We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic & luxurious accommodation in a great...”

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Muchtrave...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Idyllic & luxurious accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

14 family members and friends decided to get together and we have just had a wonderful Xmas in The Long Barn. The accommodation is very luxurious and the 7 en suite bedrooms were all so good that we struggled to pick one, even though we were first to arrive! Comfy beds, high quality bed linens, robes and towels. Plenty of space for all of us in the sitting room, complete with wood burning stove and large TV with SKY etc. Had a wonderful Xmas lunch in the large dining room. Kitchen is fully equipped with plenty of crockery, wine glasses etc. The Sage coffee machine made wonderful coffee. Lovely welcome from the owners, including a number of home cooked goodies such as bread and lemon drizzle cake. Great location too with walks on the doorstep plus the coast a short drive away. Village pub a few mins walk away and serves great food. Thanks Ian and Jackie - we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ceb88
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Don't look anywhere else! Fabulous accommodation, hosts, special touches, village, locals.. just everything about this place is special. Best place any of us have been, and everyone fell in love as soon as they walked through the door. Just perfect. We will most definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from the most amazing weekend with friends, 14 of us in total - some old friends, some new. This experience worked so well because of the beautiful Long Barn - it was equipped to a very high spec with everything required to make a wonderfully comfortable and luxurious stay. Every room, bed, pillow , duvet, towel and linen was delightful. The communal areas we're gorgeous and our fantastic hosts, Ian and Jackie have ensured not only does it sleep 14 but comfortably enables 14 to eat together, sit together and even party together. But still big enough to spend time alone if necessary. The outdoor living was gorgeous and we took advantage of that too. The welcome pack - well it clearly reflects our hosts; generous and thoughtful. THANK YOU Ian and Jackie x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing - all amazing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunny-Tou...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect 50th Birthday Celebration!”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just spent a fabulous weekend at The Long Barn celebrating my cousin's 50th Birthday. Ian & Jackie have thought of everything to make your stay absolutely perfect, from the luxurious accommodation (all 7 bedrooms/en suites are beautiful) to the delicious goodies they provide on arrival and departure. There were 11 ladies in our party and everyone agreed that we couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely be back! Thank you for everything :0)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds, great kitchen equipment & lots of crockery, glasses etc.
Liked least: Loved it all
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect long weekend with friends”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the The Long Barn and I was so impressed that I wanted to review immediately!
There were 14 adults, 2 babies and 3 dogs in our group and all of us were highly impressed with everything at The Long Barn. Every detail has been thought of, the barn is beautifully decorated and every couple had a stunning bedroom with a beautiful en suite. The facilities are excellent with everything provided including: a gas BBQ (with gas), a fully stocked kitchen, large group seating inside and out, Sky tv, an impressive coffee machine and homemade treats on arrival and departure! A truly wonderful weekend in a beautiful setting. We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing