We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alice

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Pool
front view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
AngelCake...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Avoid at all Costs”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We think the below list of problems speaks for itself:

1. Nearby Builders hammering, disk cutting, drilling, crashing and banging on a daily basis
2. Stinking fires from building site
3. Health hazard - Major cockroach problem and hassle that went with it - I attach photo of how simon left our kitchen for 2 days after doing nothing but empyting cupboards and spraying killer for cockroaches. It didn't work.
4. Cockroach droppings
5. Not able to use kitchen as taped off to contain cockroaches - Simon's friend taped up the kitchen cupboards and drawers to try and stop the cockroaches from escaping. A new kitchen is what it needs but Simon laughed at that suggestion, so the problem will be ongoing with future guests until this happens.
6. Headaches from the amount of cockroach sprayed by cleaners/Simon
7. Ant/cockroach ridden kettle and no other means to boil water
8. Issues with keys and missing keys - we spent so much time trying to find out which key is for which of he many lockable doors. Turns out that the keys given to us were missing a key, so we were without our toiletries for a day, as Simon was busy! Labelling keys and checking you have them all before guests arrive would be a suggestion! spare keys were left with dead cockroach.
9. Water stopping every day due to air bubbles - Simon said this was a general Thailand problem - however we've never experienced it at other Thailand villas.
10. Second indoor shower didn't work properly
11. Outside shower didn't work
12. Ants everywhere including bed - we've stayed in a villa in the jungle before and not had this problem. It's low on least but thought we'd let you know.
13. Stained Toilet seats - literally of urine drops. How much does a toilet seat cost - come on!
14. Dirty walls
15. Air con in spare room didn't work - thank goodness we were not sleeping in it!
16. Simon's bad attitude, rudeness and not doing what he promises. He never once apologised for the many problems we had at the Villa. The furthest from professional i've ever experienced.

The tuk tuk/taxi service offered by Simon from the villa overcharges by more than double. He said no one will find the villa and they'd over charge. That's a lie. We found a guy who now knows where Villa Alice is and he'll meet you at the top of the stony road (30 metres) (can only assume that Simon Ramsden must've been on commission) - Mr Pakdee Rut Tel: +66 (0)98 7186 685 - so when dialling from mobile in Thailand, dial 98 7186 685. To direct people back was a doddle too, so not point in waiting for Karim to pick up and overcharge you (we tried three times before I knew and each time it went to a woman talking thai).

Just to mention that it's great having cleaners come so regularly but we couldn't understand what they did 3 hours every two days as we lived out of the one room!

Finally, we often joked that we were working in a prison with the constant opening and closing of the metal shutter to the 'safe' room! What happened to a good old fashioned safe!?

The fact that there has been no reviews this year should have been a warning sign.

We asked for some form of compensation as the villa was far too problematic for us to be expected to pay the full price. Simon did not even have the decency to respond to our email!

We are generally easy going people and have stayed at many villas in Thailand with no problems at all, and our experience just highlighted how awful this place was. No response from Simon was the icing on the cake but we were not surprised!

It's a shame I could only attach a maximum of 3 photos as I took MANY!

In summary - Avoid like Ebola!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2017
In order to judge whether this review accurately describes the villa, all you have to do is look at the other reviews written by this reviewer. She has written 4 reviews, one of them is "poor" and three of them are "terrible". All she writes is very bad reviews.

This person tried to use her very negative Tripadvisor review writing record to get me to pay her money. She called it compensation, but she had no grounds for any compensation. The review is mostly a pack of half-truths and outright lies. It's true that at that time (over a year ago) we had a very small problem with cockroaches in the kitchen, which was temporary, not a big deal and which has since been completely fixed. If I lived in the UK I would report her to the police for attempted extortion. She in so many words said "look at the reviews I have written about other places, if you don't give me money I'll write a terrible review about your place too". I refused to pay up, so she wrote her terrible review.

Do you trust a negative review when it is written by a person who only writes negative review? I don't think so.

There is one further point that is relevant. In late 2016 I completely renovated and repainted the villa. I also bought and installed 4 pieces of garden furniture, 3 of which are extremely comfortable for lounging around in, whilst watching the kids play in the pool. I also installed sand-pits, a water slide and a swing, so that the villa can now accurately be described as "luxury" and "family-oriented". After a photographer/videographer comes to visit, In a month or so I'll be loading up new images and video footage too.

Hope your day is really great ... or even better

Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilD707
Poland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Secluded and peaceful”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed as an older couple in March 2015. The Villa is spacious, stylish and secluded and is great base for exploring the many touristic adventures that Ao Nang has to offer, or simply for chillaxing while slipping into a clean pool from time to time during the day. A little bit of an indulgence for just two of us nevertheless we used biggest of the 3 bedrooms and enjoyed the luxury of having separate bathrooms. The kitchen is well equipped though oddly, while there is a hot water dispenser, there is nothing to boil water in, eg for noodles or mud coffee. The main living are has a large widescreen TV where you can watch movies or Sat-TV if so inclined. Room service is provided every second day and this includes washing up any dishes you leave in the outside laundry area, though we ate out mostly. One of the bedrooms also acts as a sort of walk in safe with a steel lockable roller door. We used this option every time we went out though I suspect that the main danger in a rural location like this would be petty pilfering by local kids and probably sufficient to remember to lock all the exit doors and sliders before leaving.
Simon is a laid-back and helpful. We came up from Ko Lanta on ferry and he picked us and our bags up from the dock in Ao Nang. He treated us to a whirlwind tour of Ao Nang pointing out his suggested tips for the best eating, massages, pubs, nightlife, medical centre and shopping. The Villa is beyond reasonable walking distance from the sea and the town so you need to decide how to get around while there. A return trip in a tuk-tuk or taxi will set you back 500 Baht (ca 20AUD). You can save some money, and have more fun and flexibility, by hiring a little motorbike at 200Baht/day, (though we opted to pay 250Baht/day to have insurance cover). Having read some horror stories about how unscrupulous dealers can rip off their clients with fake damage claims we appreciated it greatly when Simon introduced us to a hire shop that can be trusted.
All in all an excellent place to stay. We enjoyed the experience greatly and would happily return to the Villa when next in Thailand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and surrounds
Liked least: No air-con in the main living area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigfoot78...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet and Privacy”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My wife and I were looking for somewhere with a private pool but not too far from town.
Alice Villa was a great choice for us.
Everything is as it is described, and looks even better than the photos!

Simon (Owner) and Vimar (Ops guy) were great and very helpful. Simon took us to rent a motorbike and pointed out all the attractions along the way for us to explore at our own leisure.

The expectations we had when booking this Villa were well and truly fulfilled!

Thanks Simon for sharing this hidden gem with the rest of us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, Pool, Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaQue...
Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It Suited Us”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Being an older couple who due to work commitments rarely see one another, we chose the villa for space, privacy and our own pool. Compared to the hotel prices in the area, it was the right decision.

Simon was extremely helpful and patient. Our flight was delayed 3 times from Bangkok not arriving at the villa until midnight. Simon therefore showed us around the next day in more detail and took us grocery shopping to stock the cupboards....this was a huge help to know the 'lay' of the land.

Simon arranged vehicle pickup and drop off with the same young fellow (Karim), who was fantastic and we used the phone Simon left with us to call him. Note: A little expensive when only 2 of you at AUD $20 return trip Into to Ao Nang.

We thoroughly enjoyed a day out with Krabi Castaway Tours.this was a definite highlight.during our stay in Ao Nang. More expensive than the others but well worth it!

The villa is showing a little bit of wear in places, but if you look past that and you are a group or family this villa would well suit your needs. Excellent air conditioning in the main bedroom.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azhar_Yeo
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable yet amazing place!”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You can't believe what you'll get for this price! The villa is huge, bedrooms & toilets are clean and spacious and the view is amazing! The entertainment system is amazing. Huge sony bravia with a media station that is filled with movies and tv series. Perfect for those days that you just want to relax doing nothing. You can't hear any noises from any of the neighbours or traffic around except for those noise generated from you. This means you can either party till dawn or enjoy the absolute calmness there.

We rent bikes from a shop that simon knows (250thb/day) and it was a good idea since we will venture out to town looking for food and shopping but a bit of warning. Those who have no experience in riding, it can be a scary experience. Tailgates, illegal u-turns from others are a norm. If you're not confident, you're better off with a tuk tuk service but I still would recommend riding a bike to explore.

However we did hit a little snag. Not sure if this is the case, but I believe that since the villa is not connected to a water main, they have their own water tank and we found that the water tank depletes every 2 days or so, but mind you my party have a total of 10 pax including me so thats ALOT of water usage for bathing,cooking & drinking, not to mention the number of times we bathe after a fun swimming session in the pool.

Also the internet in the villa was having some connectivity issue but yet again everywhere in ao nang having connectivity issues!

To sum this all up, this villa is GREAT, PERFECT, AWESOME for those who seeks calamity, tranquil, be-one-with-nature kind of things & a group of 10 young guys who just want to have fun!

Thanks simon! Will definitely recommend this place to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms and toilets are spacious and clean! Plus the villa is huge!
Liked least: The internet connectivity issues and the empty water tank :(
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing