We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 - 00:00
Review Highlights
Good vibes

Great place to hang out,good food,awesome vibes.for your private functions they got you covered... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2020
the-ultimate_guest
,
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Party Hearty

Visited Chicago's Piano Bar to celebrate friends post wedding. There were a lot of us and we were... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2018
ANTHEASMITH
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
Read all 40 reviews
  
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
7
20
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
20
10
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Visited Chicago's Piano Bar to celebrate friends post wedding. There were a lot of us and we were served snack platters. The atmosphere is amazing, it is such a vibey happy place, the live music was incredible and we spent most of the night dancing and singing. The service was great and quick, despite the amount of people. I can't really comment on the food as we only had snacks which were very tasty and hot out of the oven.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank ANTHEASMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy H, Owner at Chicago's Piano Bar, Randpark Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you so so much for your support and fabulous review. We would love you to come back and try out our delicious and affordable meals. 🙏

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We went here for a drink after dinner and to listen to the Band. It was a wonderful evening of dancing and listening to the music. The wait staff are attentive and helpful. The music was 70's and 80's, so not everyone's cup of tea, but it was ours. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank Lez M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy H, Owner at Chicago's Piano Bar, Randpark Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you so much for your support and lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the vibe, next time try our delicious flame grilled steaks 😃

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Went to Chicago's piano bar for New Years Party, being abit over crowded had a good atmosphere. With the arrival of food which could get at any type of pub, maybe I expected something more. The building and décor were very dated and in need of some TLC. Also felt very young compared to the other patrons who definitely over 50's.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Gerrarddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kathy H, Owner at Chicago's Piano Bar, Randpark Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi Gerard thank you for joining us on New Years Eve. The evening was a set menu offering prawns, fillet steak and a trio of desserts, not quite pub food and we do specialize in flame grilled steaks. Had a giggle about the decor been dated, the theme is 1920 so hopefully that did come across. We cater to a mature crowd and often have birthdays right up to 70ths, glad your still young and hopefully we be around for many years so that you too can celebrate with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

This is ridiculous. I’ve never been to a place that is so expensive. It’s absurd. R26 for a bottle of water is day light robbery!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank ClydeB153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GoldcoastKat, Owner at Chicago's Piano Bar, Randpark Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Clyde, thank you for trying out our venue, Chicagos Piano Bar. We offer top class live entertainment as well as deejay entertainment and do not charge an entry fee, unlike most entertainment venues. In order to offer the best entertainment, the cost is incorporated into our prices. That said, we are still much cheaper than most venues. During the times when no entertainment is on, we offer a 40% discount on all drinks, both alcohol and coldrinks, a bottle of water would then cost R15.60.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Music here is always of a good quality, nice variation, some top bands and artists. Most recently we saw Mark Beling (very good) and Cindy Alter with a 5 piece band (very good) . However, the food has got a bit pricy - 45 rand for a small plate of chips with cheese sauce (fair taste) and 149 rand for beef trinchado, not nice, used to be the best in town.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KylieJayde, Owner at Chicago's Piano Bar, Randpark Ridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hi Keith, thank you for taking the time to review our venue and I am glad you enjoyed the entertainment. We don't charge entrance fee and have LIVE entertainment Tuesday to Sunday, therefore our prices are Incorporated into our costs. I will review the Trinchado with the kitchen - thank you and all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews