We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
R 6 019
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Geoff & Natalie
Deal, United Kingdom
Overnighter
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Jan 2024
Only had a brief overnight stay but what a wonderful place. We had a room in the converted stables that was to die for. The evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic. Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to use the Spa. Hopefully next time.
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Tripadvisor
R 2 386
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.2 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.4 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
2.9 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
2.9 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Tripadvisor
R 1 263
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Tripadvisor
R 1 013
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 1 090
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 863
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 514
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Morningside
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
418
113
32
23
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
418
113
32
23
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel hour flight grand chateau long flight suite johannesburg safari fireplace luxury africa retreat oasis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2023

Such spectacular and peaceful grounds, but the rooms felt tired and dirty. Housekeeping also was lacking and in general it was an underwhelming experience staying at the hotel.
I will say the spa was good, pity about the rest.

Date of stay: December 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RossLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
It is with great concern that we acknowledge your review, and would like to assure you that this is not considered to be Fairlawns standards. We are terribly sorry that our standards didn’t meet your expectations and would like to assure you that we are committed to improving the areas where we fell short. Should you wish to engage further to discuss the points raised we are open this.

Kind Regard

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2023

Situated in the prime of Joburg and not far from the main centres like Sandton. The place is amazing, from the drive in at the gate through reception to the porters the staff is very warm and super helpful. We arrived before checkin time but they were able to fix our room within a reasonable amount of time. The food was great, awesome service and do pop into the champagne bar for some classy vibes. Also I highly recommend their spa, it is out of this world and I wish we had spent the entire day there. They had. Sunday live saxophonist and that just topped everything. We Will definitely go back!

Thank you Fairlawns.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank akfit84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Dear Guest

Thank you for the lovely comments about our sanctuary in the city. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about our great food, awesome service and our super helpful staff. As a five star hotel we strive for more, and use guest feedback to improve our offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel that could do with a bit more "special attention" to details and guests. Our room was magnificent, however we had to put up with the air conditioner set on auto timing for "heating" all night, which was unpleasant as it wasn't what we wanted. The spa area is also lovely, but quite dark and the jacuzzi was colder than the pool! The gym also is in a funny place which discourages one from using it. The breakfast/ dining room and the verandah is lovely, overlooking the grounds, and the food on offer is good. It is quite a drive to the airport from the hotel, however the area seems quiet and safe.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your Fairlawns experience.

We sincerely appreciate the kind comments lovely verandah and our beautiful hotel. We value your feedback as it allows us to improve our standards and service. We will share your comments about the special attention to details and air conditioner settings in order for the team to rectify.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2023 via mobile

This hotel deserves TEN stars if it could.
Firstly I've only arrived in J burg, today, solo female from UK. 50 plus years old and Uber Virgin.
I had a bad experience with an uber driver and immediately Mike at reception took charge, stopped me getting scammed and arranged for a driver from hotel to take me back to my hotel.
( I have to stay in another hotel as I'm on a tour ) however this hotel and spa is out of this world, and if I could I would 100% stay here.
Mike and TK were a credit to the hotel. I've told people already, how grateful I was for their help.
The spa was so relaxing, beautiful and serene.

Thank you xxxxxx

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Lindyloo0751
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Dear Guest


Thank you for sharing your Fairlawns experience on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments about the great service you received from Mike and TK was greatly appreciated and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your short visit to our sanctuary. We look forward to welcoming you back to our urban oasis.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2023 via mobile

We booked a pedicure for my Mom’s birthday. There were 4 of us.
On arrival, we were asked to sit down and complete a form, the questions asked had nothing to do with our treatment and seemed to be a waste of time.
We were never offered refreshments that were available on the table.
We were then taken to the area where they did our pedicures. On our walk down there, we were pleasantly impressed with the outlay of the spa and the serene and calming feeling of the greenery, gardens and bamboo trees.
Unfortunately the room where you have the pedicures was quite the opposite. There was no atmosphere at all. It was very bright with uncomfortable chairs and no leg rest. The ladies who attended to our treatment were very unfriendly, not particularly well groomed and a lot of noise and clanging going on in their preparation room. They also seemed to just disappear quickly after the treatment. Overall we just felt let down, especially after the amount we paid at this supposed high end spa.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael Kewley, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is with great sadness that we acknowledge your Fairlawns experience. A thorough investigation will be conducted, and we would like to assure you that this is not considered to be Fairlawns standards. As a five start establishment we strive for more and value your feedback.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews