We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitch perfect meal”
Review of Casa Naranjo

Casa Naranjo
Ranked #24 of 1 212 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The hidden secret of Vallarta´s residents...
Reviewed 11 February 2018

How often can you say a meal is perfect in all respects? We have been going to Casa Naranjo for years and have always enjoyed it. This year the restaurant outdid itself. The food and service were outstanding and the price quite moderate.

We had two salads (caprese and house) and both were a step above the usual, employing basel as an element rather than just a garnish. The cold cream of orange soup, with coriander is a must order. The orange offsets the cream. and the spicing is perfect.

We ordered a shrimp dish and the red snapper. The red snapper was delicate and very fresh tasting. Hot rolls introduced the meal.

For dessert we had one of the best flans any of us recall tasting as well as a delicious red pear and vanilla ice cream. Excellent coffee topped off the meal.

Service was attentive and wine list well selected with a range of price points.

Part of the success is a limited and focussed menu, but it does not have vegetarian or vegan options.

This restaurant is a little out of the way, but very worth the effort in getting there. Also, as with an increasing number of restaurants in PV, cash only.

Do yourself a favour and go there... soon.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Group of nine went a week ago to celebrate a friends birthday. We had a reservation so they knew to expect a group that size. Staff went way out of their way to make sure everyone had a great time. Food is consistently good and it was this evening too. The restaurant is in old town but a couple blocks off one of the main streets. You shouldn’t let that stop you as you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank jimbU5387WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Amazing gourmet food in a charming family-operated restaurant. Food is excellent, service is excellent, location is off the beaten track - but so worth the extra walk.

Each time we've been here, I've enjoyed the fresh taste, high quality, and interesting flavour combinations. Nothing is too much nor too little. Each note is hit perfectly, whether it is soup, salad, main, side, or dessert.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RossSlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

We are not sure why this place is not busier, the food is delicious and the service was wonderful. Yes, you have to walk a bit from the beach area but it is perfectly safe. We were a group of four and we all enjoyed our selections. The pork chop was huge and cooked to specification, my sea bass in cilantro sauce was fabulous. We also had a pasta dish, salmon carpaccio appetizer and salad. definitely worth the walk away from the hustle of the malecon

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank PBandJSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

At the other end of Colonia Emiliano Zapata from the hurly-burly of Olas Altas and Basidillio Badillo, there is an oasis of calm (and air conditioned cool) called Casa Naranjo. It is family-run, and all of the family are professionally trained chefs who produce fresh, gourmet plates impeccably served. It is enough off of the beaten path that you will even find parking! One of our favorite PV restaurants. No credit cards.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swans007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Naranjo also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Casa Naranjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing