We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
381
182
116
70
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
182
116
70
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub crab boar private garden an ice bucket pudding gastro pub breakfast in bed four poster bed road noise fantastic stay full english sunday lunch an overnight stay lovely room following morning evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Had a night away in a room with a hot tub (private) just outside the french doors. Was amazing toom was lobely and clean and dinner was amazing. Had the cote de deuof for 2. It was to die for. Cooked to perfection. Service was impecable. Will go again next summer. So relaxing

Thank bagotricks1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Myself and Husband just arrived home from a nights stay in hot tub room for our anniversary - we loved it! We had our 3 month son with us and were made to feel welcome. Staff are friendly and approachable and did their best with any issues that came along. The room was large and clean as was the hot tub. The only problem I had was that the room was VERY hot! A fan was provided however it really didn’t do a lot also no English tea in room but was provided when mentioned. The room we stayed in was not overlooked so we had complete privacy whilst in the garden and tub. The garden needs a little tlc as were a few cobwebs and flower pots were cracked/broken. Food in restaurant was mainly good - scallops were beautiful however cote de bouf was very tough - chef said this was due to the cut - I’ve eaten this elsewhere and never had this issue....breakfast was lovely and fresh and served quickly. All in all a great stay and will def recommend and return - in fact friends of ours have already booked after seeing our pictures!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kerryflower1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We stayed at what used to be some years ago the ‘Old Blue Boar’ a noted and well supported old thatched pub with food.
The location is first class, adjacent to a quiet B road in open green countryside some 5 miles from Newbury

It has after several failed incarnations become now ‘The Crab and Boar’ and the place like the name is rather odd.
Clearly at some point a lot of money has been spent (misspent-wasted?) enlarging and reconfiguring the place but it has now become very run down with clearly seen little basic maintenance for a long time.

We paid (from the web site) for the best and most expensive room and were greatly disappointed as the room lacked basic furniture, was not properly ventilated and thus hot and stuffy, several of the bathroom fixtures were broken or did not function and had clearly been that way for some time. At our request a fan was provided but broke after a couple of hours of use.

The warning signs were there when we arrived at 4.30 pm and found no one present when wandering around this large rabbit warren of place. Finally our reservation was found and we hauled our bags up a narrow staircase to this hot stuffy room.
There were few staff in what became a busy bar and service was slow and forgetful. Willing enough but untrained. Food offerings were poor to ordinary and the breakfast just passable.
With professional management and maintenance this could once again become a pleasant place to eat and stay but it is not that at present.
We did not enjoy our stay and were pleased to leave

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank oldchinahand46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had our wedding here a couple of days ago , I would like to say a sincere thank you to the team at the Crab especially Renato our amazing planner who made sure all concerns and stress melted away to nothing and Ed who came in at the last minute to assist. Not to fail to mention the whole team who worked their socks off and kept everyone fed and watered on a warm day . Our day was perfect in every way so much care and attention all we can say is thank you and well done to all !!!

The venue is perfect for a wedding , we blocked out the hotel and its rooms and restaurants, the grounds provide lots of opportunities for photos and the rooms are special . A wedding of 60-80 people would be perfect here and we could not recommend them highly enough

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank paulc673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

We were lucky to be able to book a weekend away without the kids, so searched for a gastro pub that didnt mind dogs, and the first one that i saw was the crab and boar in newbury. We were made to feel very welcome, the dog was given treats when we arrived so she was happy too. The staff were lovely, food was fantastic, room was really comfy. We will be back, and will book one of the rooms with the hot tubs next time.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews