We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$152
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azteca Inn(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Posada Freeman(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bungalows Mar-Sol(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Blue Pacific Suites(Mazatlan)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Acqua Grand(Mazatlan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3 532)
Filter reviews
3 532 results
Traveller rating
1 228
1 243
595
249
217
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 228
1 243
595
249
217
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssports barasian restaurantjacuzzi suiteliquor dispenserocean viewbuffet styleevery other daygolden zonestrip mallmain buffeta la cartestowel cardsdouble sinksspecialty restaurantssunwing replower floorlunch buffet
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 3 532 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Riu Hotels are top notch in All Inclusive Hotels all around Mexican beaches.
You are received with a cocktail as soon as you cross the lobby entrance. The check in was quick but the room was unavailable at 3pm, so they just asked for an email and contact you as soon as your room is ready and they Jeep your luggage in a safe room. You can enjoy the resort menawhile, but it's rather unconfortable not being able to unpack and getting into the pool ir the sea, and still not having a room. In my case I didn't receive the email, but went to check with the front desk and the room was ready. Good thing about the hotel is that every room has ocean view, they all have alcohol dispensers (tequila, vodka, gin, rum, all own brand), a mini bar with beer, soda and water) with no extra cost which gets refilled every day.
Food is good, all restaurants are buffet. The japanese and mexican specialty restaurants need reservation, so O recommend getting up early (around 7 am) and book your table.
You have a copule of bars, a pool bar and a sports bar. Bars in pool areas end their service around 7pm. After that, you continue in a restaurant or the sports bar.
The beach Is beautiful and clean. The sea is rather agressive, if you dare to go deep, but there are lifeguards ir needed. But please, be careful and follow the beach rules. Also be careful with your towel, I had a bad experience with tourists who lost their own and took other people's towels instead. If you lose a towel, they will charge you for it.
Like every other Riu, they have pretty cool night shows and a private small nightclub if you want to continue having fun.
If you don't like huge amount of people, then try other hotel or try low tourist season.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Cristopherusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I picked Riu Emerald Bay, Mazatlan for a long weekend get-a-way in June. This was our first experience with the Riu chain. Nothing fancy, but good value for the money. The property is well maintained and clean, considering the hotel has over 700 rooms. Staff is very friendly and offer great service. The restaurants are buffet style with pretty good selection of food, the dress code is quite relaxed. Try to avoid the lobby and the elevators between 10 and 11am, it gets very hectic around the check-out time. The pools get crowded early and stay busy all day, with about 1:1 kid to adult ratio. Great for families, not so good for couples. The beach is nice, we did not have a problem finding lounge chairs. The biggest complaint is the Sports Bar, which is also featured as a 24Hour food/beverage go to spot. The atmosphere is the most unwelcoming, including the staff. The selection of food is what you would find at the gas station. The TVs are smaller than computer monitors with poor selection of sport channels/events. The same goes for the selection of TV channels in the rooms. The only English speaking channels were CNN and Fox. It was an enjoyable stay, just not what you would get at Secrets or Hyatt.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vacationvika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels & Resorts for your holiday and for sharing your experience with us.

As a service-oriented company, we are proud that you have rated our staff very well and since for RIU gastronomy is a very important part of the guest experience, we were pleased to read that you were satisfied with the food served in our restaurants.

On the other hand, we were surprised to read your comments about the Sports Bar and its staff. At RIU we take pride in our customer service as this is one of the key values of our company and staff is constantly trained to maintain optimal standards. For this reason, we will send your feedback to our management team in case these guidelines have not been adequately fulfilled at some point since for us every remark is helpful for ongoing and future staff training.

As our guests' well-being is for us the most important, we are sorry that you were not able to enjoy your holiday according to your expectations and felt disturbed by the many kids. Even though all guests are welcome at this hotel, please allow us recommend you for your next holiday one of our “Adults Only” properties that have been specially designed for those of our guests (+18) who want to relax and enjoy their holiday as a couple or with friends.

We sincerely hope that you would still consider staying with us in the future and give us a chance to demonstrate the high standards of guest service that are typical at our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

This is a very nice hotel. We were greeted with fruit drinks. :) We stayed 5 nights. We got a room with the loft (master suite upstairs). The room was a little dirty like it hadn't been dusted recently when we arrived, but was dusted during room service the following day. We were supposed to have a view of the ocean, but we had a view of a roof!; however, if you went up to the loft and looked out the upper window, you could see the ocean in the distance. Disappointed and felt cheated by that. Our room was located across from the double service elevators on the main floor, and the elevators must be auto-called to that floor, since they were going constantly and even throughout the night. Not easy to sleep. There were many questions we had, but there was never anyone at the information desk! - we always had to stand in line for the front desk to ask the simplest questions. There is free wifi in the lobby area but not the rooms, although we got it at times in our room, probably because we were close enough. We were able to get it outside by the pools too. You can pay for additional wifi, but you're on vacation, so why? The resort is quite far from the city, and a taxi is about $20 RT (including the tip we gave). There are other ways to get around, but taxi was our choice. The lobby area was always kept in pristine condition. A maid was always dust mopping or wet mopping the area. The staff were wonderful, from the front desk, to the bars, to the restaurants. The food was good, but I got tired of buffet. The last night we remembered to get reservations in time for the Tabasco(?), Mexican cuisine, and that was a nice change - not as much buffet, and a step more classy. Loved that this hotel is all-inclusive. In spite of some of the disappointments, I would still recommend it. One of our taxi drivers said it is the best hotel in Mazatlan, and that all the rich and famous people stay there. He did not work for the hotel. :) This is a very family-friendly hotel - only one adult pool. Many, many families were there, so lots of kids - beware if you're thinking you're getting away from the kids! lol!

Room Tip: For a small family with children, room with loft has queen bed upstairs, with two sofas that fold open.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Since our main priority is to make our customers feel comfortable, we are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the room you were allocated. It is important to note that room requests are always subject to availability and we cannot guarantee a specific kind of bed or view, however, you can ask for it when doing your reservation and if it is available our staff would be glad to grant your request. Therefore, we are surprised that the dissatisfaction you are describing did not come to our attention, hence we would have been glad to have been informed about all your inconveniences in order to make it right for you during your stay with us.

To end on a positive note, as a service-oriented hotel chain, we deeply appreciate your kind words about our staff.

Meanwhile, we hope you will consider staying with us as we wish to have another opportunity to welcome you back again.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel is old and has many details on its construction that has not been taken care of.
The pool and beach area are not bad.
But the kind of people that do tourism at this facility is really awful. Not nice and well educated. So there is much disorder and noice.
I guess it is a very cheap hotel not classy at all.
The food was not not not good at lunch and dinner.
Only breakfast seemed below average, with not good ingredients.
Will definitely not go back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
4  Thank jegutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Emerald Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns.

We are committed to providing excellent quality of products and services to our guests. It is disappointing to learn that you left our hotel thinking otherwise. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve our services, and for this reason, we will share your impressions with the relevant department in line with the main goal to achieve the highest levels of customer satisfaction.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to redeem ourselves and to demonstrate the high standards of guest service and quality that are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

Hotel Riu Emerald Bay
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

RIU Emerald Bay is a great hotel. AI pricing, visiting from Canada for a week, was very good value.
Had a room on the 10th. floor, with a beautiful ocean view. West coast beautiful sunsets.

The hotel was great. People cleaning everywhere, all the time. Nice room, with bar setup, and stocked fridge (replenished). Internet was available free in public areas. In the room it was spotty, but did work when I went onto the balcony. So, I would imagine the lower you were the better the reception. If you did want it in your room, they had a pay option.

There were a number of bars (I think 5) great service. If you want something special just ask. Servers were all friendly.

Same in the dining areas. I didn't dine in any of the specialty dining venues, more because of timing than anything else. The buffets were fine. There were always many choices. Obviously certain dishes were available every day, but there were always new dishes to maintain a variety. Quality was good. The wait staff was there waiting to help with anything you needed. They had a beach party/dinner one day. It looked like a nice setup but I ate in the dining room that day as well.

There was entertainment every day. I can't comment too much, because I'm not looking for parties. It looked fine. Some of the entertainment was loud enough to be heard in the rooms, but nothing unreasonable and it seemed to end by 9-9:30 or so.

There was poolside games everyday for everyone. The pools themselves were great, large. Most people were just lounging, so you could swim in them without a crowd. There was a very nice beach area in front of the hotel. You do have to be careful of current and the waves but if you are comfortable it was nice to swim in the ocean.

This hotel is north of the city central. Mazatlán has many sites to see. You can read up on this site about points of interest. There are public buses that stop in front of the resort that will bring you to town for 11 pesos each way. Walk up to the lighthouse if you want a workout. To get there take the green bus to the end of the line. It's about a 25 min. ride. If you are in more of a rush, there are taxis and pulomonias available everywhere. Just settle on the price before you get in.

I think I touched on everything generally. Overall I was very happy and would recommend this resort to anyone considering visiting.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are ocean view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank nic6318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews