We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house, wonderful neighborhood”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio Casa Palomita Internal Patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Patio
Casa Palomita Internal Patio
Northern view from rooftop
Western view from rooftop
Front of house before painted but showing wooded area
Front of house painted
External window with two Palomitas
Patio
From patio: door to outside
From patio: entrance to 2nd bedroom
Handmade water fountain
Patio
Palomita gargoyles
Patio
Patio with hammock
Patio
Patio
Patio with talavera tiles
Patio
Patio
Patio furniture
Door to 2nd bedroom with talavera tiles
View from living room to patio
Sliding glass doors with shades down
Kitchen with talavera tiles and handmade cabinets
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining area / Kitchen
Dining area / Living room
Dining area / Living room
Dining area with Oaxacan handmade rug
Dining area / Living room
Dining area / Living room
Main Bedroom
Main bedroom
Main Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Walkin Shower and Talaveras in main bathroom
Bougainvilla in utility patio off main bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Flatscreen for video watching
Second bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oaxaca, Southern Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PatjaBBB
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house, wonderful neighborhood”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This pretty house has a lovely private courtyard, a spacious, comfortable, well-equipped living room/kitchen. The beds and bathrooms are fine. Everything works (light switches, faucets, doors, screens), which is saying a lot. The property manager and housekeeper were very good. The neighborhood, Xochimilco, with it's stone streets and weaving workshops, is an excellent place to stay, out of the city traffic and noise, but easy walking distance to the Centro.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, spaciousness, quiet
Liked least: Ultra-vibrant pink walls in courtyard
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spencer64...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming House in Oaxaca”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at your home and you have obviously devoted much thought and effort into ensuring a positive experience for visitors at Casa Palomita. The ten minute walk to the City center was very pleasant along Los Arcos.

Manager Lu was great and very helpful. I'm sure our travels will bring us back to Oaxaca in the next year or two and I hope that it works out to stay at your place when we return to Oaxaca.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie44F...
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect! Better than my high expectations.”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Casa Palomita was even better than my expectations, and my expectations were pretty high (based on the website and recommendations)! As Oaxaca is one of my favorite places on earth, I rented la casa for the month of October as a gift to myself for my 70th birthday. I invited various friends to come down to share at different times during the month. I have spoken with several of these friends and we cannot come up with even one complaint or suggestion for improvement. The location is excellent, in a quiet and historical neighborhood a 20 minute walk from the zocalo. The house is beautifully designed and furnished (that's an understatement), Lu, the on-site manager, is delightful - always helpful, never intrusive. We didn't cook much (only guacamole and margaritas most evenings, and the occasional breakfast), but the kitchen is fully equipped. Plenty of hot water. Pochote Market - just a couple of blocks away - on Fridays and Saturdays, a great place for breakfast, buying good breads, goat cheese/yogurt, flowers, and visiting (and buying from) the weavers who do their magic on the way up to Pochote. The information provided at la casa is excellent. For restaurants, Itanoni (a pleasant walk to the nearby neighborhood of Reforma) was a favorite, as was La Quinque just on the way towards the zocalo). We generally took public buses to nearby sites (Lu is a good resource for this) so did not use drivers, but Don Vidal provides an excellent and reliable taxi service for the airport, etc. In summary, my entire experience with renting and enjoying Casa Palomita, from beginning the process with Maria to saying adios to Lu, was nothing but pleasant. My only concern is whether or not it will be available for my next visit to Oaxaca!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapp O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Your house is beautiful, peaceful and fantastic and we loved every minute of our stay there. It felt like you really cared about your guests having a great time and that contributed to our fabulous stay in Oaxaca, we wished that we could have stayed longer. Lu was fantastic, friendly and incredibly helpful for whatever we needed. We travel a lot and are currently travelling around Mexico, renting Casa Palomita was one of the nicest and best experiences we have had with our accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oscar M
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Perfectly peaceful, perfectly located--close to all the fun, Maria has thought of everything.

We could only think "Casa Palomita is a piece of heaven!" Our idea is to clone Casa Palomita and everything you do to make it work. It was so helpful to arrive and have Lu great us, to have the basics of coffee, milk and eggs at hand. Having the list of restaurants was perfect. We found a great internet cafe just down the plaza/walking block from Quin Que (yum) restaurant, at the corner of that little Quin Que street and Garcia Vigil--a good way to avoid cell phone charges from the U.S. Your amazing documentation yielded new, helpful information every time we consulted it. I was really impressed by it. We shared it with our visiting friends and recommended your recommendations to visitors we met in Mexico City headed for Oaxaca! We are just so grateful to you for offering us such a lovely home in Oaxaca. We could see by the comment book that so many people return to Casa Palomita. It is so soothing, welcoming, warm, reassuring, lovely, spacious, well appointed and thoughtfully created. We loved it so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;