We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fun, comfort and relaxation.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Alice

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
front view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Pool
front view
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lisa D
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun, comfort and relaxation.”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed with two other couples and their kids (ages 2-7). This villa was a great launching pad for adventures in Ao Nang and down the peninsula on Rilay and Pra Nang beach. It was also a great place to relax while the kids were kept busy and happy with the swimming pool and satellite TV. The setting is very nice as well. Just outside the main town, the villa is surrounded by small farms all set amongst krabi's impressive karst towers. A short distance down the main road is wonderful swimming beach for kids where you can also ind some very good Thai seafood restaurants. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and patio. That view!
Liked least: Not much within walking distance.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mil I
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in August 2011

I stayed in Villa Alice with some friend and found it just the ideal place to relax and unwind. The villa has a beautifully layout with lots of space and the open plan allows for lots of natural light while remaining cool inside. The outside pool area is just awesome! Great for relaxing during the day or entertaining at night. We had a nice pool party one night with the pool's changing color lighting providing additional ambiance. There are great views of the nearby mountains and the villa is surrounded by a lovely quite neighborhood. Ao Nang town and the surrounding beaches were easily accessible from the villa.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay around the Ao Nang area. Dreaming of making a return trip!I stayed in Villa Alice with some friend and found it just the ideal place to relax and unwind. The villa has a beautifully layout with lots of space and the open plan allows for lots of natural light while remaining cool inside. The outside pool area is just awesome! Great for relaxing during the day or entertaining at night. We had a nice pool party one night with the pool's changing color lighting providing additional ambiance. There are great views of the nearby mountains and the villa is surrounded by a lovely quite neighborhood. Ao Nang town and the surrounding beaches were easily accessible from the villa.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay around the Ao Nang area. Dreaming of making a return trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judithboe...
Landsmeer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa, great service and value for money, highly recommended.”
Reviewed 24 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

last minute as we had been going to stay on Phuket but our daughter-in-law persuaded us to try out Krabi province. I found Villa Alice on Tripadvisor and booked last-minute with the owner, who gave us a last-minute discount on the published rateas.

The quality of the villa is really superb. It has all mod cons, a lovely pool which looks brand new, comfortable beds and services on call, such as a tuk tuk, cook and of course a cleaner came in regularly, we also got lent a mobile phone by the guy who met and greeted us, a chap called Vimal, who then promptly answered our calls throughout our stay – we booked various daytrips through him, which were excellent, one snorkeling and island hopping daytrip and one private minivan trip to the some of the inland attractions. Thanks are due to him for doing his best for us throughout our stay, including giving us the inside info on where to eat, shop, get a massage etc.

On one evening Vimal organized a chef for us as well, she arrived and went off to the market with 3 of us, then came back and showed these 3 how to cook Thai food, a very enjoyable evening all round. There was enough food left over for lunch the next day.

We really loved this place, the view from the pool of a magnificent pair of limestone kart mountains is simply spectacular and the pool is completely private too. At night the underwater lights create a magical atmosphere, floating around with a gin and tonic after dark was one of my favourite things about the place, with the villa lit up and the tropical trees swaying – the stuff my tropical dreams are made of, anyway. The TV came equipped with not only satellite TV bit also a media player with about 100 movies and 10 TV series on it.

Wonderful villa, great service and value for money, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and atmosphere
Liked least: not walking distance to the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandaexpr...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible start to our vacation”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
6
people found this review helpful

After searching for a suitable villa for our vacation to Krabi we finally decided on Villa Alice based on the the reviews we found on TripAdvisor. Our group of 8 arrived at the villa after a tiring flight from Sri Lanka only to find that the villa did not have any water, upon inquiring we were informed that it was a temporary water cut which will be rectified shortly.

While waiting, the gentleman ( Vimal) who had been at the villa when we arrived informed us that there had been petty theft in the area and at the villa in the past, and to be very careful of our belongings as they would not take any responsibility for any items stolen. He went on to advice us to store our belongings in a safe room which was bolted, this seemed a bit odd to us as other valuable items such as a flat screen tv dvd/ stereo system was all left out and there seemed to be no issue with the safety of the said items.
We are still not very clear as to the reason behind the warnings.

The house in general was ok but the toilets were unclean and looked like it had not been cleaned after the previous guests had checked out.

After waiting several hours ( 4 hours ) there was still no water and Vimal could not give us a clear indication as to when the water was expected back. At one point he told us that it would be back in 20 minutes but it never did and there seemed to be a problem with the water pump as well. At no point did Simon, who we had made the booking with call us to explain to us what was going on. We were all very annoyed and hot ( no A/C in the common seating area ) and did not want to ruin our holiday because of the unpleasant start we had. We all decided to find another lodging option which was a bit difficult seeing that it was during the Thai New Year. We were very fortunate to have found a very nice Hotel in Ao Nang ( Ao Nang Buri) which we were very pleased with during our 4 day stay.

Upon requesting for a full refund from Vimal, he agreed to provide a refund which he dropped off at our Hotel 2 days later. On the day we checked out of Villa Alice we sent Simon ( owner ) an email explaining the situation but to this date we have not heard back from him.

We will definitely not recommend this villa to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dragonfly...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the villa after a 7 hour flight, only to be told that there was no water supply to the villa! The manager-Vimal, having assured us that this would be sorted out within half an hour disappeared. Four hours later, despite the arrival of a water bowser ( coordinated by us) there was still no water and no manager! The manager upon being telephoned was unable to tell us whether the issue could even be resolved during the day. Having wasted an entire day ( of our 5 day holiday) trying to figure out whether we could resolve the water/ plumbing issues, we had to move to alternative accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Terrible service and No Water.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing