We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location for children. Luxury in every...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yellowcraig House

Front view of Yellowcraig House...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Yellowcraig House...
...where a warm welcome awaits you. Large family kitchen - centre of the House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front view of Yellowcraig House...
...where a warm welcome awaits you.
Large family kitchen - centre of the House
Dining table for 12 - the kitchen island through the alcove seats 8 more
Large lounge with flat screen TV, Sky and DVD
Master Bedroom with vaulted ceilings
Bedrooms with seaside feel
Master Bedroom - Romeo and Juliet balcony overlooking the garden
Luxury bathrooms finished with Travertine
Anyone for a barbecue?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Dirleton, North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Br0ggie
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for children. Luxury in every detail.”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed for four nights over New Year 2012 with our three children, one of whom is in a wheelchair. The house was totally accessible for him. The direct exit from the kitchen area to the flat outside garden was excellent. As was the short walk along a tow path to the superb outdoor park with an excellent variety of climbing apparatus and swings. On to the beach which again was accessible with the wheelchair. Rock pools, flat sands, dunes. Excellent fun for the children (4 and 6yrs) Absolutely brilliant outdoor entertainment.
In the house the only thing the kitchen lacked was a tin opener. If that is my only criticism, then that cant be bad. The owners were on hand, but not in our face. Very nice people with a beautiful home which is five star, but full of family charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside area
Liked least: No can opener!!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellabella...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY,BRILLIANT NEW YEAR!”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Yellowcraig House for 4 nights over New Year and had a lovely time.Before our stay had even began the owners,Eric & Heather couldn't do enough for us. As we had mixed ages (4-70!!) staying over the weekend,it was suggested that a visit prior to us staying would be advantageous.Heather showed us around and discussed sleeping arrangements and was very helpful in organising the slight re-shuffle that was required to accommodate our guests.She was also happy to be available for our food delivery order & put it away too!!! All things that show a personal touch that makes the difference from a good experience to a great one!
The house itself is lovely,we felt we had enough space & the large safe garden was a real bonus for the children in our group.So too was the short walk to yellowcraigs beach and the great children's park only 5 minutes away.
We all thoroughally enjoyed our stay at Yellowcraig House & will definately be back again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fabulous facilities provided
Liked least: struggled with our mobile phone reception
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LorsDumfr...
Dumfries
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 18 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Fifteen of us stayed here for my dads 80th birthday and have to say it was special in every way. The owners Eric and Heather went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one!
What an amazing house... We all went round saying wow! Everything was of a very quality. On our first night Eric and Heather had made a delicious slow cooker supper for us to enjoy as we all arrived at different times - delicious!!
On our second night they came and made us a truly amazing feast of delicious restaurant quality food! Also we had organised with Eric for him to host a whiskey tasting event for my dads birthday and this was a real entertainment!! Everyone and I mean everyone thoroughly enjoyed it!!
Not only is the house amazing but its right on the doorstep of the beautiful Yellowcraig beach! We were lucky and the weather was amazing for the time of year and we spent time at the beach or in the back garden relaxing on the super comfy garden chairs around the fire pit having a glass of wine or two!!
I will finish this by saying we are already looking for an excuse to return to this fantastic house!
Oh and how could I nearly forget to mention - Heather had made a delicious carrot cake with a label saying eat me please on it on the kitchen island - didn't need to be asked twice and I have to say it didn't last long as it was delicious! I could go on and on...
Oh and if you read this Eric and Heather - the chicken soup recipe would be much appreciated!! Another wow!!! Best I've tasted by a long shot!
Thank you for making dads birthday so memorable! Hope to see you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doonhamer...
Dumfries, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accommodation for Larger Groups”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Spent a long weekend at Yellowcraig House for my Dad's 80th birthday. 10 adults, 1 teenager and 4 kids accommodated in a luxurious and spacious property. Location is excellent, nestled between the pretty villages of Dirleton and Gullane and a short strole from the breathtaking Yellowcraig Beach. The property itself is finished and decorated to a very high standard.

We had arranged for the owners Eric and Heather to cater for us. A slow cooker supper on the night of our arrival which was delicious and dinner on the second night which was on a par with good quality restaurant fare and far more plentiful. The food, presentation and low key manner in which it was prepared and served are skills Eric and Heather should be very proud of.

The men in the company had arranged for Eric to deliver a Whisky tasting session in advance of dinner on the second night and this proved to be a very entertaining 45 minutes or so during which 5 Scotsmen who reckoned they knew a thing or two about their national tipple struggled in the good natured but competitive blind tasting tests. The ladies who were looking on took the opportunity to join in and probably scored higher than the men. All in all a great way to start an evening.

We all had a truly memorable weekend and it would be remiss of me not to make mention of the additional efforts Eric went to to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

These included the moving of a bed between rooms so we could get our sleeping arrangements sorted (essentially to provide the teenage member of our party her own space!) and the reception of a supermarket delivery (all neatly stored away) in advance of our arrival.

Nothing was too much trouble and the communication in the process of booking and finalising the details was also first class.

Eric and Heather are fantastic hosts and Yellowcraig House is a fantastic place to stay.

We are all now wondering what excuse we could use to arrange a return and I'm sure it won't be long before we do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of accommodation and dinner on 2nd night was a highlight.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing