We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
145
50
16
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
50
16
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool tangolunda bay luxurious resort small hotel a minute cab ride showing its age terra cotta ceviche suite mexico pools pesos maintenance ocean tlc privacy camino
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2015

16 years ago, I spent a week at the Club.Med in Tangalunda Bay in Huatulco, SW México. Here I met my husband. We vowed to return to Huatulco one day, and to stay at the hotel with the beautiful white domes across the bay, the newly opened Quinta Real. We have just got round to doing this and what a disappointment!

In our suite two big table lamps nor the room safe, did not work! One plug was even hanging out of the wall, the electric wires clearly visable, totally unsafe! The air-conditioning did not work properly either, we wanted 20° C temperature at night, the AC did not go below 24°! It was also extremely noisy. The shower produced luke warm water. In addition, our suite was not particularly clean (the floor was full of cracks and filthy!) the furniture was old, tatty and in a bad state of repair. In fact the entire complex was a rather 'run-down' version of a palatial, 5 star hotel of the 50s' era, somewhere out of an Elvis or Frank Sinatra movie! Old fashioned and totally impractical!!! Certainly most impractical for any disabled guests, steps everywhere! In order to keep their 'rich and famous' guests,this hotel URGENTLY needs a good clean-up and a total make-over! On the first evening, we did not feel like taking a cab to the nearest small town, so we had dinner on the terrace of the hotel. The meal was quite tasty, nicely served but NOTHING special. To use the pool, we had to go to the front desk, ask and wait for transport. It was impossible to walk through the jungle full of iguanas, down to the beach and the pool. Receptionist Esther who checked us in, was neither friendly nor helpful. The only positive qualities were the 'Sky Bar', where we were allowed to take a complimentary welcome drink and the fabulous view from our rather dirty, tatty old terrace! At a charge of US$300,-- per night (without breakfast nor coffee-making facilities) this hotel is a total rip-off! and....a complete disappointment! Sorry do not agree with the other reviews on this page and certainly cannot recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We had a wonderful 5 day visit at Quinta Real in a Grand Classe Suite with a private pool. We took a wonderful private boat tour of the bays (Captain Dimitri) from Santa Cruz and enjoyed visiting the village of La Crucecita.

Hotel Yays:
Friendly, helpful staff. The Concierge had good recommendations for off-site dinner options and activities.
Spacious suite, beautiful balcony with great views of the ocean.
The restaurants offered a nice variety of options which were reasonably priced and beautifully presented, even poolside. We enjoyed a lovely prix fixe Valentine dinner (including live music).
Housekeeping was excellent. Spotless room, nightly turn down service. Chocolates on the pillow.
Very private, swimmable beach with minimal tsotchke hawkers.

Hotel Nays:
Beach and pool service could have been better. Non-existent to slow is a good description.
Beach and pool were a hike from the rooms. Lots of steps. This was not an issue for us but could be a problem for some. I think there was a golf cart available if you wanted a ride to the beach.
The decor and furnishings in the rooms and lobby/bar are a little worn and could use an update.
Terrible WIFI. I was never able to connect and could not send/receive text messages. I suspect it is a TelCel issue as my husband has this problem frequently in other cities in Mexico.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimsgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

We just returned from a magical week at the Quinta Real. Acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and wild forest, and just 28 rooms and a few condos. We enjoyed privacy, excellent service and breathtaking views from just about everywhere in the resort. The suite was so
fabulous, that we spent a lot of time in the room, and on the big balcony reading in the hammock and just enjoying the setting. The architecture and furnishings are so tasteful and stylish. The suites are separate from each other. You rarely hear or see a neighbor.

We saw the sun rise over Tangolunga bay each morning, without leaving the bed. Looking down into the woods, you see lots of birds, and if you look carefully you can see iguanas in the trees. The food is great. If you order ceviche at the pool or beach, it is brought with full service of plates and cloth napkins etc.

We did miss out on a tour of Huatulco Natl Park, but it was hard to pry ourselves out of the hotel. We did make it to the waterfalls, though. That was beautiful but wear mosquito repellant.

Thank you so much to Lourdes, Hiram, Luis, Alejandra and everyone at this excellent hotel for treating us royally. This was probably our best hotel stay ever.

Room Tip: It is important to get a room number 1 - 15. Rooms with a higher number have inferior views. Rooms 1 or 2 have great views. There is wifi but it doesn't work well. I used the computer in the concierge office
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mkairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Check In and The Room:
Upon arrival, we were greeted with the best coconut ice cream you will ever have and staff to take our bags. We checked in, took in the fabulous Tangolunda bay views and made our way to our rooms. The double-room we were first put in had an older, musty smell. After we complained, they upgraded us right away and moved us to another section of the hotel. The upgraded room was a lot bigger, including a living room, huge bathroom, balcony with hammock, and a private pool with lounge chairs. The view from this room was excellent, overlooking the bay and unobstructed by trees. The room was very clean and provided toiletries, robes, and house slippers. At night they have a turn-down service and leave Lindt chocolates on your bed.

Hotel:
The Quinta Real is positioned at the top of a hill, so you need to take a cart down to the beach; you can walk it, but it’s pretty far. This hotel is not an all-inclusive and it’s a bit pricier, but it’s worth it because there are not people everywhere; it’s more private. One huge negative for me, since I am not on the Telcel network, is this hotel’s lack of wifi. The signal progressively got worse and worse, to where the last two days of our stay I literally could not connect anymore no matter what location of the hotel I was in.

Food, Drinks, Service:
The hotel restaurant is very good! We ate there every morning of our stay and their menu has a lot of varying plates to choose from. Additionally, each plate comes with fresh fruit of your choice and bread. We also ate a few meals at the beach and they were very, very good. The marlin tostadas were the best. The only downside is that the food/drinks are expensive and the service at the beach can be very slow.

Overall, this hotel was great and I recommend it to anyone visiting Huatulco!

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are a lot bigger
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We just have a couple of nights here, is vacation time so is packed, service is just fine, very good as you may expect in a 5 star hotel, welcome and every detail was as expected, I like it, nevertheless the hotel is turning old, needs some maintenance in common areas but also in the room, we had a suite with private pool, always clean but the first day was dirty!, they cleaned inmediately but you expect to get it done before you arrive!.
Some furniture is old and needs to be either changed or fixed (showersm, knobs)
Still it is my option when we go to tangolunda area.

Room Tip: Get a suite with private pool, is bigger than regular suite
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews