We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 227)
Filter reviews
1 227 results
Traveller rating
613
364
152
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
364
152
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews groupon deal afternoon tea jacuzzi and sauna small pool honeymoon suite lovely grounds log fire country house old building four poster an upgrade scones bar menu lovely break leisure facilities birthday treat beautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 227 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

My girlfriend and I got engaged this weekend at Branston Hall and it was made an extra special trip by the staff at branston hall. It is already a fantastic setting with great rooms and food which wouldn’t be out of place in a very expensive restaurant but the staff went to extra lengths to make our stay memorable including piping congratulations in icing on our afternoon tea plates and putting flowers into the room they upgraded us into. The customer service here is excellent on any occasion and they work very hard to make you feel at home. Unlike a lot of places they genuinely seem happy to do it as well. one guy at the bar (Dan) went very out of his way for around 15 minutes to make us drinks we liked too as they don’t offer a cocktail menu but will make you any drink you want depending on the ingredients they have at the time. All of this is for a very reasonable price too well worth a visit as the value and experience is excellent.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tomuk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your lovely comments; we look forward to welcoming you again.... Maybe for the Wedding!?
Kind regards, Branston Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

We spent a couple of nights here with friends. Chilled weekend. We benefited from good weather which meant that we could take time in the grounds which are really nicely maintained and include a walk around the lake. Swimming pool, good. Restaurant excellent. Breakfast excellent. Only downside is that when there is a wedding on, there is not much public room available for residents. When we were there, the weddings were in a separate suite, but during the breaks (resetting the room, etc) wedding guests filled the bar and most of the public areas. (Weddings are part of hotel business - this is a comment rather than a complaint). Easy access from Lincoln city.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your comments; we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards Branston Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

we arrived on october 3 rd for 3 nights lovely room but not very large , we where a party of 4 , dinner was good but not a great choice sometimes a small menu is better than a huge menu as its usually cooked fresh but these where odd choices no steaks no scallops no prawn dishes and as the menu didnt change while we where there we only ate in once . breakfast was good and and good portions . on our 1st night there was a fault with the fire alarms and from 2 30 am until 7 30 am they went off every half hour the young man on night duty didnt know what to do so it was a very bad night the reception in the morning where very good and took the price of our last nights dinner of the bill . all in all we had a pleasent stay .

Room tip: the rooms at the back overlook the lake and gardens .
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryantoyne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your constructive comments, we will review all of your feedback and they will be acted upon. We do apologise about the fire alarm and rest assured the error has been resolved and staff are undergoing further training.
Kind regards, Branston Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Branston Hall is situated 10 minutes outside Lincoln, set in parkland. Lovely period hotel with an interesting history used to be a RAF hospital. Rooms are in fitting with the hotel full of charm and very comfortable beds stayed now 4 times. I am often travelling alone for work and feel extremely safe and comfortable in the hotel. The restaurant and bar menu frequently change and are varied, all freshly cooked to a high standard. Would make a beautiful wedding venue.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank karenfayjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Karenfayjones,

Thank you for your lovely comments; we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Branston Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

We booked for 6 as one of our colleagues was getting married. We arrived and the place was fairly quiet with only 3 other people seated.
The waiting staff were friendly and helpful but the order a sandwich from the menu is hardly English afternoon tea. Scones were good bit the cakes were very small portions, ( size of a 50p piece) and weren’t anything special.
When we went to reception to pay there was some confusion over the booking and we were all charged £22 each. When it came to my turn to pay, I commented and was told we had ordered the champagne afternoon tea which we hadn’t. The reception then threw a strop because she had to start refunding our party.
To top it all at £15 a throw it wasn’t great value either. Overall poor and I would avoid

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Kevan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRGuestRelations, Manager at Branston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Kevan E,

Thank you for your constructive comments, we are in the process of reviewing your feedback and they will be acted upon.

Kind regards,

Branston Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews