We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of heaven on earth”

Review of The Blair

The Blair
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden. Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Blair
View from The Blair with patio area in corner of the garden.
Cosy double ground floor bedroom.  Bedlinen and curtains would be changed for male guests.
The Living room at The Blair with working wood burning stove.
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen and dining area
Bathroom
Over the bath shower
Two single sofa chairs on landing
Twin upstrairs bedroom cosy room with TV.
Summer House and relaxing hammock with chiminea looking out over beautiful view.  See picture below.
View from The Blair
Shore line at Portgordon 2 miles from The Blair. Look out for the seals who bask every day.
The friendly neighbours -  enquisitive and welcoming!
View up to the hills
Shoreline at Portgordon.  Look out for the seals!
Leafy private lane leading to The Blair
The local Mill House bar and restaurant open to non residents for the nights you dont want to cook.
Last look from The Blair.  Hope to see you again!
The Moray Firth looking over to the Black Isle.
Surrounding The Blair
The Blair, and your neighbours!
Fancy a stroll?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buckie, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KeithRyan...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A little piece of heaven on earth”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in the blair in may,for one week, extended family and the dog. We were met by the wonderful Maureen who greeted us like family, this lady is wonderful,nothing is to much trouble, and wil help and assist in any way she can. Her wonderful cottage is like a home from home. Everything you think you might need and more is there! Spotlessly clean and cosy. We have some especially cherished memories of the blair and hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review it was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay at The Blair....and we did have a giggle didn't we? You would all be welcome back at The Blair anytime, so hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
docfraser
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent accommodation. Rural and quiet but near to a great pub / hotel -- The Mill.
This was the 5th time I have stayed here and to me --- it never disappoints.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude and the wonderful attitude of the owner Maureen.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
Thank you for the great comments and always delighted to see you at The Blair and look forward to your 6th visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek M
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Blair speaks for a lifestyle, for an entire region and speaks to its guests.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Strangers to Scotland, we instantly felt at home. Maureen was contactable from the airport, reached The Blair simultaneously with ourselves, introduced us. Thereafter the croft became our home for the week.
Our visit programme included the Cairngorms, the coastline east of Speyside as far as Sandend, Loch Ness, Elgin and Lossiemouth. What a feast of riches:)
If that wasn't enough The Blair allowed us to wander to St Ninian's Chapel and (four times!) to the Mill House Hotel:)
The Blair was warm, has all modern facilities. The literature on the coffee table made perfect reading for finding one's way around.
We commend The Blair without reservation to any visitor to Moray.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you very much for the complimentary comments. It was lovely meeting you both and Im delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Blair and felt at home there whilst enjoying the surrounding area - including your four visits to The Mill!! I hope to see you back at The Blair again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan J
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect. Secluded but close to everything.”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I rented the cottage for my brother and his family and he told me that he was so impressed with the cottage that they would be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2015
Hello. I hope everything went ok with the reason for your visit and thank you for the lovely comments and Im delighted that you liked it enough to return....with the lovely Lola I hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Thankyou so much for a wonderful stay, nothing was too much trouble.
The kids loved the hammock and the swings on the trees, I was in my element with the bbq so everyone was happy.

Cottage was lovely and we will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outside area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2015
It was lovely to meet you both and your two lovely girls. Im delighted everyone had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again at The Blair. Thank you for the complimentary comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing