We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An immaculate cottage with a great location and a...”
other travellers have booked this property
The journey is over.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The journey is over.
And relax. Enclosed patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
The journey is over.
And relax.
Enclosed patio.
A stroll down to the beach before dark, watch the sun going down.
Time to make a meal?
Set the table?
Open that bottle of wine
A good nights sleep
Up in the morning, don't forget your wellies!
Dunstanburgh Castle across the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iain C
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An immaculate cottage with a great location and a personal touch”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We chose Poppy Cottage as a base for exploring the Northumbrian coast with our children (age 2 and 4). We stayed three nights, and were delighted with our stay. Lovely outside and in, conveniently located and reasonably priced.

The welcome pack is charming, including hand-wrapped rustic bread, wine, and ingredients for a cooked breakfast. The kids were particularly impressed with the lemon drizzle cake!

The interior is immaculately decorated with plenty of quirky touches that really make it feel homely. The size is relatively cosy but still feels light and airy and makes great use of the space (and the price was extremely reasonable even in a half-term week.) It's thoroughly well-equipped (e.g. Freeview, Oven, Toaster, Microwave, Coffee maker etc.) and we couldn't think of anything we were missing; the free wireless broadband was particularly welcome (mobile phone reception in this corner of Northumberland is variable.) We've been racking our brains for nitpicks and can't think of any, except that as a mid-terrace we were sometimes conscious that the kids couldn't make too much noise. That certainly didn't put us off and the cottage is very child friendly.

As a jumping off point, Embleton is fantastic: close to any number of small seaside towns, sandy beaches, rock pools, castles, gift shops and Alnwick/Alnwick Garden. In the village itself Poppy Cottage is right beside a local pub, round the corner from the village shop, and five minutes from a good playground. A fifteen minute easy walk takes you to a beautiful, sandy beach with stunning views of Dunstanburgh Castle.

We loved Poppy Cottage, and our kids didn't want to leave. Strongly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue W
Thame
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, convenient!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly, the welcome pack was outstanding; the best I have ever encountered! Secondly, the cottage itself was great; the beds were comfortable, it was peaceful and quiet, the sitting area was lovely, it was warm and cosy and the decor was tasteful and quirky. Thirdly, the cottage is situated right in the village and we ate in one of the pubs there which was excellent and we could walk to it from Poppy Cottage. We also cooked in the cottage which had enough utensils and plates, bowls, etc. We strolled down to the sandy beach, past the Golf course and had a wonderful walk along the coast. In the village, there was a shop and a playground area for children. Alnwick was close by and other beautiful parts of the Northumberland Coast as well. This was a really lovely place to stay for lots of reasons.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The Welcome Pack and it beings o comfortable and convenient.
Liked least: I liked it all!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I am delighted you had such a good time. Clare :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to relax in Northumberland!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We only stayed for two nights but the cottage was perfect. Really well equipped kitchen, plenty of home comforts and lots to do in the surrounding area. Hoping to stay again in the future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriel
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An extremely comfortable, and well equipped cottage with easy access to the beach and surrounding fantastic countryside.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect venue for meeting friends and exploring the area. All facilities are of the highest quality and the superb welcome pack is second to none.
The pubs in the village are friendly and the quality of food excellent.
The local village shop is very well stocked and can provide most things. The staff are really friendly and helpful.
All in all a thoroughly recommended venue. We will definitely return - in fact we have booked another week later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cosiness of the property.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debbie j
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brilliant place to explore northumberland from”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cosy cottage in lovely village near to the beautiful bay.Spotlessly clean,comfy with welcome basket! couldn't ask for more,owner is very friendly too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing