We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Cosy and Comfortable Lounge
Dining room, easily seats six
Spacious Master Bedroom
With Kingsize and Single Beds
Double bedroom with feature fireplace
Picturesque and tranquil Findochty
There is always a warm welcome at Harbour Cottage
Dramatic coastal location
The harbour is still used by lobster fishermen
The stunning view from the private patio
Whisky distilleries within easy reach
North East coastline rated 11th in the world by National Geographic!
Fantastic sunsets over the Moray Firth
The castle trail is near by
Safe sheltered beach 5 minutes walk away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
johnjoyta...
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

WOW wow wow. Probably says it all. Spotless, home from home with a view to kill. Everything you will need is there. Lovely touch is the welcome pack.
Ian and Ishbel gave a fantastic quick tour of the cottage when we arrived. Slept well in the very comfortable king size bed. Mattress perfect and I want the duvet. It was so snuggly. I was sad to leave such a wonderful holiday home. We sat out on the patio which overlooks the harbour every morning to watch the world go by and listen to the wonderful sounds of a perfect picture postcard harbour. Lovely and private but still able to talk to the very friendly passers-by.
Many places to visit in the area. (Too many for our 10 day stay and will need to return to complete our tour of the area).
Thank you so much for our wonderful time Isabel and Ian.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
Thanks for the great review. We do try to everything we can to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrisonk...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“the only place I will ever stay in again on east coast of Scotland, it’s perfect”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

from the moment I contact them through their website Ian and Ishbel were friendly, helpful and flexible. They provided all the information I needed and responded quickly to all of my communications. On arrival at the cottage they had left a welcome pagage of milk, bread, ham, marg, tomato’s and a bottle of wine and trust me after an 8 hour drive that was very much apeciated.

The cottage was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The rooms were a great size and although there was only me and my daughter it would sleep up to 4 adults and 2 children. There was ever amenity you could ever need including (but by no means limited too) washing machine, freezer, hair dryer, WiFi, logs for the living room burner, central heating and a lovely dolls house in the bed room which my daughter loved. There was a helpful welcome guide which explained how to work everything exceeding clearly and this was most helpful.

The location is stunning! The table on the outdoor patio looks straight out over the harbour and is a winderfull sun trap. There is a local pub a stones throw away where everyone was friendly and serves lovely food. The surrounding area is lovely with so many places to go and see no matter what you enjoy. From the beaches of Cullen, fiddle bow rock to Elgin Catherdral to Baxter’s for pancakes and a distillery on every corner. We didn’t see any dolphins on our short stay but plenty of beautiful birds including a friendly oyster catcher that joined us on the beach.

Me and my 9 year old daughter loved it and our only disappointment was that we couldn’t stay longer so have decided to go back for longer next year and I won’t even look at others places to stay will go straight back to the harbour cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
Thanks for the lovely review. Our 'welcome pack' is always appreciated by guest, especially after a long journey. Even as 'locals', we also enjoy the scenery and variety of visitor attractions in the area. Haste ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron H
1 review
“Ideal cottage for a week’s relaxation.”
Reviewed 6 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great location with a very close view of Findochty (Finechty) harbour from the kitchen window and patio. Everything you need in the cottage. Excellent welcoming food/wine parcel left for us by Ishbel and Ian. We had the weather to be able to sit out on the patio with a gin or two and watch harbour life go quietly by. Pub with decent food 100 yds away. Easy walks from the doorstep, Buckie 3 miles, Portknockie 2 miles and Cullen 4 miles. Everywhere we went people were so helpful and friendly. Local bus excellent. Golf club near the beach at Cullen is a good watering hole. Great week, with great weather.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2018
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try to arrange good weather for all our guests, but it isn’t always possible! However, there is always lots to do - whatever the weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pioneer67...
1 review
“Short Autumn Break”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Property perfectly located on harbour's edge. Impeccably presented, clean and comfortable. Generous welcome pack which was most appreciated. Ideal for a relaxed stay or for guests who wish to avail themselves of the many attractions the Moray coast has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The harbour view.
Liked least: The absence of a hook on the back of the toilet door!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeorgeNor...
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Only the Best”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We have visited this part of Scotland on several occasions and each time rented a cottage in the area. Without doubt, Harbour Cottage is the best yet. Our arrival went like "clockwork". The cottage was clean, tidy and warm, there was a welcome pack, things were briefly and sensibly explained - no lists of do's and don'ts, internet was free and there was a landline - mobile reception is not good. A summary would be, "It was like moving in to someone's home."

However, Harbour Cottage is not situated in Buckie, rather it is located in Findochty, which is a small coastal village about 3 miles along the coast from Buckie and in our opinion, far far nicer than Buckie. There are walks along the coast, heading either east and west, a local pub with restaurant, a small working harbour, which is also home a large number of yachts and small boats.

Now for the cooks amongst you. As a couple, tend to cook everything from scratch, rather than rely on packets, so our kitchen at home is pretty comprehensively equipped. Likewise, the kitchen at Harbour Cottage lacks nothing and there is even view, directly overlooking the harbour as well.

Finally, the separate Dining Room is yet another plus for Harbour Cottage.

If you are thinking of renting in area, then in our opinion, this is the cottage to choose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2016
Thanks for your lovely review and for being such considerate guests. If you want to try something different next time you are in the area, you could always try our 'Coastal Cottage' - furnished and decorated to the same high standard, but very different in character.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing