We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 233)
Filter reviews
2 233 results
Traveller rating
1 082
686
292
105
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 082
686
292
105
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel morotime shareactivities stafffrancisco renteriabedroom suiteall inclusive packagethe penthousela pergolathe wait staffdeer islandtimeshare presentationfull kitchencity tourpool sideitalian restaurantour waiterall inclusive plan
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 2 233 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The facility is beautiful. However, we went to at least 5 different restaurants on site and got horrible service at every one of them. There were two servers our whole trip that were fantastic, and that was Martin at La Concha and Francisco at La Gruta. The food was ok, but we had to try at least 3 restaurants before we found one we like, which was La Gruta by the pool. Another thing that happened that was very disappointing was that being time share owners, we were invited to sit through a presentation and after that we would get discounted excursions. We had an appointment Tuesday at 8:30am with Gloria. After sitting in the lobby for 30 minutes she told us they were overbooked and we would have to come back tomorrow. Which wasted a whole 2 days of my vacation, because we couldn’t do excursions on Tuesday or Wednesday now because our presentation got rescheduled. Then after scheduling our excursions, we were told one of them we couldn’t go on because it was overbooked. My husband talks to the supervisor and got us on our previously scheduled excursion and they were not over booked at all. There were at least 6 more spots after we got there. Like I said, the rooms and pools are beautiful but the service was exceptionally bad. Those two servers are the only reason this is a 3 Star review instead of a 1 Star. If you’re going, save yourself a headache and plan all excursions through Pronatours and not through the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SamanthaSalyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I titled this review as I did because when we (our family of 5, plus we had extended family of 4 with us) are down in Mazatlan, Mexico we always feel like we are amongst family and friends when staying at the El Moro on the El Cid properties. We were welcomed at check in time by Ivan and he took very good care of us throughout the duration of our stay helping us with any questions or needs we had. Lupita welcomed us on our trip from the airport to the El Moro and when I let her know it was our 34th anniversary, she made sure we had a little extra delivered to our room on the special day. Rui Veloso, who works in the business department is always there for any needs we have as

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view and you will not be disappointed! The higher up, the better.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank krlindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Cid Resorts.

On the other hand, we assure you that all the staff you mentioned will receive recognition for their great performance and for making your stay something more special.

We will be happy to have the pleasure of attending you soon.

Best regards,
Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Pros: Great hotels, great pools, great people, great amenities, great food, great location. We love this place. We've been going for about 15 years and this is by far one of the best places to stay in Mazatlan. They have multiple properties and staying at one gives you access to all. They also have a free shuttle to transport you to the other properties (though all of them but La Marina are within walking distance of each other).

Cons:
- El Cid Vacations Club (aka Timeshare presentation). If you want to save some money, go to the "members breakfast" for the "gifts" and the free breakfast. Gifts can include a free taxi voucher to the airport (which would otherwise cost about $35) or discounts for tours/activities. Don't buy a membership. It's a typical timeshare type of scenario (though they'll call it a vacations club). The sales pitch can be high pressure and the salesperson can get rude if you challenge them. The yearly "maintenance fees" for membership end up costing the same as the value of your points. This is on top of what you'd pay for membership. Expect the salesperson to "give you time to think about it" but only for a few minutes. Then they'll return with great news about a foreclosure that just happened and they'll take a few thousand dollars off the price. Just say no.
- "Hotel Tax": They tried to charge us twice for this (once when we booked and again when we arrived at the hotel six months later). If you pay the hotel tax at the time you make your reservation, get a receipt or print off a copy of your credit card statement and remember to take those with you when you're checking in at the hotel to prove you already paid it. It's supposed to be a "state tax", so I'm not sure if they were trying to collect it once for the state and once for themselves.
- All Inclusive: If you like to drink, this could be a "pro". Otherwise, it's not really worth it (especially at the published rate; if you're interested try to get a discounted rate as a "gift" at the members breakfast). We purchased all inclusive for one day. The good news is "one day" is 24 hours. For example, this means you can buy it at 10am and use it for breakfast, lunch, dinner and breakfast the next day if you get up early enough. It also includes drinks and snacks by the pool. However, it's not really ALL inclusive. Some pricier menu items are not included. Some restaurants like Prime Grill (steakhouse) charge a surcharge.
- Checking Out: Be sure to scrutinize your bill meticulously when checking out. Keep track of all your resort expenses and go through your bill to make sure they match. They will automatically add a "charitable gift" to the "El Cid Foundation". You can ask them to remove it. The "gift" is only a couple of dollars, but it seems like a sketchy way for them to increase their revenue.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Whirledbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for have taken the time to share your feedback regarding your last stay with us at el Cid Resorts. We would like to offer a sincere token of gratitude and appreciation for your kind remarks in regards to the resort and more importantly its staff. We are glad you truly enjoyed the property and have been a faithful guest for the past 15 years.

We would like to extend our most sincere apology if any of our sales staff made you feel unwelcome and/or insulted. Rest assured we are looking into this instance and that proper corrective action will be taken. We adhere to the highest customer service etiquette and train all our sales staff on when to take no for an answer. It is clear that this was not that case here. Our aim is to make people happy, delighted and optimistic, never has it been our intention to anger or frustrate our guests.

On the other hand, it is worth mentioning that we have two types of all-inclusive packages, the regular and the ELITE. This to ensure we meet the different needs of each and every one of our guests in terms of cost and variety.

Once again our most sincere apologies. We want all our guests to feel welcome, like their at home, when they visit any of our El Cid resorts. We sincerely hope to see you at any of our El Cid resorts where we will gladly welcome you with open arms.

Sincerely,
Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

The adult only pool is perfect for couples or a group of adults looking for quiet relaxation. The shrimp burgers at the pool are fabulous. The Deer Island Tour is a blast. The daily shows are entertaining!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rashanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCIDRESORTS, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful that you have taken the time to share your brief review with us.

We are very proud to hear that you enjoyed our services during your recent visit.

We hope to continue being your choice in Mazatlan.

Best regards,
Mark Covarrubias Mckay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

It was one problem after another and another!! Have stayed here for the last 6 years, but they have new administration that has changed pretty much everything for the worst. If it wasn't for a handful of staff members, not sure if I would ever consider going back.

Room Tip: Save yourself a headache and stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucygalvez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMELCID, Director General at El Cid El Moro Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Mrs. Galvez,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am concerned to read through your review and I am saddened to see that we did not manage to meet your expectations on this occasion. It seems you may not have been properly informed about the various renovations and change that we have made and for this, I apologise. I have taken your feedback seriously and further corrective measures have been put in place with the aim of enhancing our guest experience.

We are interested to talk to you since we do not want to miss you as a frequent guest, please contact us at onlinereviewquestions@elcid.com.mx, I am sure we can apologize and fix these misunderstandings.
We hope to hear from you soon in the near future.

Respectfully,

Mark Covarrubias McKay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews