We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage”

Review of The Blair

The Blair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden. Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden.
Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
The Living room at The Blair with working wood burning stove.
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen and dining area
Bathroom
Over the bath shower
Two single sofa chairs on landing
Twin upstrairs bedroom cosy room with TV.
Summer House and relaxing hammock with chiminea looking out over beautiful view.  See picture below.
View from The Blair
Shore line at Portgordon 2 miles from The Blair. Look out for the seals who bask every day.
The friendly neighbours -  enquisitive and welcoming!
View up to the hills
Shoreline at Portgordon.  Look out for the seals!
Leafy private lane leading to The Blair
The local Mill House bar and restaurant open to non residents for the nights you dont want to cook.
Last look from The Blair.  Hope to see you again!
The Moray Firth looking over to the Black Isle.
Surrounding The Blair
The Blair, and your neighbours!
Fancy a stroll?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Two4mud
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This cottage is absolutely lovely. It is set in large mature gardens with no one overlooking. It is very quiet and cosy. Internally it is all you could wish for. The cottage is spacious and very clean and tidy with all mod cons. All that was missing was a good phone signal and wifi (this was a bonus for us). There was a very welcome welcome pack which means you are off to a good start. We ate most of our evening meals at the Mill House Hotel which is within easy walking distance. We would definitely stay here any time we are in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely comments and I am so pleased you liked staying at my wee hoosie enjoying the quiet location but within easy reach of the local hotel. Normally the phone signal is good though O2 doesn't always fare so well. Most people appreciate the time off from wifi and I'm pleased to see you saw it as a bonus! It was lovely to meet you and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Blair in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RhonaGlas...
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A perfect cottage - cozy and peaceful”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My husband, sister, elderly mother and I stayed at 'Blair' for 4 nights over Hogmanay and New Year. The Cottage was perfect for us as there was a downstairs bedroom and bathroom (suitable for individuals with limited mobility).

Maureen was at the cottage to welcome us and give a guided tour of the cottage. She also provided us with a basket of scottish treats which was greatly appreciated and enjoyed. Everything was provided for a comfortable and welcome stay. Beds were comfortable and the wood burner was cozy for our winter break.

The cottage is in a peaceful locaton ideal for a relaxing stay however it is also close to Buckie and Fochabers for shops and restaurants.

We would recommend 'Blair' and certainly intend to visit in the future - thanks Maureen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting
Liked least: No wifi and limited mobile phone connection
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed your stay at The Blair. I'm pleased everyone enjoyed themselves over the festivities and I look forward to seeing you again at The Blair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caz144
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My family and I had a great time at the Blair, Maureen was very welcoming and has made sure your as comfortable as possible. The location was lovely not to far from the beach we also saw some of the local wild life.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments .I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Blair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwanttokn...
canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a gracious host”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Much to my regret, I was unable to honour the reservation I had made with Maureen. I am giving her an excellent recommendation because she was so understanding and gracious about the cancellation. Thanks again Maureen

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2015
I was sorry that you were unable to come to The Blair I was looking forward to sharing your cake with you.....I ate the chocolates and drank the wine! I hope you had a lovely birthday and enjoyed the bit of Scotland you saw and had a safe journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magsndan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A lovely cosy, comfortable cottage with everything you need.
Very peaceful setting and we had glorious weather as a bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It just felt homely
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
The hammock came in handy didn't it for the lovely weather. Good to see you and thank you for the lovely comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay at my wee hoosie and hope to see you there again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing