We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jill D
Kellogg, Idaho

Great Location, Friendly Staff, Relaxing.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 May 2024
Nice, peaceful stay at Costa Sur. We chose the location because we didn't want to be in the middle of busy Puerto Vallarta, the resort looked like a smaller place, it's right on the ocean, and we found a great deal for a renovated unit on AirBNB. Our unit was on the 4th floor in the older building. We got some fabulous sunsets while we were there.

There are 2 warm pools, one of which we were told on check-in was for adults only, but there were kids in there the first time we went to that pool and the sign says children are allowed with adult supervision. There's also the lagoon which is a nice place to hang out if you want to relax and swim around.

Juan at the bar was very attentive and friendly, as were all the staff. There's a bus stop right outside the resort and for 10 pesos, you can ride north into central PV where you'll be dropped off a few blocks south of Los Muertos Beach and Pier, or south as far as Boca de Tomatlan where you can catch a water taxi to Yelapa.

Cons: The small balconies which all the units in the older building have. Unless you're on the ground floor (which I understand aren't yet renovated), you won't have space for a table and will have minimal space for a couple of chairs.

The drinks at the bar are very weak and the food (dinner particularly) isn't anything special. Plus with it being a "resort" (which we didn't realize when we booked), you aren't allowed to bring your own drinks to the pool or lagoon area.

If you've never stayed there before, they will try to talk you into doing a presentation for a vacation-type membership immediately after check-in. It wasn't clear what we were signing up for (my husband thought it was a presentation on the activities available to us), but we found it worth it for the discounts offered for attending. If you are offered a bottle of tequila, make sure you request it at the presentation. We never got ours and after talking to another couple, they didn't either.

No laundry facilities available to guests. We hand-washed some of our clothes but as it was pretty humid during our visit, they felt damp the whole time.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Make sure to book (or request) a renovated room.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 6 399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    R 6 401
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 4 534
  • Expedia.com
    R 6 403
6.1 km from Costa Sur Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Free parking
Pool
R 2 572
  • Priceline
    R 2 554
  • Vio.com
    R 2 300
  • Algotels
    R 2 438
3.4 km from Costa Sur Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Beachfront
Pool
R 8 102
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    R 8 103
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 7 825
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 107
1.3 km from Costa Sur Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 921
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 943
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 4 717
  • Priceline
    R 5 943
9.9 km from Costa Sur Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Free parking
Beachfront
Bar, Palapa y Playa
R 1 889
  • Priceline
    R 1 889
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 865
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 1 852
3.0 km from Costa Sur Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Pool
Beachfront
R 1 071
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 365
  • Vio.com
    R 1 018
  • Priceline
    R 1 618
10.2 km from Costa Sur Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Free parking
Pool
R 9 830
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 9 831
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 7 226
  • Hotels.com
    R 9 813
0.4 km from Costa Sur Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviews (3 015)
Filter reviews
3 016 results
Traveller rating
1 593
867
339
125
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 593
867
339
125
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon barefoot bar activities director mini mart north tower ocean front minute bus ride pool area time share year after year welcome home sound of the waves the wait staff banderas bay zona romantica romantic zone juan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 3 016 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2024

Beach is awesome, love waking up to the sound of waves. Waiters and service is so friendly! Shoutout to Raul, Daniel, Rafael,Ernesto,Ramon, Alicia, Erika, Alejandro. Pool is nice. Whenever we requested towels service was so fast! Happy hour deals are super great. Live music performances were super fun! They have stuff going on 4/7 days of the week. Overall had a great time

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2024 via mobile

Erick was amazing ! Great service, happy and friendly. Great view , wonderful beach, dinner on Tuesday was great. We loved your guacamole, fresh and delicious. Enjoyed your Bloody Mary. I’d like to see more activities like swim lessons and maybe have a salon

Room tip: Guacamole is delicious yummy
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank maripposa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2024

We were placed in a room in the second building which has a distinct latrine smell throughout. We had to buy some febreze just to breathe in our room. The toilet sink didn't work. The towels are so scratchy I literally used one of them to scratch my back when I had an itch. The toilet paper is so cheap it's like wiping your butt with newsprint. The gas stove is so old you have to light it with matches. The hotel safe requires a special lock you have to get from the front desk. My wife and I have nicknamed this place the Poo Palace. This is our second night here and we're already booking an Airbnb in town. Thank you to the timeshare lottery for disappointing yet one more time. I went to the gym to work out this morning and three machines (out of the 6) were just broken and covered with a tarp. Tonight we got home at 11:00 p.m. and they had locked the main entrance to the second building, and we had to walk all the way back to get a guy to open it so that we could go down to our room. This is listed as a three-star hotel but we're downgrading our rating to a two-star at most. I'm sorry to say but it's adios to the Poo Palace. At least fix your sewage problem.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSKTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2024

Possibly the most misleading resort I have ever stayed in. Nothing about this resort is luxury. The AC would not go lower than 75f, the toilet was broken and no cold water. The breakfast is the only meal included with weak drinks available for free at the bar but drastically over charged you at the hotel restaurant. The bed its self was extremely old with a mattress cover to help with the run down firmness. The towels for the room all need replaced due to wear and tear. When you receive a towel at the pool you are required to turn it in with your room number that way if it gets lost or stolen they will charge you 25usd. I did attempt multiple times to advise the front but when you call nobody answers. When you go downstairs there is a wait if 30 mins minimum before you can get help.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2024

Everything was amazing. Bed was super comfortable and room was clean.

But I would like to give a special mention to Erik. What an amazing guy, genuine and friendly and professional and always willing to help. He is a credit to the hotel.

Everyone at the restaurant was great.

Thank you for an amazing experience.
We will be back!!!

Guy and Nikki

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews