We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet house in Oaxaca”
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio Front of house painted
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Traditional artwork, Talavera tiles and handmade fountain.
Patio
Front of house painted
External window with two Palomitas
Casa Palomita Internal Patio
From patio: door to outside
Palomita gargoyles
Patio
Patio furniture
Patio
View from living room to patio
Sliding glass doors with shades down
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Bougainvilla in utility patio off main bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
barbara f
Paris, Texas
2 reviews
“Quiet house in Oaxaca”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I spent another July in Casa Palomita this year. Located at the end of a quiet street in Xochimilco, one of the older neighborhoods in Oaxaca, this lovely house is in easy walking distance of the historic city center. Two bedrooms and two full baths, with a tranquil front courtyard featuring a lighted fountain and large hammock. A great stay in a great city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks Barbara. We love our returning guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elzbetmar...
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot for an adventure with friends!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Palomita is beautiful, comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio then walked down to the Zocalo to shop and see the beauty of Oaxaca. The beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of space to spread out. Lu is most helpful with directions and suggestions for activities. We hired a wonderful driver, Don Vidal, who drove us all around the area to some artist studios and archeological sites. It was a fantastic and educational adventure and I will definitely stay here when I return to Oaxaca!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thanks Elizabeth! Everyone loves Don Vidal. He is a wonderful human being in addition to be a great driver and guide. He personally knows many of the excellent traditional artists in the area, and when he takes you into their homes where you see art being made and can put your money directly into the artist's hands....well that is so rewarding. Please return and return,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolconv...
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a wonderful 3 weeks in Oaxaca, largely due to our accommodations which were perfect. Casa Palomita is charming - very clean and so nicely decorated. It is ideally situated- a short walk from Santo Domingo. The house is closed in by a wall and a high gate so you can sleep with the doors and windows open - which was wonderful in both the heat and torrential rain. The kitchen is spacious and very well stocked. It lends itself to cooking with friends. It is also open to the dining/living room which is great for socializing. The bedrooms have skylights - the master is particularly luminous. The bathrooms are very nice - colorful tiles are used throughout. We found ourselves using the gorgeous patio for breakfast and evenings when, instead of the electric lights, we enjoyed the plentiful candles. Next time we go, it will be for a month.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you Carol! Every guest shares ideas for how to make Casa Palomita more welcoming and relaxing. Lu and I are so happy when our guests are happy. Yes! return as soon as you can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbie A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming home close to everything”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

All the comforts of home are available in this charming villa. The kitchen has all you need including cookbooks! Owner provided excellent information on local artisans and activities including recommendations on drivers - we hired Don Vidal and had an amazing experience visiting nearby towns and historic sites. Brilliant idea to have cards with the address - they came in handy until we figured out our way around. The neighborhood is quiet and walking distance to the markets and the not to be missed botanic gardens and adjacent museum. Oaxaca is magical and our stay here affirmed this is a place we'd like to return.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thanks Bobbie. Yes, nothing better than buying art directly from the artists. Don Vidal can drive you directly to them. Best, Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmen P
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most charming place to stay in Oaxaca”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is the second time I have stayed at Casa Palomita and it feels like home away from home! I love the charming walk to Santo Domingo and through the "calles" of Oaxaca. It is the best location for guests new to Oaxaca and those acquainted the magical city. The fully equipped kitchen makes it easy to stay in place and just relax in the lovely patio. Lu the house manager answered all and any of my questions. She is just a delight. Maria, the owner, has created a document for guests so they know the "best of the best" of Oaxaca. Well, now if am homesick for Oaxaca all over again. Thank goodness I have reservations for December! Can't wait to be at Casa Palomita once again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thanks Carmen for taking a minute to write a review. We love return guests! The trick I learned from Carmen is to bring clean, nice, but no-longer-worn, clothing from home in a second bag so you can donate them to the Casa de la Mujer AND have an empty bag for all your textiles and other art work to take home. Genius AND generous. If you want to do the same, we can arrange for the items to be given to a non-profit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing