We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$299
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/04/29
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$265
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/02
FindHotel
US$309
US$214
View deal
SAVE US$95
PricelineUS$299
eDreamsUS$299
Lol.travelUS$309
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 191)
Filter reviews
6 191 results
Traveller rating
4 211
1 339
447
122
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4 211
1 339
447
122
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar cin cin market cafe barefoot grill french restaurant spice restaurant castaways restaurant swim up room preferred club swim up bar hydrotherapy circuit coco cafe quiet pool ocean view rose petals stayed in building coarse sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 6 191 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2021

This resort is top notch! The scenery is magnificent and the sunsets are just incredible. The people are supper friendly. The chefs present foods in a spectacular way. For example, Chef De Partie at Castaway Restaurant makes the BEST shrimp cocktail we have ever eaten year after year. She was even kind enough to come out one day and share the ingredients with us. In my opinion, that is going out of your way to make sure the customer is happy.

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank QueenSusieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulco Resort and Spa, Marketing at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Appreciable QueenSusieQ,

Warm greetings from Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, thank you for taking the time in sharing how wonderful your vacation has been with us.

We are happy to know that your experience at Secrets Huatulco was excellent and that you enjoyed your stay with us for the amazing attention and quality of the services that were provided to you during your vacation.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, we hope to welcome you back to your second home in a near future.

Kind regards,
Diana Rios
E Concierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

We had a fantastic time at Secrets Huatulco with our family.
Our daughter and her husband are Secrets resorts members, and they got my wife and I, as well as our son and daughter in law great rooms.
Loved the beautiful mountains and ocean views.
We spent most of our time by the pool, where we had wonderful attention and service from Mardeli, (she was always there with another drink).
The pool bar was pretty cool too! And we also enjoyed the Sky Bar in the evening.
The food was amazing! We followed Ricardo and Felipe around from resturant to resturant... again we felt like we were getting special attention from them.
Even at the buffet, Nathaly would remember us and our room number!
It was hard to leave, and we will be sure to return as soon as we can.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffB306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulco Resort and Spa, Marketing at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

DearJeffB306,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments through our Trip Advisor Account. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Our mission is to offer the best quality services to our guests, and your message is a source of motivation to continue working in this way.

It has been our pleasure to attend you in Secrets Huatulco, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in this your home, where to serve you, it is a pleasure!

Kind Regards,
Diana Rios
Econcierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

Second visit to this resort. First was great 2 years ago. Very slow service at restaurants. Very limited option for dinner. French was excellent. Only one option for breakfast. Only one option for lunch. Very boring as menu doesn’t change. No buffet at breakfast.
Breathless /secrets Jamaica; secrets cap Cana; secrets maroma all still offered breakfast buffet and multiple lunch and dinner options.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sharonsP6812CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulco Resort and Spa, Marketing at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Dear sharonsP6812CT

Thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination once again in Huatulco and for the time you have taken in sharing your opinion about your stay.

Let me assure you that your feedback is very important and that we will take in account your comments; since our mission is to offer the best quality service to our guests.
We are sorry to know we didn’t fulfill your expectations during your second stay with us, your message has been sent to the corresponding areas you have mention to take action in this regard.

Despite these inconveniences we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in a near future, in this home where to serve you: it is a pleasure!


Kind Regards
Diana Rios
E Concierge


Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021 via mobile

My husband and I visited here for the first time in 2017 and loved it so much that we’ve been trying to get back ever since. We upped the ante this time by bringing family with us so we were hoping and praying that it would truly be as wonderful as we remembered. I’m happy to report that, even after visiting several other Secrets resorts in the interim (Puerto Los Cabos, Maroma, Wild Orchid, Cap Cana), Secrets Huatulco still ranks up there with the best of them! We had an absolutely wonderful trip and will most definitely be planning another return as soon as we can.

Location: You really can’t beat the weather here in February; 80s and sunny every single day with 0% chance of rain. Not even kidding, it is perfect. The views from this hotel are absolutely breathtaking and we were fortunate enough to have the most amazing view right from our preferred club room balcony. Resort feels a little smaller than some other Secrets we’ve been to but that’s not a bad thing. The only downside for location is really how timely and difficult it can be to get to Huatulco itself given that it is much more remote than Cancun or Punta Cana.

Beach & Pools: Really beautiful beach on a big bay. Sand is definitely more coarse/pebbly than the white sand beaches on the gulf side. My standard water shoes were terrible in this sand but other family members wore sand socks and those were perfect. Waves can get quite rough at times so if you do plan to swim in the ocean, keep an eye on the flag while at the beach. Pools were fun and refreshing and Mardeli’s pool service was phenomenal! She is genuinely the nicest person and treated us so well. Just a day or two in, she had already memorized our names and favorite drinks which was amazing. Pools are starting to show some wear and could stand to be retired in places but overall very nice.

Rooms: On our first trip, we had a regular “ocean view” room in building 1 (worst view) but since we had a preferred club ocean view room in building 6 this time, our views were nothing short of spectacular! We could even hear the waves from our balcony loud and clear which was awesome. I thought the room was generally good, stocked mini bar, nicely furnished and didn’t look dated though the rain head shower could’ve been a bit bigger. No in-room tablet (sundial, room service, spa) and given that my husband and I have a very plush mattress at home, we found the bed to be a bit too firm for our tastes. We will definitely be requesting a mattress topper next time.

Activities: Lots of activities last time but not as many this time given the pandemic and resort only being at 30% capacity. We did still have a blast at Carnival Night and the disco party though. We did go off-site for a seven bays tour which was wonderful though it did get cut a little early due to rough seas.

Food: WOW is the first word that comes to mind. We thought the food was really delicious 4 years ago but the menu has now been elevated to new heights! Ricardo (restaurants manager) was SO good to our group - serving us family style, bringing us extras not on the menu, popping bottles of champagne, etc. He truly made this vacation exceptional and I am so grateful to him for that. Felipe also provided our group with great service at various restaurants. Go to Castaways for lunch (their entire lunch menu is delicious!) not to mention the killer views. More killer views from the Sky Bar too which was a great meeting place for drinks before dinner. We legit loved all of the food but if I had to pick a favorite, I would say Bordeaux (French) hands-down. Great steak, really tasty salmon (coming from someone who never eats of likes salmon) and the mussels appetizer was incredible!

Overall, such an amazing trip to an amazing resort! We are already planning our next trip back which is a testament to how much we love it here.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SweetSassyMolassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulco Resort and Spa, Marketing at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Dear SweetSassyMolassy:

Firstly we would like to express our appreciation for the outstanding comments you have shared with our TripAdvisor Community regarding your recent visit to our resort.

We have no doubt that your review will be of great help for many travelers while making their decision to visit Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa. Thank you for the warm words regarding our staff. We’ll be sure to share your comments with the whole team. Comments like yours are a source of great motivation, as we always make our best effort to improve our services to guarantee that your future visit goes beyond your expectations.

Thank you very much for your loyalty and wonderful comments, please believe that the most flattering compliment a guest can pay us is honoring with their return.

Best regards,
Diana Rios
Econcierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

Such a beautiful and relaxing resort! The staff was friendly, the resort was clean, and the views and weather were perfect! The spa had the most beautiful view I have seen, overlooking the ocean on a cliff.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kscottnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulco Resort and Spa, Marketing at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Appreciable kscottnyc,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your sincere comments regarding your last stay with us.
It has been our pleasure to host you and offer you a very warm and efficient service in Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa. Your review will be a great advice for our future guest.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in this beautiful complex to offer you with another incredible experience!

Sincerely,
Diana Rios
E Concierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews