We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Carli M
Canada

I'd go back!

Review of Hotel Eloísa
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Apr 2023
Pros
Location location location - excellent
Pool - also excellent
Has an elevator
price - very affordable for the location

Cons
Neighborhood construction while at the pool
Crappy wifi, supposedly only in the lobby or pool, and occasionally in the room. Appears sporadic. Pool wifi worked only about 2 of the 8 days.
Had to request do not disturb signs and blankets
TV remotes don't work
Forgot to check prior to booking and the is no fridge or safe included in the room, so if you need one... check. Fridges are available to rent if they have enough. I know, this one is totally on us, they never said they had it. And they did have one available so maybe this should be a pro?
Few electrical outlets to charge your electronics
Soundproofing between rooms - minimal
Very occasionally the bathroom smells faintly like sewage and it's not us and beans if you know what I mean

Would I go back? A solid yes, actually. None of the above is deal breakers for me, most of those cons (while accurate) were my travel buddy who has much higher standards than I. I wouldn't have even noticed the TV, wifi or sound proofing issues. The location and pool and price are my selling points and they were awesome.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 464
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Hotel Eloísa
Beachfront
Pool
R 5 345
R 5 258
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.7 km from Hotel Eloísa
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 230
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Hotel Eloísa
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hyatt.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 154
  • Algotels
5.4 km from Hotel Eloísa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 385
  • Algotels
4.4 km from Hotel Eloísa
Free parking
Pool
Bar, Palapa y Playa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 682
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Hotel Eloísa
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
44
95
68
27
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
44
95
68
27
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small pool lazaro cardenas romantic zone private balcony bring earplugs cleaning staff top floor coffee maker every morning suite tv wifi malecon pv kitchenette toiletries olas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2023

My husband and I stayed in a suite from Feb. 25 to March 27.We have visited Puerto Vallarta for decades. The suite was spacious, bright, and there was a private balcony.Cleaning staff were good.
The bathroom was tiny, no storage for toiletries, one hook. The bedroom had one night stand and hardly room between bed and closet.Kitchen had 2 burners, one pot without a lid, two pans. We moved kitchen table to balcony because balcony table was inadequate.
Roof pool was nice, but stairs difficult. Courtyard pool had better stairs but not maintained and then closed for renovations on roof.
For the price we paid, we expected better!

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hneustaedter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2023 via mobile

Clean and great location. We stayed here for 11 days with 2 other couples. Excellent location to walk to many restaurants and to the beach. Little stores nearby and a larger grocery store 2 blocks away.
Laundry (paid for by the pound) is around the corner. Property is very clean. Maids are always mopping the floors or cleaning the rooms. Everyone in the hotel is very friendly. A bonus is there is a Saturday market across the street from 9 am until 2pm. You can buy breads, fruits and vegetables, hot foods, souvenirs and sweets! On the top floor there is a small dipping pool, lounge chairs and tables, chairs and umbrellas. Our friends had a suite and we would go to theIr room to play dominoes or cards after dinner. Wifi available in the lobby and on the top floor. We stayed in a junior suite that had 2 double beds, a tiny kitchenette, 2 high chairs and a bar to eat at, if you choose. There were also pots, pans, dishes, silverware, a toster and a coffee maker. Bring your own dish soap, coffee and coffee filters. There is A Page in the Sun coffeehouse, restaurant and library about 4 doors down the street where you can get coffee and a bite to eat and better WIFI. There is great security, with a guard at the entrance after dinner and through the night. Guests also wear a green band while they are staying at the hotel. There are safes that you can rent at the front desk. We have been staying here for a week or 2 for several years!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosemary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2022

Staff members very good and relax very spacious and comfortable kept rooms neatly and securely on site 24 hrs love it there location is right by beach very nice to Canadian people and helpful to everyone

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2022

The Hotel Eloisa is a nice budget hotel, and you may be happy with your choice BUT only if you choose correctly AND are aware of the issues today! Skim this review if you wish, but remember if you don’t do your homework now, it’s Buyer Beware!

It’s difficult for me to write this not-good review, but in full disclosure I have to pass true details as I always strive to do here on TA.

First off, we previously stayed here about 5-years ago in a Full-Suite; a lovely Mexican Style 1-Bedroom with separate Living room and kitchen. We loved it! And even though the Eloisa has been undergoing renovations for several years now, problems seem to be compounding.

This time around we booked an upgraded King Studio with Kitchenette and upon arrival we were sent to #510…and it was a DUMP! Not fit for human occupancy. We said no and were sent to #503, which was a Double-Bed Studio with Kitchenette Renovated Room. We said yes and spent the night.

Next morning, we realized even though it was renovated, it was not an enjoyable experience. With two beds the room was small, the bathroom had no shower door, no hooks, no towel bars, no blackout curtains, no locking window, and the one window looked out onto a long, wide, inner walkway which was dark and noisy. So we upgraded yet again to a Junior Suite, #101, which was also renovated and overlooked the main floor pool and Front Desk. Believe me when I say we thought we hit the jackpot! The room was large, the bed was King, and the bathroom had a shower stall with door and towel hook!

Good so far? Okay, MY RECOMMENDATION is to book an upgraded JUNIOR SUITE RENOVATED ROOM, and if the room # ends in 01, you’ll overlook the pool and Front Desk, BUT…you still need to know:

1. This place is really loud and noisy anywhere in the hotel because of the open court design, and because it’s downtown. It overlooks the popular PV Romantica Zone Lazaro Cardenas Square which puts you into a prime location beside the Malecon, with plenty of festivals, parties, markets and more, so tons of noise all night long.
2. Building structural repairs are happening daily so bang, bang, noise all day long, and this will last for many months into the future.
3. Room renovations continue, and will be so for many months into the future. Of special note on renovations…the work is sub-par as finishing details are non-existent, so don’t look at the details. Example? Room #503 is only plumbed for cold water in the kitchen, but you must clean your dishes or pay a fine.
4. No dish soap or cloths are provided to clean dishes. This is a good time to remind all TA Readers that it’s a MUST to wash ALL the dishes when you move into a kitchen suite because you have no idea how they were washed before!
5. There was zero hot water during our stay, so I hope you enjoy a cool shower anytime of the day!
6. The Wi-Fi ONLY works in the lobby, there is no service in the rooms, although when we were on our #101 balcony, we did get good reception.
7. The Pool on the rooftop is closed for repairs, and will not be open for many months, so you have to use the main floor pool beside the front reception desk, which is actually okay, it’s cleaned daily.
8. There are NO room safes, but you can access the main safe at Reception desk for free, but don’t loose the key or you’ll pay $100US dollars.
9. Toiletries consist of a small sliver soap and a one small bottle of shampoo, so bring your own supplies.
That’s it, sorry it’s so long, but you need to know.
Travel safe.
Be Happy!
Paul

Room tip: Upgrade to Junior Suite RENOVATED rooms, at a minimum!
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paulshappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2022

We had a wonderful time for two weeks at this Hotel. Stayed in Suite 31 which we were very happy with. The bedroom door when closed blocked out the noise of the street.

Sitting on our balcony we watched the Olas Altas Farmer Market set up at 8:00 am. Lots of good food and baking goodies to buy. Every morning we watched an exercise group in the Parque Lazaro Cardenas while drinking our coffee. WiFi only works in the Lobby which can be a bit noisy at certain times with people coming and going.

When we arrived we were given suite 22 which faced the back of the hotel with no view and not worth sitting on balcony unless you like quiet. We quickly changed to 31.

Proximity to numerous restaurants, malecon, beach access and grocery stores.

The Staff was very friendly, the suite was cleaned daily, linen and towels changed regularly. Housekeeping were constantly washing the floors as well as the pool area was kept very clean.

We would certainly stay here again when visiting Puerto Vallarta.

Room tip: The Suites are on the corner of Hotel. Odd No. view Park, even No. the back of Hotel.
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews