We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean but compact”
other travellers have booked this property
Outside Periwinkle Cottage -south facing + sheltered, a real suntrap.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside Periwinkle Cottage -south facing + sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Outside Periwinkle Cottage -south facing + sheltered, a real suntrap.
Lounge area
View of Periwinkle Cottage from the courtyard.
Lounge area
Lounge area
Kitchen area
Kitchen area
Dining area
Sturdy wooden dining table for four.
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Private and enclosed courtyard to the side of Periwinkle Cottage
The view looking south from Embleton Bay, with Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.
The view looking north from Embleton Bay, just a stroll up the beach to the village of Low Newton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandy W
1 review
“Clean but compact”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We chose this cottage solely based on location, which it didn’t disappoint. A couple of shops ( Londis and local garage which sells basic daily bits) and a couple of pubs very close by. As a plus there is a small kids play area a stones throw away.
The cottage is very clean and contains most items a family would require for a week. NB there is not a washing machine but there is a spin drier ( although no external washing line which would be helpful). The WiFI is good. On the whole I would recommend the property but we did find we were on top of each other a bit ( 2 adults and a 8 and 10 year old). It is very small and I must admit previous properties we booked in the area had a back garden which we missed but this info was in the spiel so I can hardly complain.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Thanks for the feedback Sandy. Unfortunately, due to a restrictive covenant in place on the property, the drying of washing outside the front of the cottage isn't permitted - so we're unable to provide a washing line I'm afraid. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope you're able to visit again in the future. John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRS MARGA...
1 review
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Good accommodation. Every thing you need for a good holiday. Easy access to many places of interest. Good selection of restaurants in the village. Nice beach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonMoorsh...
moorsholm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Pretty, well maintained and cosy cottage in an ideal location. We were able to walk to the beach, the pubs and to nearby Craster directly from the cottage.
We wanted a cottage that we could book for a few nights rather than a whole week and this was a great choice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback - delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful part of the world. I hope we can welcome you back sometime soon. John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CD1Newcas...
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy cottage ”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Periwinkle Cottage. Despite the sub-zero temperatures, gale force winds and snow the cottage was warm, cosy and very comfortable. It was very well equipped and we really appreciated the pint of milk in the fridge as we'd forgotten to bring any and our young children drink lots of the stuff! We'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback and I hope we can welcome you to stay again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Cath...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A pleasant and clean cottage that was plenty warm enough despite the freezing conditions when we stayed. The beach is a 15 minute walk away and has the ruins of Dunstanburgh Castle at one end. Bamburgh and Seahouses are a short drive up the coast and the town of Alnwick a 20 minute drive inland, so an ideal location all round. The property manager was very prompt at responding to all correspondence and was very accommodating with our request for an earlier check in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback...really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing