We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Barcelo.com
US$374
US$308
View deal
Booking.comUS$374
Expedia.comUS$352
Hotels.comUS$352
TravelocityUS$352
Orbitz.comUS$352
eDreamsUS$374
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6 814)
Filter reviews
6 816 results
Traveller rating
3 809
1 874
675
270
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 809
1 874
675
270
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium club la tortuga dona rosa fish premium room lobby bar sushi restaurant adult pool a la carte restaurants bay tour ala carts smaller resort nightly shows family vacation second week beach vendors beach chairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 6 816 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2020

The best thing about the hotel is the beach. It is a beautiful beach and the water is wonderful to swim in. The hotel itself is old and it shows. The room smelled of sewer coming from the drain in the bathroom and we had booked a king room but all they had when we checked in was a room with 2 double beds. The shower door leaked so after every shower the bathroom floor was covered with water. The bathrooms around the property were old and scarce. There was plenty of food but very poor quality and the speciality restaurants were only a notch better. The restaurants were crowded during peak times and the service was much slower then due to poor staffing. You had to pay for Wifi and it wasn't cheap. We have stayed in Barcelo elsewhere and it was a much better experience.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank ericksonod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarceloHuatulco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to.
Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance
Iván Cruz
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2020

loved our stay at Barcelo. Loved the service throughout the resort. Loved the beach
didn't stay around the pool area, enjoyed the ocean and lounge chairs on the beach.
would of liked more shaded areas.More lounge chairs. Don't like like getting up at 5 am to get lounge chair.Could of had better quality booze..

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 485dbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarceloHuatulco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Huatulco hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We regret reading that apparently we failed to ensure that our hotel policy, forbidding the reservation of sun beds, was respected during your visit. Your mentioning of this in your review did not go unnoticed and we are pleased to inform you that with immediate effect we will be enforcing the communication reminding guests that reservation of sunbeds without immediate use is forbidden in our hotel.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Iván Cruz
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020 via mobile

We just returned from a week at this beautiful resort and can say that we enjoyed ourselves and we would recommend it.

We had a room on the fifth floor with a partial ocean view (554). The room itself was a good size, with king bed and small balcony. It was very clean, everything was in good shape and the best part was it was super quiet.

We liked the fact that the resort is rather small. It made getting around easy and it’s very beautifully landscaped. The u-shaped resort faces the ocean with a large pool divided for both kids and adults.

What we really enjoyed is the large beach. Although the water gets deep fast, depending on the tides, it’s great to go for a swim and cool off. If you head east past Dreams, there is a school of large fish that hang out in the tidal waters, visible from the beach. It’s like snorkeling without snorkeling. The kids love it. The little kids hate it! Ha ha.

There is a host of water activities and the staff are very helpful. We took out the two-person kayak and had a great tour of the bay. We also tried out their small but decent gym.

There is one buffet restaurant available for breakfast and dinner, along with an open air restaurant for lunch. We had heard complaints about the food selection and it can said this was never an issue with us. For the most part, the food selection was varied and the quality was there. Desserts were often visually appealing as well as enjoyable to eat.

We tried two a la carte restaurants; the Italian and the Sushi bar. Sadly the Mexican was booked solid except for some very late times. We found the lighting in the Italian poor and the room very noisy. We truly enjoyed the Sushi bar with its more intimate feeling.

Friday night they had a Mexican street party by the theatre in the parking lot outside. Wow that was fun! Banners, vendors, mariachi band, games, and of course Mexican food made this a memorable night. Thank you for this!

Located on beautiful Tangolunda Bay, the resort is just a short 5 minute ride into town (La Crucecita) and only 20 minutes from the airport. Resorts are often located far from towns and so we liked the ability to wander off the resort into a few developed blocks that included several restaurants, shops, art gallery, and bars.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only issue we had was when we checked in we were given a room on the ground floor (we asked for an upper, quiet room). We are Barcelo members and expected more. The next door Park Royal resort puts on its night show from 9 to 10 pm. Well that room was anything but quiet, and as we had an early day flying and were exhausted, this was not what we asked for. Thankfully on the next day, management got us into a higher, quieter room that we appreciated.

Overall, this is an enjoyable resort that we definitely would return to.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarceloHuatulco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Huatulco hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.
We are thrilled to read that you felt welcome and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire réception team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.
At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours.
I am grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Iván Cruz
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

Travelled March 3 to 10th 2020 and the trip did not disappoint! We upgraded to the premium level which was definitely worth it. The A la Cartes ere excellent. the buffets were also quality. The smaller resort is a bonus for people with mobility issues as there are not many stairs to contend with. Never far from the pool and bar or the ocean. Chairs were not too much of an issue as I had read on some reviews. Awesome views from the 6th floor were nice to enjoy watch the sunsets. The resort is kept immaculate at all times and the staff are very friendly and helpful.
thanks to the Sunwing staff like Danahi and the rest.
Excellent choice of Hotel!
We highly recommend The Barcelo Huatulco !!!

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank 419darrylm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarceloHuatulco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Huatulco was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories.
Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Iván Cruz
Public Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Huatulco is a beautiful place, with amazing weather and great beaches. We stayed for 11 nights we requested for an ocean view room, we got one, we complained with the first one because it didn't have but a partial ocean view, so they change us and gave us another one partial ocean view room, so we gave up on that. we also paid for premium but the extra amenities are not worth it at all. Supposedly we would have unlimited a la carte restaurants which only allowed us to make 3 reservations, when we wanted to do more they told us that the space was full ?? the mini bar was a complete disappointment for premium only 3 beers 2 bottles of water 2 sodas a bag of potatoes and some peanuts? those are given it in any room. Some friends were staying at the same hotel paying regular price and had a room with a spectacular view of the bay ... Not everything was disappointment, the service we received from Marcial and Alvaro at the palapa area was exceptional, as well as from Anastasio, Celso, Cirilo, Victor at the Dona Rosa restaurant was excellent, as was Juan's at the reception.
We had a couples massage which it was fabulous we enjoyed very much! thank you Maricela and Lucia!
The beach is beautiful and we spent most of the time there quite a few waves but manageable.
We will return to Huatulco, but might not come back to Barcelo.

Date of stay: March 2020
1  Thank ALG5905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBarceloHuatulco, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Huatulco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2020

We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Huatulco for your holidays, and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful.
We are very sorry that the premium quality was not to your liking, but more than amenities we offer services, and premium services are the most likly. We are grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and I promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel.
Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future.
Iván Cruz
Public Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews