile floor. The view of the beach and ocean was excellent. The facilities very very clean. The staff is very friendly. There were no written menus. The wait staff wanted you to use QR codes.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 454gordonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Bárcenas, Otro at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Thank you for your visit and review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in all areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021

We where called to come to your resort and pay a fee and sit through a presentation. I informed them several times we have a timeshare. They insisted till I said yes. We where treated like crap after we said no several times. Remember we didn’t call you did! I’m a nurse it’s been very stressful lately with the Covid patients and we went to get away I really didn’t need the attitude that was given by your sales people.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GlobeTrotting611239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Bárcenas, Otro at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Thank you for your visit and review. We are very sorry about your experience and we appreciate you letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

We love visiting Sunset Royal. This is our second visit of many to come. The location is perfect with a quality price and outstanding customer service and care. The beach is phenomenal. Rogelio and Alberto are wonderful making sure we had a great time and checking to make sure we had everything we needed. Raphael took good care of us while on the beach. The rooms are so beautiful and the housekeeping does a wonderful job as well.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Scenic17649349944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Bárcenas, Otro at Sunset Royal Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Thank you for your kind words,. We are happy to hear that we met your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews