We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for creating family feasts, savoring...”
other traveller has booked this property
Dreamy view of the Bay from our lounge on the north terrace.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dreamy view of the Bay from our lounge on the north terrace.
The stunning Bay of Zihuatanejo and Playa La Ropa from our terraces. Upper entrance to Condominios Punta Marina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Dreamy view of the Bay from our lounge on the north terrace.
The stunning Bay of Zihuatanejo and Playa La Ropa from our terraces.
Upper entrance to Condominios Punta Marina
Cool off in our pool here at Condominios Punta Marina. Our 2 terraces are at the top right.
Sunbathe by the pool, if you want to stay close to home.
The pool and Bay from the stairs to our condo.
Stairway to our casa from the pool
The entrance to Casa del Arbol Cantando (Punta Marina #301).
Custom designed Z door, made of hueso, the core of the palm frond.
Entrance into the casa.
We designed the foyer floor like a carpet, made of colorful stones & cross-sections of our tree.
Looking toward the sala/living room from the foyer
Kitchen / Cocina, looking toward the living room and North Terrace
Afternoon in the living room, featuring a painting by Claire Libin.
The foyer, from the cocina, featuring a painting of Zihuatanejo Bay by local artist Grace Relf.
From the kitchen, the Brasil tree in our entrance is decorated with festive Mexican fiesta flags.
Intriguing sculpture by Zihuatanejo artist Mauricio López Moctezuma.
The Mexican Riviera and the stunning Bay of Zihuatanejo from our North Terrace.
A lovely place to read on our north terrace.
Detail on north terrace
Lunch on our terrace, overlooking the gorgeous Zihuatanejo Bay.
Our shaded pergola on the south terrace makes a delightful spot to dine.
Bougainvillea and other vines now frame the killer view.
Margaritas under the pergola
Dining under the pergola, looking into the living room
Cocina / Kitchen, looking toward the foyer.
The foothills of the Sierra Madres, just before dawn from our cocina window.
Mountain Bedroom, with view of the foothills of the Sierra Madres.
Mountain Bedroom
View of the Sierra Madres from the cocina / kitchen & the Mountain Bedroom
Mountain Bathroom
Cozy Grotto Bedroom. All beds are king size.
Grotto Bathroom. All showers have soft rain shower heads & soft stone floors.
Writing desk, Grotto Bedroom
Master Bedroom, with a spectacular view of the Bay & private entrance to the south terrace garden.
Master bedroom at night with view of the Bay
Master Bath, with a killer view of the Bay from the shower!
The magnificent mile-long beach, Playa La Ropa is embraced by Zihuatanejo Bay.
The hallway between bedrooms.
Our entry stairs, wrapped around a Brasilia tree
Less than a 10-minute walk to Playa La Ropa
Bottom of the hill, facing Playa Las Gatas
The road to the beach at the bottom of our hill.
The beautiful Playa La Ropa - Muy tranquilo!
One of the local iguanas hanging out at El Manglar Restaurant, by Playa La Ropa.
Another gorgeous sunset from Playa La Ropa.
Lower Entrance to Condominios Punta Marina
Enchanting entryway at night, centered with an exotic Brasil tree.
Pasta Madera, an organic wood sculpture by brilliant local artist Michael Hackett.
Evening under the pergola on the south terrace, looking into the living room.
Evening magic under the pergola
Nighttime view of Zihuatanejo Bay from the terrace.
Bienvenidos from your hosts Sherwin & Margarita (Peg).
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Zihuatanejo, Pacific Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
terrajazz
Springfield, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect base for creating family feasts, savoring sunsets and devouring books”
Reviewed 25 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

While we visited el centro Zihua nearly everyday to see the fishermen, consider souvenirs and buy produce at El Mercado mostly we hung out at this La Ropa hillside condo. The six adults among us read about 15 books in 10 days and most of us used the refreshing swimming pool and walked La Ropa beach on a daily basis. There is good separation of sleeping areas and living areas. The kitchen was amply, intelligently equipped if you enjoy group cooking. Tasteful eclectic regional decor.
and lush indoor/outdoor plants that underscore the tropical feel.
A perennial breeze kept things pleasant until nightfall and room air conditioners cooled the individual areas for sleeping. Great place to kick back and rejuvenate.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2017
Thank you Tim! We are delighted to know that you all enjoyed your stay, took advantage of our sanctuary and got the most out of it. Rejuvenation is what it's all about. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonniecha...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spring Break 2015 - Zihuatanejo or Bust”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This little gem was a great find! The condo is beautiful and spacious, even for the 6 adults that we had in our group. The kitchen was well equipped cooking in. The beds were all very comfortable, the view was spectacular, the terraces were both lush little tropical paradises loaded with plants and comfortable lounge furniture. The pool on the property is also a nice option for some sun if you don't feel like going all the way down to the beach. We walked down to Playa Ropa twice each day (the semi steep climb back up which included stairs was embraced as a hall pass for drinking extra margaritas!), and it takes less than 10 minutes. But the few times we decided to take a taxi and go into town, it was only about 50 pesos each way. Once we took at panga from Playa Ropa to the Zihuatanejo marina (right downtown), which was less than a 10 min boat ride, and I think it was 40 pesos per person.

We took a long walk to a grocery store the first morning, just because we felt like walking, then came back in a taxi, which was 70 pesos (right now, about $5 USD).

There were only two small hickups. One was that there was some road construction on the main road, which caused some traffic when driving, and a taxi driver told me the construction is expected to take another 3 months. The other was that for some reason (probably hair dryer combined with AC), we tripped the breaker for the hot water. We realized it and called the property manager, and it was a fast and easy fix.

The entire experience was VERY convenient, and very comfortable. I definitely recommend this beautiful place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location could not have been better.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lisakoute...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We definitely want to stay here again”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Del Arbol Cantando for two weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's as nice as is depicted in the description and photos. The owners, Sherwin and Peg, are very nice people and were a pleasure to work with in planning our stay at their place. They are both designers and completely renovated the condo when they bought it. The attention to detail and design can be found in every room and outdoor space. Great art throughout!

The three bedrooms are spacious and each has a comfortable bed, built-in desk, ensuite bathroom, A/C, and ceiling fan. There is a new washer/dryer off the half-bath in the hallway. We enjoyed the stereo system and the playlist connected to it. The living areas are comfy and large.

Cooking is something we really enjoy and the large gas range/oven was more than large enough for making dinners for six people. We were never without the proper utensil as the kitchen is fully stocked with everything needed. The refrigerator is also large and the ice maker is fed with bottled water. There is also a bottled water dispenser on the counter.

As for getting food to cook, a quick cab ride to Commercial Mexicana will get you everything needed. There are always cabs there to get home and the fare each way was 50 pesos +/- each way (just over $3 US), excluding tip.

Walk down the hill from the condo and you're at the south end of La Ropa beach. There are many restaurants all along the beach and you can easily walk to the north end of La Ropa in 15 minutes +/-. There are activity vendors on the beach for fishing, wave runners, parasailing, paddleboards, etc. The water is warm and wonderful.

The condo pool is surrounded by tropical foliage and is mostly out of the hot sun in mid-late afternoon - nice and refreshing, especially after being in the hot sun at the beach.

The housekeeper, Gloria, comes often, is very sweet, and does a great job of keeping the condo clean and tidy. Her husband is a taxi driver and she offered to arrange transportation for us. Sherwin stated that Gloria is a fabulous cook. We like to cook ourselves, but if you don't, ask him for details on how to arrange for her to cook for you.

The sum this all up, we would definitely like to come back to this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and attention to detail.
Liked least: The hill up from the beach may be too steep for some, but a quick, inexpensive cab ride will get you back up the hill.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clint5841
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“True Zihua style”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

By Zihua style, I mean beautiful view, nice indoor/outdoor access and everything that goes with it. Everything in the listing description is accurate. Place is huge and terraces are great. The service from Sherwin was impeccable, and I would has no hesitation recommending this to friends. Because it was rainy season (which we like) and so hot and humid, activities limited to walking the town, shopping and eating. Sherwin has prepared a great guide to town and we dedicated ourselves to eating thru his restaurant list [we have been to Zihua about 15 times but were many we had not tried]. Bottom line, if he likes it, you will like it. Won't tell you our two favourites because even in low season (and September is DEAD) they were full. We are going to shamelessly steal some of the décor ideas that you do not realize are simple but great until someone else has done it. We used the driver Luis recommended and service was just great. Can't wait to get back to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Quite location with great views, size of unit, lots of outdoor space
Liked least: No complaints here
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing