We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
25 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$378
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$378
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/03
FindHotel
US$378
US$326
View deal
PricelineUS$378
TravelocityUS$378
Orbitz.comUS$378
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 284)
Filter reviews
6 284 results
Traveller rating
4 278
1 353
452
127
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4 278
1 353
452
127
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar cin cin market cafe barefoot grill french restaurant spice restaurant castaways restaurant swim up room preferred club swim up bar hydrotherapy circuit ocean view coco cafe quiet pool rose petals stayed in building coarse sand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
704 - 709 of 6 284 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

We ate at Oceana Seafood Restaurant twice, and were pampered by the excellent service of Sr Walter Marco! His service was very professional and attentive, the food was magnificent and the hostess (Diana Hernandez) and Manager (Ivonne Mezo) went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The chef even came to our table from the kitchen to thank us for coming in twice in the same week, so we had a chance to compliment her on her excellent food and presentation as well! Highly recommend.

We also had a fantastic meal w/Jorges in the Wine Cellar, a special unique experience that was a wonderfully blissful way to end a day on the beach. Jorges gave us great wine advice each night the other fine restaurants as well!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank dancindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Dear dancindad,

It is a pleasure to read such a detailed overview of your visit to Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa. We sincerely appreciate the time you spent in writing this review.

Your appreciation about our service and our staff is the best reward for us, the team at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa work very hard to exceed your expectations and to provide the high level of service we are well known for as we are very proud of what this resort represents, comments such as yours are very motivating for the entire team.

It is very gratifying for us to know that our staffs has contributed to making your stay pleasant, in particular of the service provided by Walter Marco, Diana, Ivonne and Jorge.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Best regards,
Diana Rios
EConcierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

We traveled as a group of 6 - my husband, sister, brother and sister-in-law. Had an amazing time. Missed the fresh French toast and pancake station. It seems the staff complement may have been reduced as they appeared more rushed. That being said they did an amazing job of attending to everyone's requests. The restaurants were all excellent. We attended them all but the Mexican. The attention we received at the Oceana was above and beyond. We had supper there twice. The shrimp tacos are second to none. The Japanese and French were right up there. The cleaning staff work hard to keep everything clean. We snorkeled on the east side of the beach. Very good. Lots of varieties of fish to watch. More sand flies than other visits but that is not the resorts fault. The weather is always hot though we did have rain for a couple hours one night.
It was quite refreshing. Over all a wonderful experience.

Room tip: All the rooms are ocean front. We chose one on the lower level close to the elevator for mobility. I don't think there is a bad room
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Dear Linda M,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your vacation experience and your impressions of Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa.

We are glad to know you enjoyed our beautiful facilities, grounds and the outstanding service provided by our staff members. We will share your kind comments with our team, who I'm certain, will be glad to read such gracious notes about our service.

Your kind comments will serve as inspiration for our team to continue working with passion and deliver to our entire valuable guest the best of experiences

Kind regards,
Diana Rios
EConcierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only one issue; the Mexican Restaurant food was not good. No one in our group of 8 finished their meal. Otherwise, great facility. Great service at each venue. Very nice.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank edd5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Dear edd5500,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your sincere comments regarding your last stay with us. It has been our pleasure to host you and offer you a very warm and efficient service in Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in this beautiful complex to offer you with another incredible experience!

Sincerely,
Diana Rios
EConcierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

After making Secrets, Huatulco my annual destination in January to meet people who also vacation there, and who have become great friends, it amazes me how the hotel consistently provides such a high level of service. Starting from Angelica and Luis to Chef Santiago, Captain Nemorio, Bellman Miguel, Karen and Angela by the pool, Matilde in the coffee bar, Maradono and Daniel in the lobby bar, Juana who kept our room pristine and so many others who make Secrets, Huatulco the destination it is.

Besides the outstanding guaranteed weather and impeccable ground keeping, the food was fabulous and again no better service in my world travels.

I am planning on visiting Secrets, Huatulco again this year and add an additional week next year. Yes, for me it is that good, and Huatulco brings a calming for me to get away from the hustle and weather during winter in the Chicago area.

Angelica and your complete staff, thank you again and see you soon.

Rich Bruno

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank rlb602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Appreciable rlb602

We are very happy to know that we reached your expectations and we went above and beyond.
Thank you for highlighting the services provided by our employees. Your kind comments will serve as inspiration for our team to continue working with passion to deliver to our valuable guest the best of experiences.

We hope to see you in a near future at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa; you will always have a place where your friends are waiting for you with arms wide open. We would certainly be glad to host you once again.

Consecutively,
Diana Rios
EConcierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

Just got back from 11 days at the Hualtulco Secrets Resort. First off, overall this is not a 5 star. If you go with the expectation of a 5 star, you will be disappointed. If you go in with the expectation of 4 star, you might be happy even though you paid 5 star pricing. We've been to 20-25 resorts/cruises over the decades. Lately we select exclusively 5 star destinations.

The Good: location is lovely, immediate and surrounding beaches are quiet and some secluded, loved the beaches, and if you pick your location safe to swim. The general area is largely unspoiled and buried in a protected national park. Also, very safe and friendly when you venture off the resort grounds.

The Good: service is friendly and attentive. As with most Mexican resorts if you have a problem talk to management. Front line employees are not empowered to make decisions.

The Good: water sports on the beach are good, snorkelling, kayaking, paddle boarding. Great kayak trip to the beach next door - about an hour return with a stop at the beach.

The Bad: food is disappointing. Much of what is offered I can buy at the local Safeway/ Loblaws. For example, unripe pineapple, melon, farmed salmon and, basa fish. The main lunch and breakfast dining area feels like a college cafeteria and lacked unique offerings in a tropical 5 star destination. Advertised as a 5 star destination breakfast cereals where primarily cocoa puffs and sugar frosted flakes. This is adults only resort with an average age of 55-60, we want all bran not Tony the Tiger Frosted Flakes!

The offerings in the different resturaunts are largely the same. If you like maiimaii fish, you will love it because it's the only fresh grilled fish they serve at lunch (every single day) and in most of the resturaunts as the fish option. Maiimaii, salmon, basa fish, that's the menu. We are 50 yards from the Pacific Ocean and local fish markets and the fish selection was narrow and in some cases not local.

I would recommend the Italian and French resturaunts, by far the best and good menus amd selection. The sushi is below average, the Mexican restaurant is bad, and the steaks and ribs at castaways are inedible.

Imho, don't go for the food. We stayed at a NOW resorts in cancun last year (same company) and the food was far superior .

The Bad: they keep running out of stuff - lobsters at the lobster BBQ, the only good red house wine they carry (Chilean Merlot), bananas, water, etc Seems like their supply chain is challenged, and I get the sense they are driven by cost containment.

The Bad: on several occasions we had the bed made and found stained sheets and pillow cases - yuk. You'd expect better quality control at a 5 star. Beds were comfortable, although the bedding kept coming up and I found myself face to face with the mattress. We also had an ant problem in our room. beautiful views from the rooms - world class.

The Bad: room service. Good luck getting what you want. Many items are an extra charge and they didn't have much of what we asked for - potato chips, nuts, berries, mango, etc. I ordered strawberries and they delivered dried cranberries.

Overall disappointing for a 5 star. It's pricey and I expected more. But the location is probably the best Mexican destination we have visited, and we have been to virtually all of them.

Room tip: Far away from the sky bar if you want quiet at night
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secrets Huatulc... R, Public Relations Manager at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2019

Dear Bro F,

We would like to start by thanking you for giving us the opportunity to be part of your vacations and for taking the time to share your personal opinion about your experience.

It is quite understandable, that sometimes our service and standards do not fulfill our guests’ expectations however we totally value our guests’ opinions since they let us know how you really perceive our resort and clearly show us what we need to maintain and show us those areas where we still need to keep improving.

Despite these inconveniences we hope to have you back home and have the opportunity to make a difference in your stay.

Kind regards
Diana Rios
EConcierge
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews