We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, Amazing and Just Amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
bedroom 2 hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
bedroom 2
hall
hall
kerosene fan
drawing room
driveway
verandah
verandah
silver cup of coffee
south indian dosa
bathroom 2
bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Kushalnagar, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sumedha G
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing, Amazing and Just Amazing”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Came across this place by chance while browsing for lodging options on tripadvisor. Since it was a long weekend 12-15th August most of the hotels were sold out. After reading few reviews and looking at the pictures, we zeroed in on this property and I am glad we did. We were two couples.This is a home away from home and if given a chance (I would say leaves from Office :) I can even stay here for a month. The place is very near to Dubare Elephant camp. The rooms are big (huge, apt for 3-4 people) and have a rustic touch to them. They have a lovely porch where you can just sit and laze around in the evening or during the day. The USP of this place is the hospitality of the owners and undoubtedly the FOOD. Aunty cooks amazing Coorgi cuisine and we ended up overeating on all 3 nights of our stay. Since during the day we were out sightseeing we only had dinner and breakfast here. Breakfast is basic but delicious and ample quantity, dinner of course is a feast. 3-4 Veg curries, Dal, Rice/Biryani, Friend papad/appalams, Roti/Akki Roti, Chicken/Pork/Mutton in single or combination. I am writing about Pork Curry on special request from my Husband (:)). He devoured every bit of it and had to be reminded that there are others as well who need to eat..lol...They even fulfilled my friends request about having mutton by preparing Mutton Biryani. One the day we were checking out they went out of the way to offer pork curry to my husband to go along with Rice balls and chickpea curry for breakfast. Honestly speaking, they didn't have to, but they did and that talks volume about hospitality.I can go on and on writing about the food. How we so wished if they could serve snacks as well in the evening, however we understand that its not easy to lay a feast for dinner every night almost single handedly and then entertain snacks request. A few tips- the place is available on GPS and easy to locate. Inform them in advance if you want to have food (lunch/dinner) at the homestay.Please carry cash to settle your food bills since there are no ATMs near by (although they were kind enough to even tell us we could transfer our small remaining balance through net banking or give it through cheque). Overall an amazing and de-stressing stay and would come back again. HIGHLY recommended to all who want to have a home away from home vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hospitality of the owners and the FOOD
Liked least: nothing to mention.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thank you so much Sumedha!!
We are truly overwhelmed by your wonderful words!
Do visit us again soon!
Love.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manish_ve...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thank you JP Sir, Maam and Jyoti for the wonderful experience.It felt like home from the sec we arrived at your property.

Loved every bit from the lush green surroundings, rooms and the food which was outstanding .

Regards
Manish

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ariba T
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

IVisited Souland Estates with Husband , son and Inlaws. I must say it was a very comfortable experience. This homestay has all the facilities like warm water, Wifi etc. Aunty (owner) served us homecooked breakfast and food and was very kind to on our tea/ coffee demands as well) whuch was not even included in the package). They cooked food with herbs from their own garden and its a luxury for people like us who come from the city.
best part is that I was provided with food specially for my 4 year old son. Aunty even made special biryani for my baby without spices. Amazing experience i must say.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the way we were treated by the owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thank you so much! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you will visit us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sankalpv2...
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place with lot of warmth and hospitality”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I visited Coorg in May'16 along with young kids and my parents. We found Souland Estates from one of the travel portals, where it was listed one of the best homestays in Coorg. I interacted over email with the owner, Jyothi and confirmed the booking. I must say that the place was exactly as I had expected-very homely with lot of warmth and hospitality. The owners, Mr. Jayaprakash, his wife and daughters-Jyothsna and Jyothi took special care of us and make sure that our stay was very comfortable. To top it all, aunty went out of her way to make sure that we were served authentic Coorg cuisine with a lot of variety. Every day dinner and breakfast were different and finger licking good. Jyothi and Mr. Jayaprakash were always around to help and provide inputs. We enjoyed the long conversations we had with the family over dinner and breakfast. The kids also enjoyed playing with Tejas, the young niece of Jyothi. This is the first time we were trying out a homestay and my experience was amazing. The place is very close to the Dubare Elephant camp and water rafting and very close to a lot of good eating joints in Kushalnagar. The coffee estate is very beautiful and with lot of greenery. You would enjoy staying in the middle of nature, which is precisely what we were looking for. I would highly recommend this place in Coorg-it is a home away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the food and the hospitality
Liked least: The power disconnections in the night, but that is a problem all over Coorg
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Dear Sankalp!
We loved having you over and enjoyed hosting you and your family. You were the perfect guests, kind and understanding and very accommodative.
We hope you all had a very safe journey back and hope you will visit us again sometime!
P.s. it seems Tejas was asking for Adi a lot today :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vighnu
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent memories with scope for improvement”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Positives:

Google maps led us right to the door of the remote and private residence of Mr. Jayaprakash.
His family is sophisticated and well read and we received a warm and cordial reception and a similar farewell.
The artistically decorated home feels like it is a setting from a 70s show with large bathrooms and bedrooms.
We were treated to an enlightening experience via guided tours in the family's spice gardens and coffee plantations.
It was interesting to see how coffee beans look like on the plants and that white and black peppers can both be gotten from the same plant. The icing on the cake is the food.
It was a journey through gastronomic paradise and our entire family immensely enjoyed the 'Malabar mutton biryani' and the fish cutlets cooked in a style local to Coorg. Coffee and Tea
is offered plenty of times through the day and is tasty.

Negatives + Positive criticizm:

Hospitality can be improved -
Food: Attention in the dining room can be improved. We felt uncomfortable having to ask for cutlery like spoons and second servings for multiple items.
Maintenance: The rooms were not visited upon. It would be nice if they did minimum housekeeping. The blankets are very dusty and could use dry cleaning. The library room is very musty and can easily kick up dust allergies.
Bathrooms: Soaps and towels were not present and had to be asked.

Hot Water is a MUST - An excuse of a small capacity solar water heater (40 gallon) will not cut it for a group of 10 occupants. There should be alternate arrangements
if Souland wishes to expand operations beyond 5 guests per night. This is definitely not acceptable if each guest is charged a rent equivalent to a three star hotel.

Guest Perks are minimal - We were supposed to be intimated that the driver's food is chargeable and priced similarly to the guests - Rs. 1000 for breakfast + dinner for two nights.
Being located in a farmland, arranging for a bonfire should be easy. Charging Rs. 800 is a little steep.

Complimentary breakfast - food choices are limited (we only had Idli for the morning). Fruits also can be offered.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Mr. Vighnu
Thank you for your feedback. We really enjoyed hosting you and your family and were deeply overwhelmed by all the appreciation you showered on us before you left.
We are of course, a little surprised at the positive and negative criticism you posted because it does not reflect your actions or the kind words you and your family expressed during your stay here, and also at farewell.
The rooms are cleaned and fresh linen provided every three days. Since you stayed for only two days, the change of linen was unwarranted. Besides, since you were away from morning till evening it would be a breach of your privacy if we entered without your permission. If you were that uncomfortable, you could have just told us and we would have done everything possible to make sure you were comfortable.
In the dining room, the hosts took turns helping and serving and we are a little surprised that you felt the attention was "inadequate". Again, you need not have felt uncomfortable asking for extra cutlery, and we do not think there was even one occasion where you did not get what you asked for. Please remember that this is a homestay and not a hotel. You could treat it just like your own home.
It is unfortunate that you did not notice that soaps and shampoo were stocked in the bathroom. Again, your demand for extra soaps and towels were also met promptly.
We have a solar water heater of 200 litres with a back up of 100 litres for cloudy days. All 300 litres were provided to you for your comfort.
The driver was charged for two dinners, two breakfasts and our bathroom facilities which included hot water. If you had an issue with the billing, you could have just asked us for clarification, rather than assuming.
Being located in a farmland does not negate the fact that sourcing firewood and labor to arrange the bonfire is an expensive affair. It CANNOT be offered as complimentary. We informed you about the rates and confirmed with you multiple times before arranging. Again, we wish you expressed your reservations.
Breakfast is complimentary and we serve authentic Coorg and South Indian style cuisine. If you were expecting a buffet, as you would in a resort, or a hotel, then you were mistaken, because this is a homestay, and as is common practice in most homes across the country, breakfast is usually one item. Besides, we also prepared Akki Roti AND Kadumbutt on the second day, as per a special request by you and your family.
Please remember that Souland Estates Homestay is NOT a hotel. We aim to give you a homely experience. If you were looking for a hotel experience then there were several other options in and around Coorg, which you could try the next time you visit.
The criticism from your end has been taken sportingly by us. We wish you had informed us about your issues as and when they cropped up rather than let it simmer within you. And the surprise is absolutely genuine, as we had not an inkling of doubt that you were in any way disappointed at all. At least that is not the way you expressed your absolute delight at the end of the stay.
We hope that the exotic plants and orchids that we gave you as complimentary gifts as a token of goodwill are faring well in your gardens.
Thanks and regards
Souland Estates Homestay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing