We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$209
US$133
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Tropicana Hotel(Puerto Vallarta)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$104
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Mercurio(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Grand Miramar All Luxury Suites & Residences(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$143
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$177
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Flamingo Vallarta Hotel & Marina(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Posada de Roger(Puerto Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$82
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$322
US$269
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Velas(Puerto Vallarta)
US$571
US$480
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2 830)
Filter reviews
2 830 results
Traveller rating
1 022
1 099
435
170
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 022
1 099
435
170
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf and turfsnack bartennis courtsguest servicesa la carte restaurantstime sharethomson repspanish coffeebuffet restaurantshrimp tacosactivities staffpool viewtowel cardsmain buffetevening entertainmentnightly showssmaller resort
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 2 830 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our 3rd trip to CDS and 1st without the kids.

We have previously stayed in the suite and for this trip we were in a king sized room, looking at the pool area. As always, the rooms are very clean and the ladies who take care of this do a great job with lots of nice little touches (fresh fruit basket, extra large towels for my giant body, lol). The only negative was for 2 of the 7 nights, we had a bad neighbour (kids crying, drinking and fighting).

We tried the Italian and Mexican dinners and cancelled the Turf and Surf. Have mixed reviews on these. The Italian was great and we enjoyed the change in menu from the buffet. Service was excellent and wine great. For the Mexican, I was expecting a more authentic experience with local cuisine and found this to be a average experience. Service was still excellent and wine also well chosen. Because of this we opted to try some of the many excellent local restaurants in PV.

The pluses of CDS are you are close to everything. Short trips to PV, marina, golfing, excursions and adventures. The beach had changed a lot from our last trip and we did not enjoy it as much (was poor conditions for swimming, no longer had beach volleyball, paddle boards, wind surfing). We did take walks along the beach most days and is a beautiful view of the ocean and city.

The pool area is friendly, clean and service is excellent.

The strongest point to CDS is that you always feel safe. You don't have to worry about anything and can really relax if that is what you are looking for.

Is an excellent get-away for a couple or a family and met a lot of both.

Room Tip: If you want quiet get a room not facing pool. We don't mind the noise and prefer the pool view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsaird65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Service Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Tsaird65

Thank you for the amazing review!

Glad to know that you are a repetitive guest. Your feedback is really important for us because is the only way to improve constantly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Wonderful weather, not a cloud in the sky for two weeks.

Great food, great service, loads of sunbeds and plenty of things to do on the beach.

The entertainment team were fantastic, great personality and humour and kept us entertained all holiday. In particular Kevin and Ivan who are always happy, and friendly and did a fantastic aqua aerobics session everyday.

Samari and Rebeca were wonderful with the children and always had plenty of activities to do with them.

Sergio on the beach was always happy to help us with Kyaks.

We were so impressed with the service especially around the pool during the day. Jorge our pool waiter ensured we didn't have to move from our sun beds all day, constantly delivering drinks to us and always with a smile.

They all work so hard to keep the guests happy. We would certainly recommend Canto Del Sol as a great all inclusive resort and would return in a heart beat.

Thank you to all of the staff who made our holiday so wonderful.

Gem, Gary, Summer & Poppy x

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank gjstevenson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Service Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for the review! Im glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. As a familiar hotel, for us it is really important to offer you the safest and an adequate environment. And of course the best service and drinks for the adults :).

Looking forward to serve you again.


Sincelerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We have just returned from Canto Del Sol We have a great time The staff are great here, always helpful & friendly Jorge who works at the pool bar was so hard working & cheerful but I have to say they were all great so hard to pick stars
The food was pretty good as well & we got 7 vouchers for the al a cartes so we did not always have to eat at the buffet Breakfasts were really good & you have the choice of Buffet or al a carte by the sea which was lovely the eggs Benedict were really good & the French toast
The place is older that some & not as plush but its very clean & well run & it was fantastic value Rooms are spacious & clean
We had premium brand drinks & a good choice as well, much better than some all inclusives The location is also good as you can get a taxi (85 pesos) to the Malecon which is a lovely promenade with bars shops etc & the local buses are really cheap & there are loads of them The transfer from the airport is also very short which was good The town also feels very safe to walk around
The hotel is on the beach & we saw dolphins in the bay & also Manta rays & Hump back whales on a trip
We went on a few trips with the Vallarta adventures company, they are not cheap but were all very good but you can get about quite a bit on your own which is cheaper If you like art there are good galleries down in the old town along with some nice places to eat & drink so its worth going down there & trying some local food, as the cost at the Canto is so reasonable we felt it was still good value even if we ate out a couple of times
I would say this place is well worth trying & we may well return in the future

Room Tip: I would choose a pool view as you can also see the sea from most of these
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sonia2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Service Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Sonia

Thank you for your fantastic review!

Come for more!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Canto del Sol. I cannot say enough about the excellent staff and amazing cleanliness at the property. The resort size, location, casual vibe and amenities worked great for us. This is my 12th holiday to PV, first stay at Canto del Sol and I hope to return with my entire family as this was a mom/daughter trip. Felt very safe. Although I’d like to name all the staff, a few honorable mentions are Eliazar from the Mexican restaurant, Isabel from the snack bar (our daily lunch stop for drinks, shrimp tacos, chicken chimichangas, & guacamole), pool servers Jorge and Juan, bartenders Javier and Leo, guest services Antonio and the absolute gem who brought smiles and laughs daily, Kevin from activities. The luxury pool is a great hideaway for a change from the main pool. Top notch drinks and food. A great mix of guests and thankfully not the hard core party types. Check in procedure needs a review with the main checkin desk then to the secondary desk for room cards, towel cards, resort overview and the “membership presentation offer”.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Service Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you very much for your nice review! Its really good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Amazing resort, amazing buffet, and the friendliest staff I've ever experienced. What an amazing trip this was. Will be coming back and staying here again! Great location and amazing choice resteraunts, had some of the best meals at the resort and enjoyed every bit of the experience.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Kelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canto_Del_Sol-Team, Guest Service Manager at Canto Del Sol Plaza Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Kelsey

Thank you very much for your nice review. Hoping to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews