We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Edmund_Bellingen
Bellingen, Australia

Delightful stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jun 2024
We stayed one night before our Sabi Sand safari.
- Room was spacious and comfortable.
- Our group of 8 appreciated the private dining room for our convivial dinner. My roast belly pork as average - crackle was not crisp.
- Breakfast was very busy but liked the included a la carte options.
- Beautiful grounds and we felt very safe.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Responded 13 Jun 2024
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments about our beautiful grounds and spacious rooms. Your feedback is important to us, as it allows us to improve our standards and ensure that our guests leave with fond memories of our sanctuary. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Managing Director
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.4 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    1.5 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    2.9 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
    2.9 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Exterior
    R 2 377
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      R 2 377
    5.3 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 260
    • Expedia.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Official Hotel
    1.8 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    getlstd_property_photo
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 1 211
    • Booking.com
    1.6 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    R 1 090
    • Expedia.com
    • Official Hotel
    • Hotels.com
    1.7 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 2 460
    • Hotels.com
    0.6 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Morningside
    Reviews (625)
    Filter reviews
    625 results
    Traveller rating
    422
    114
    35
    23
    31
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    422
    114
    35
    23
    31
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews beautiful hotel hour flight grand chateau long flight suite johannesburg safari fireplace luxury africa retreat oasis
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 625 reviews
    Reviewed 28 May 2024 via mobile

    This hotel was highly recommended to us - we have a one night stay on our way to the airport and onward travels. Hotel is beautiful as is the room but basics are missing - no shower gel etc in the shower and had to come out of the shower wet in search of products by the sink. Why put shampoo and conditioner by the sink? Also sat down to dry hair and could only see the very top of my head in the mirror! Sounds petty but as a five star hotel, these are simple requirements. Also just had a meal and had to send a cold burger back.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Clare E
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2024

    Dear Guest.

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to assure you that the short falls mentioned in your review are not considered to be Fairlawns standards. We will investigate and action accordingly to improve our service standards. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

    Kind regards

    Michael Kewley
    Managing Director

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 May 2024

    We spent two nights at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel. It is an impressive property, decorated beautifully with old world charm. Our room was spacious, pretty, clean and quiet. The food was good at the restaurant though service can be a little slow. One oddity with our room is that no hand soap is provided. We had to use the soap provided for showering to wash our hands, etc.

    The hotel provides free shuttle service to the nearby upscale Sandton Mall, which has a variety of restaurants.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank debg926
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

    Dear Guest

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

    We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your lovely comment about our beautifully decorated sanctuary. We will share your feedback about the slow service and room amenities with the relevant managers to action. We value your feedback as it provides us with the opportunity to improve our standards.

    We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our oasis in the city.

    Kind regards,

    Michael Kewley
    Managing Director

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 May 2024

    Having stayed at the Fairlawns a number of times it is sad to see their standards have dropped. Firstly - only one bottle of water in the room. I was told by the manager that I have to phone housekeeping for more. Fridge door was left open so it was warm and so were the (4) cold-drinks inside it. Only two towels in the bathroom - for a 5* hotel there should be two towels per person. Room service menu was a shocker. It is a typed piece of paper folded - with only 4 or 5 items to choose from (fish and chips, a heart attack burger to name a few). And finally - no products whatsoever in the shower. Again, I was told by the manager that I should move the products from the basin to the shower and back again. Seriously not good guys.

    Date of stay: May 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank tcople940703
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2024

    Dear Guest

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

    It is with great concern that we acknowledge your review, and would like to assure you that this is not considered to be Fairlawns standards. We are terribly sorry that our standards didn’t meet your expectations and would like to assure you that we are committed to improving the areas where we fell short. Should you wish to engage further to discuss the points raised we are open this.

    Kind Regard

    Michael Kewley
    Managing Director

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 May 2024

    I really liked this hotel. Next time I'm in Johannesburg I'll stay there again for sure. It's feels like a Tuscan villa. The rooms could do a little refresh, but its got a great atmosphere about it. The breakfast is fantastic and the restaurant for dinner was also very good.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank T9996BEdavidt
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

    Dear Guest

    Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.

    We sincerely appreciate the kind comments about your fantastic dining experiences with us, and will share with the team. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our sanctuary in the city.

    Kind regards,

    Michael Kewley
    Managing Director

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2024

    We were a part of an Amawaterways group. The evening we checked in we were told we could go to an offsite restaurant and the Hotel would take care of transportation. The Front desk female person said she would make the arrangements and call us with the details. She never called and basically did not follow thru on completing the task. This showed when we got a driver that did not know where he was going and drove the car in an unsafe manner trying to figure out the location. So the Hotel provided our dinner for free. But the next morning we confirmed 2, 80 minute massages for 3:30 in the afternoon. We go to check in for the massages, complete the paperwork and change our clothes. After all of this, the attendant tells us we will get 2, 45 minute massages because they are understaffed. No one bothered to say a word about this change to our confirmed massages. We chose for my wife to get the massage she booked and I would be left out. I informed the Hotel Manager and thought there would be some level of customer service applied here, especially because he was on duty the night before. I got a less than sincere apology from the spa manager and that was it. One of two solutions were available, make someone stay after hours and complete the massage or no charge us for the massage that did happen. Neither solution was offered. Did find out that one of our traveling group got a walk-in massage at 3:00 pm that basically took up my CONFIRMED time slot. Also, you might want to review your work out room. Several machines/stations don’t work very well!

    Room tip: Stay in a compound that makes it easier to access more than the hotel restaurant
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Bret P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

    Dear Guest

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

    We continuously strive to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Fairlawns Boutique Hotel and Spa. It is with great sadness that we acknowledge your comments about the level of service received during your visit. We would like to assure you that this is by no means considered our standards. A thorough investigation was conducted and action taken to improve our standards.

    We would like to apologize for the level of service you received and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Kind regards

    Michael Kewley
    Managing Director

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews