We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Frau Frula
Vancouver, Canada

Economically Friendly Hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Dec 2022
This is a pretty decent hotel if you book ahead and get a good deal (I found CAD $80 +tax). I was visiting family who were staying in a condo 3 blocks away so this was absolutely perfect.
Pros: - Airconditioning units in each room - Rooms are very small and basic, but clean and modern - There is a small pool and a sunbathing area - It caters to more local travellers instead of UK, CA, and US tourists (like myself) - It's very safe and includes a safe in each room - There is a 25 peso bar and taco fare situated out front which stays open late - It's 2 blocks from a convenient store and about 1km to the beach - Ocean view windows look out onto the Marina where cruise ships frequently dock - Although minimal in variety, there is a continental breakfast and it serves decent coffee - Staff are very helpful.
Cons: - It can be fairly loud at times, hallways echo and the bar outfront play music loud and late into the night - There are no accessible stairwells (emergency only) and only 2 elevators that can hold about 4 people max. This often creates line ups in the evening. - Towels could use upgrading as they are pretty tattered.
On the whole, this was a good stay. If you don't plan to be at your hotel for your entire trip this place is great. It was also quick getting to and from the airport. There are buses that can take you anywhere, but Uber also operate in PV and typically costs 90-150 pesos per ride.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CE Plus Puerto Vallarta Gerencia, Director General at City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review
Responded 08 Jan 2024
In this 2024 we will have a new restaurante in the property
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 8 117
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 7 238
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 5 991
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 077
1.5 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 484
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 5 457
  • StayForLong
    R 4 520
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 457
2.0 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Free parking
Beachfront
R 5 521
No prepayment needed
  • Trip.com
  • Official Hotel
    R 4 609
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 5 001
0.4 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Free parking
Pool
R 2 645
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
    R 2 405
  • Trip.com
5.8 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Beachfront
Pool
R 7 370
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 7 315
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 6 329
  • Hotels.com
    R 7 334
9.4 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 7 533
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    R 7 512
  • Expedia.com
    R 7 569
  • Tripadvisor
    R 7 569
7.7 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 119
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 212
  • Vio.com
    R 1 047
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 206
4.1 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 078
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 878
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 024
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 1 059
1.5 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Free parking
Pool
Bar, Palapa y Playa
R 1 848
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 658
  • Skyscanner.com
    R 1 352
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 660
6.1 km from City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
151
59
25
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
151
59
25
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews needed a place to stay friendly hotel within walking distance one night joya walmart elevator wifi marina lobby pv vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2022

We needed a place to stay for one night while we had a family member in the nearby Joya Hospital. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool is small and shaded later in the day - but you have to check out the hanging lounge chairs. Close to everything, easy to access.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CE Plus Puerto Vallarta Gerencia, Director General at City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2022

Dear Lee,


Thank you for taking the valuable time to write your review. Feedback is important to us. We appreciate your opinion, as it provides necessary comments to reevaluate the needs of our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a different experience.

Sincerely

Alicia Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2022

Pros- 8th floor views are good, and we appreciated the included cont breakfast. Coffee was not as bad as others have said. Wifi good in main lobby.

Cons - the breakfast was extremely limited with sugary options (more fruit please!), lots of single used plastics here, use silverware, there seems to be lots of staff standing around. Thin walls, we heard all our neighbours, plus the hotel has a dorm feel to it. We also had a dirty towel on check in. Wifi kept dropping out in room.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CE Plus Puerto Vallarta Gerencia, Director General at City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2022

Dear Ben,thank you for your comment, your feedback is very valuable for us, and we will take a closer look at it. Best Regards,
Alicia Silva
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021 via mobile

Great location. Close to airport and Marina. Clean and comfortable room. Excellent staff. Javier at the front desk was very professional and helpful. He made several suggestions on places to eat and set up the shuttle for us to several different places. Im sorry I'm not good with names but they are a great staff. Very friendly and helpful. I look forward to returning to PV and will definitely stay at City Express Plus in the future.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CE Plus Puerto Vallarta Gerencia, Director General at City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Than you for your comments. We hope see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

I loved my room and the view! I loved the furniture as well, gave me some ideas for my small apartment. The location is good, you are near big supermarkets, malls, restaurants, public transportation, beach. Very good price for all the package together!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank isaabelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CE Plus Puerto Vallarta Gerencia, Director General at City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2021

Thank you for your evaluation a comments, we hope see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

Awful customer service after staying at Vidanta resorts 4 nights(excellent service). We booked this hotel because it was closer to the airport and will be leaving early the next day. Also it was in the center of the city. Initial check in was at 3 o’clock but we were not allowed in our room until four because they had not finished cleaning the rooms. The guy behind the counter was so rude and offered no assistance he said we just had to wait until they were finished. After he raised his voice to us and said we could now go into our room at 4:15 he ran my card and it was not recognized through their bank instead of stating that he got really rude and saying he could not take my payment and this was Mexico and we had to go by the rules. I then put the room on my American Express, and told him I would be speaking with his manager and he said go ahead this is Mexico customers do not come first here we do. We then proceed to our room because again we had to stay here it was our last night before our flight left no remote control had to call downstairs they can come and install a box of the remote control would work. Their ad offered free shuttle to the airport which also did not turn out to be true our flight left at 6:50 and we wanted to leave at four which is the same guy informed me there shuttles did not start running until five. If you were in Puerto Vallarta never stay at this hotel they do not believe in customer service or the customers rights. Save yourself the hassle and go with a hotel chain you recognize next time it’s Marriott or Sheraton or somewhere that we always do our business with.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Trek540609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GERENTEG9, Manager at City Express Plus Puerto Vallarta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

I am very sorry for what happened and I apologize for the situations that occurred, I hope you will once again give us the opportunity to serve you, as it is not a service that we are used to offering. We immediately take action on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews