We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, well equipped cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
dune cottage living room and patio doors
Great village location, yet so close to the beach
Private patio area with outdoor seating & BBQ
Quiet courtyard setting
Pristine golden sands of Embleton Bay just a 5 min walk away
Clear blue skies of Northumberland
Autumn sunrise over Dunstanburgh Castle
Beach walk to the Ship Inn at Low Newton-by-the-Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joyce N
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 27 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This was an excellent cottage for us. It is very nicely decorated and has everything that we needed for a nice relaxing holiday. Lovely bathroom (with roll top bath and separate shower) and a very comfortable bed.Well equipped kitchen too (not that we did much cooking!)
The cottage is also dog friendly with a nice little patio area leading up to a nice small garden. It must be lovely in the summer to be able to sit outside and enjoy the garden properly.
It's a 20-25 minute walk to the beach but well worth it (our dog is old and she managed this ok) The beach at Embleton is lovely - even on a cold windy day!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dune Cottage.
The hotel staff we dealt with for this booking and when we were staying in the cottage were very helpful and friendly. All in all, a great find!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
Dear Joyce

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight-General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice...but a few niggles!”
Reviewed 27 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
6
people found this review helpful

This cottage is ideally situated in the heart of Embleton, only a stone's throw away from the village store, pub and fantastic beach.
My wife and I booked a short 3 night break having stayed in and around Embleton a number of times over the last year or so.
You can park up directly outside the gate to the property and the cottage is lovely and welcoming as you walk through the door.
There's an open plan living room and kitchen, where an adjoining hallway leads to an ample sized bedroom and a surprisingly large bathroom with a great walk in shower.
As none canine owners and for a dog friendly rental, we were both surprised by the absence of doggy 'smells' unlike one or two places we've holidayed in within the area recently. So general cleanliness was good.
Now to the 'gripes':
. Heating only appeared to warm the living room. It may have been us but instructions weren't clear and there were numerous thermostats which didn't seem to heat bedroom etc, no matter what we tried.
. Grill on oven wouldn't come on and there were no appliance instructions, which most cottages of these types have.
. Disappointingly, the owners do not appear to have acted on previous reviews of over 12 months ago. There is a strange, poor drainage aroma eminating from the bathroom and a faulty outside light hasn't been repaired. The lack of illumination makes an evening time visit for a pub tea, very dangerous...as outside steps are in complete darkness.
. I would also recommend that the eaves, fascias and soffits are checked for unwelcome, nightime visitors!!!
I just hope that the cottage is not a poor relation to the hotel (Dunstanburgh), as rectifying the above points would make all the difference.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDHappyti...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just been to Dune Cottage for my birthday weekend and had a wonderful time. The cottage is just lovely, cozy, comfortable and everything you want for a cottage in beautiful Embleton Northumberland, the stars on an evening were lush. It has the best beach we have ever been to and we walked to Seahouses in the sunshine which was amazing. We had the breakfast package at Dunstanborough Castle Hotel too with dinner on the first night. The food and service was just so lovely, the Hotel is fab. Mike and Michelle looked after us perfectly. Thank you to them and everyone at the Hotel and cottage for a great weekend, can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to seeing you back soon
DCH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dune Cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Cosy cottage in a great location. Perfect for getting the kids to the fantastic Embleton Bay and visiting the Northumbria coast. Kids loved it, we loved it. Very well stocked kitchen made self catering easy and fantastic that we could order meals for delivery from hotel. Will definitely be back to Embleton in the future but may need a bigger cottage as the kids grow!.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. Larger cottages are available!
Best wishes
DCH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley523...
Washington,Tyne&Wear UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very good BUT”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is extremely well appointed, cosy and perfect for walks along the stunning beach to either Dunstanburgh Castle & Craster or Low Newton. We would have given it 5 if there weren't a few niggles. We arrived in darkness and one of the security lights was off which meant quite a hazardous walk down the side with a very excited dog. This would be very easy to fix. There is building work being done to the adjacent property so the garden area wasn't very attractive with rubble and building material piled up and what I assume will be an excellent water feature but unfinished so held green stagnant water, so we had to ensure the dog didn't drink it.
The biggest niggle was we booked this for our Anniversary and we're looking forward to being able to order meals from the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel to be delivered as stated in the information. However the hotel was closed for the month and therefore no service. Also this fact was not mentioned in any of the email traffic about the reservation before we arrived. One of the other pubs in the village was also closed so thank heaven for the Greys which was excellent and dog friendly. Therefore I would think twice about booking in January.
However during the rest of the year I'm sure it would be an excellent place to stay, particularly during the lighter nights and when the building work is complete.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Dear Lesley5234
We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.
I would however like to point out that you booked your self catering holiday via a self catering website. Whilst I appreciate that it may appear helpful to put opening and closing times of the hotel on to this website it is simply not possible for us to advertise any other service, including the hotel's opening & closing times. We do however close the last Sunday of every November and reopen the first Friday of ever February, as is clearly stated on our website and Facebook page. Regarding the email contact between ourselves and yourself we do not get that information until you have paid your balance, roughly four weeks prior. It may be helpful if you were to contact holiday lettings directly to find out the reason why.
Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing