We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to celebrate an Anniversary”

The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The award winning 2 AA Rosette, Dining Room is situated within Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel - a beautiful Grade 2 listed late georgian Manor House set in 3 acres of gardens and only 3 miles from the historic centre of Lincoln. The elegant, yet informal restaurant is open 7 days a week offering a la carte menu from 6pm-9pm. Lunchtime menu from 12.00-2pm weekdays and Sunday with dedicated Sunday lunch menu too. A delicious Afternoon tea menu with home made cakes and pastries and a more informal bar menu is also available 12.00-9pm. Lincolnshire favourites implemented with care and attention. and attention. Open
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely experience, the selection of sandwiches was just to my taste as i am far more of a savoury person. However the initial starter was the most light Cheese and Chive soufflé, it was slight warm and totally delicious. the sandwich filling were equally lovely especially the chicken, lemon and basil mayonnaise, certainly a filling i will be using at home. I also don't drink tea or coffee so was offered an option of a glass of prosecco, who could say no! the little cakes were certainly well received by my husband who certainly does have a sweet tooth. Rhubarb baleful tarts, Passionfruit Macaroons , Chocolate and lime eclairs and a Salted Caramel Brownie. Of course there were the obligatory scones with Cream and Jam, but my only slight disappointment was that the clotted cream didn't have the usual sticky crusty edge that only clotted cream has. I must stress that this did not distract from the overall effect. The staff were so helpful and chatty and the entire experience was excellent

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Bev S - wow what a wonderfully descriptive review of your 5* afternoon tea experience here at Washy Hall. Thrilled you enjoyed the menu, soon to change, so do come back to try the new one! Sat overlooking the beautifully manicured lawned gardens, crisp white linens, fresh flowers and English China, sounds perfect for enjoying the Lincolnshire loose leaf tea! BW Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2018

The afternoon tea was excellent. Only reason could not give 5* was service errors such as tea with no milk provided and had to leave table to find someone to get it. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and is somewhere I would stay and use again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stevegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you stevegoodwin, pleased you enjoyed your excellent tea, will pass this onto the FOH team to polish up their timings! KR Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

The passion of Lacy made the whole difference . It started with the warm welcoming staff the minute we parked our Morgan. Followed by the one and only Gin Tonic with orange zest and a leaf of thyme . The Ceviche of crab, the beef ,the trout , the passion fruit soufflé ... it was a symphony. We recommend it blindly , we will for sure come again and again.

Thank Fadi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Thank you Fadi N - fabulous titled review - Laci is a superstar, he is a seasoned professional and dedicated to the guests happiness. I will certainly pass your review on to him, he should be very proud and would be delighted to serve you again. Thank you, please do spread the word, we have the Lincolnshire Chef of the year 2017 within our kitchen as joint head chef with Anthony, conducting a larger orchestra of other talented chefs! BR Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Food and service excellent, see review of hotel.
Lovely ambience and a great experience.
All courses tasty and well presented, Thank you.

1  Thank susie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you susie101 - fabulous feedback, please do return and perhaps upgrade to an executive bedroom for the perfect 5* experience. Well done kitchen & FOH teams! BW Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Went to this beautiful hotel for a pre booked sunday lunch and from the minute i arrived the staff were friendly always smiling willing to help and all dressed very smart. We were seated near the restaurant where we ordered drinks were given the menu to order from and then seated where upon your starters were brought out and I was not disappointed I had beetroot with goats cheese could easily have licked the plate. Mains were slow cooked beef with plenty of vegetables again so nice and seasoned well. Had the cheese board to finish. I must admit this is one of the best meals I have ever had. So compliments to the hard working chefs well done. Throughout the meal the staff made you feel special and nothing was a problem. They were all very professional and all knew what they were doing so again well done and many thanks. Cannot wait to come and visit again

Thank TUDDSLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muzballs, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you TUDDSLincs - super 5* review of your Sunday lunch at Washy hall, thank you for taking the time to place it. I will pass on your praise to our 2 head chefs and their hard working team. FOH team are very proud to serve, always immaculately presented and cheerful, delighted you were made to feel special! We are celebrating our first 10 years here this year, onward and upwards! Hope you will spread the word, look forward to welcoming you back very soon. BW Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing