We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Beautiful House situated in the rolling...”

Review of Rabbie Burns Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Entrance Hall
Outside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Straiton, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Beautiful House situated in the rolling Scottish Countryside”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

A very peaceful and tranquil location supported by excellent owners in Lynne and Andy. Everything we required for our 8 day stay was provided and the whole family enjoyed the holiday. We will definitely try and make it back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil beauty of the location
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCo25
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay! Will be returning.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Large group of friends stayed for a long weekend. Upon arrival the welcome could not have been nicer; given a guided tour of the lodge and made to feel at home. The lodge its self is huge, could easily sleep our group of 14 adults. The property was clean and well equipped. The owner could not have been nicer, nothing was too much hassle. Although we didn't go walking there are lots of lovely trails near by. Already looking at going back in the summer. Thanks for the great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hippiechi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Want this as my permanent home!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Spent the weekend with friends and family for a 'big birthday' celebration. Fab building, would love it as my home! A few glitches; couldn't get 3 out if 4 showers go work with hot water despite following instructions and avoiding multi use: our room smelled damp, clothing has absorbed the smell! (Lomond room): loo rolls proved problematic, one per bathroom - take with you! However, way more pluses than niggles - loads of space. Very well equipped kitchen with a tall fridge and freezer section - plenty of room for ice fir hour G&T! Good sized ceramic hob and double oven - perfect for a party! Owners were flexible and accommodating, thankyou. Love this lodge and would deffo go back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2013
One shower was reported not to be working. This was checked after departure along with the others and worked perfectly. Do not know what the guests were doing wrong.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jem J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent weekend at Balbeg cottages”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed recently in March, for an 80th birthday party celebration, we rented Balcraig house, and some of the rest of the family stayed in Rabbie Burns Lodge, and Doonan's cottage. We were very impressed with the area, with beautiful walks, the woodland (the adventure playground is fantastic) and the small lake made our stay suitable for all ages. The layout of the cottages made it ideal for larger groups. The only variable was the weather but the comfort of our own place Balcraig house more than made up for it, and it had heaps of space. We did make a temporary dining area in the conservatory, which made a lovely place to eat as it was so sunny but we put the small table and chairs back as we found them afterwards. The owners (Lynne and co) were very helpful in suggesting walks, and places to eat. We would love to stay again when its a bit warmer! thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery and privacy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seeworld2...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed 25 August 2012 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

great place high quality and stand of fittings ideal place for family, friends to get away only draw back was the nearest village (pub, shop & restaurant) was a couple of miles away so may not suit everyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing