We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice, and a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Golondrina

Garden & pool. the pool is not heated in Dec/Jan.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden & pool. the pool is not heated in Dec/Jan.
Back of Villa seen from Garden Terrace Suite living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Garden & pool. the pool is not heated in Dec/Jan.
Back of Villa seen from Garden
Terrace Suite living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cuernavaca, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy S
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very nice, and a great location”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

It has been perfect for my needs during my stay. Very Pleasant accommodations, and lovely gardens. It was in a very convenient, safe and quiet location which was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence...
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An oasis in Cuernavaca”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from 4 1/2 months of staying in Cuernavaca at Villa Golondrina. The owner Jim was very accommodating and pleasant. He invited my husband and myself out to dine with him on the Saturday nights we were available. Jim has been in Mexico over 25 years and knows the best restaurants in Cuernavaca to dine at. He gives every guest a copy of his guide book as a Thank You for staying with him and its recently updated version has all the latest information on the best places to eat and visit in Mexico.

Because we were arriving near midnight Jim arranged to have a driver come to the Mexico City airport to pick us up ($90 for 2 which at an hour ride and with helping with the luggage was well worth it).

Property manager, Poncho, was available whenever we needed him and always saw to our needs. He cleaned our unit twice a week and replenished our bottled water supply almost before we drained the last bottle.

The pool however has no ladder so getting into or out of it if you have mobility issues could be a problem. The pool is heated.

We had unlimited wireless internet, cable TV, ceiling fans and clean towels every week.

For the unit on the ground floor our cooking area was outdoors (but covered). This took some getting used too but was honestly a blessing after a time since I learned to make my own totopos and other foods which are best if cooked outdoors anyway.

Because the house is located in a locked, gated and patrolled complex we felt completely safe and secure. If you have a car getting to the stores or other amenities is quite easy. If you are walking everywhere expect to walk and hike a distance since Cuernavaca is built on hills. There are lots of buses and taxi's are incredibly cheap.

Added benefits; Pancho is a trained hairdresser and gave both my husband and myself haircuts (for a charge).

Detractions: There are no laundry facilities on site. All laundry is taken to the local laundry mat and you have to pay to have your laundry done or you will have to hand wash all of your things. Unless you are staying as long as we did however this might not be a problem.

Overall an incredibly relaxing and pleasant place to stay while in Cuernavaca.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How quiet and relaxing the location was overall.
Liked least: No stairs to get into or our of the pool.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt4Mont...
Helena
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and facility”
Reviewed 4 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful place to stay while visiting Cuernavaca. Jim is an attentive host and makes sure that everything is in order. Conveniently located in a quiet, secure "privada", it is near bus lines and easy to get around. While Cuernavaca doesn't have the colonial charm of other Mexican cities we've visited, there is certainly enough to see and do to keep you occupied for more than a week. Worth the trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The flowers, birds, coffee on the veranda, Pancho and his attentiveness to our needs.
Liked least: Kitchen (just two gas burners) was a bit spartan but workable
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg s
vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed 1 November 2011 for a stay in May 2011
4
people found this review helpful

I stay in Villa Golondrina every time I visit Cuernavaca, which has been more times than I can count over the years. Jim (owner) is very accommodating, friendly and extremely knowledgable about Cuernavaca and its surroundings. the accommodations are great, I have stayed in both the terrace condo (gorgeous views of the valley and sunset with an outdoor patio, and the garden (my favorite) complete with a covered outdoor kitchen and dining area, one level above the pool.

I can't say enough about staying here, the location is very convenient to shopping and the zocalo. Private and safe! in a gated community complete with guard at entrace, not that you need it. Cuernavaca is very safe overall.

Staying here is a pleasure, and I will continue to do so on all my future visits. You can't go wrong staying here. In a nutshell... convenient, safe, relaxing, and simply gorgeous!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and facilities
Liked least: liked everything!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY 14094
Reviewed 29 October 2011 for a stay in July 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$50
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing