We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
109
92
59
31
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
109
92
59
31
39
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a trip around Scotland.
The hotel is very tired looking.
Our room was freezing cold when we came in and there were cobwebs and dead insects in the corners of the ceiling..so much for extra cleaning due to covid!
Breakfast wasn't great either. Sausages were very cheap, OJ was weak and eggs were swimming in water which made the whole plate wet.
The staff seemed lac lustre and uninterested in their guests..even though there were only 2 rooms booked the night we stayed!
Water is brown, due to "tanning" and the pressure is awful, the hotels response was "wait 30 minutes for others to finish" surely its time to come into the 21st century and fix these issues..?
Tv was unwatchable due to poor signal.
Certainly isn't worth the money they charge. If the staff weren't so unapproachable and cold, we would have certainly raised these points, but any conversation seemed a drain on their existence.
Hotel was also closed over the pandemic last year, so it would have been nice for some renovations to have been done to make the place more inviting.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sazikinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

We have passed this hotel a number of times and always thought it looked like a lovely location so we we’re excited to stay at this historic inn. Sadly we were disappointed when we finally arranged a visit. We have never felt more unwelcome at a hotel in all our travels. The hotel itself was nice enough, a little dated but ok. The hotel has like many places been closed for most of the past year and is obviously trying to recoup some money but we felt the room rate was far too high for the standard of service we received and particularly high for food and drink. The quirky old issues with water and wonky rooms could be easily overlooked if we had received a warm welcome but the abrupt and sloppy service was hard to forgive.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank murdagmacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2020

This is a lovely historical inn in a world class situation. There is everything to be excited about in a visit to Loch Maree Hotel.
However, Moountain days and long journeys don't fit in with the way Loch Maree Hotel Operates.
Expect
rigid and unrealistic dining room hours.
a lack of community and amenity, for example it wasn't posible to get served with a wee dram.
and, a room that may be a bit wonky (baths that don't drain properly, taps that spin alarmingly on their fitting and a shower that will scald/freeze.)
I don't mind too much if fixtures and fittings are slightly off in remote settings, I really mind not feeling comfortable or welcomed or looked after.
I wouldn't reccomend a stay here.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2019 via mobile

Caroline and Raymond are the two hardworking owners of the Loch Maree Hotel. From early in the morning to late in the evening they are to be seen welcoming and farewelling guests, cooking and serving meals and so much more. They were both so warm and welcoming and did all they could to make it a good stay for us ( a group of photographers). The photos on the wall show smiling Billy Connolly who stayed there 5 nights while making a film.

Like so many hotels it needed some updating and refurbishing but I liked it’s faded charm. Better than soulless modern blocks. The WiFi isn’t great as like many places it’s dependent on satellite. The location is lovely by the loch and we happily watched deer outside. It’s quiet so sleeping at night is easy. Breakfasts are plentiful and all freshly cooked. There is a bar to relax in after a long day out taking photos and simple tasty food for dinner.

So I liked it. A friendly relaxed atmosphere with warm accommodating hosts. We were sad to leave!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SusiP916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2019

Nice hotel with gorgeous view on Loch Maree, a little bit dated, but comforatble and clean though. Maybe would need some refreshing; But a convenient place to spend the night on a tour after the Bealach Na BA.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakura-2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews