We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Southerness, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helencg77
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning cottage ”
Reviewed 21 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Fabulous, clean and comfortable cottage with everything you could possibly need. The cottage itself is literally on the beach front so the views were absolutely stunning from morning til sunset. It’s location was ideal as with two boys (age12 & 9) they could safely play out on the beach. We spent most of our time in the cottage and on the beach (yes, even in February) but there isn’t really much else in southerness-not even a shop/pub. We drove to the nearby steamboat inn for a meal, that was excellent. All-in-all a very relaxing holiday which we’d highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
745claire...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect ”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here last year and are going back in a few weeks. The cottage is perfect and the location is wondrous! As a family we have had 14 fabulous holidays on the beach at Southerness and can’t wait to return to this fabulous and extremely well equipped cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the-jeccl...
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another fab holiday at fab Spindrift”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is our second trip to Spindrift. We’ve had a fantastic much needed family holiday. The house is just perfect, everything you need catered for. Our last evening we sat on the patio watching the sun go down, absolute bliss. Recommended the 4.5 mile walk on the beach to the Steamboat Inn at Carsethorn, lovely staff and great food. Mabie Forest worth visiting, some great walks there for all levels of walkers. £3:00 parking all day, clean and well kept paths. Thank you Wilma we will be back for the third time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffy1960
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage!”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic cottage! It felt more like a hotel, as the owners have pretty much thought of everything to make you feel comfortable. When we got there the owner was still there, despite us being quite late due to the length of our journey, but she was more than happy to show us round. Our first words were 'WOW'! The location is amazingly unique. The view across the Solway Firth is incredible! I could sit all day and watch the changing hues of the sky and the birds. We saw otters on the beach most evenings. The cottage is well equipped with a brilliant fridge/freezer, good washing machine and dryer, full-size dishwasher and very good oven and hob. There were plenty of cups, plates and utensils. The en-suites in two of the bedrooms are really spacious with very large showers and the same goes for the separate bathroom. Huge bath that seemed more like a hot tub! The beds were comfy, though we have back problems and found them a tad too soft. Had a bit of backache, but could live with it. Southerness itself is an odd mix of old and new. Not really much there, though there is a mini-mart and a few amusements that are linked to the caravan park. We never used the Paul Jones Hotel to eat at, choosing the nearby Steamboat Inn at Caresthorne, which is fantastic! Once tried, you have to go back! Dumfries is about 16 miles away and is a good place to shop. Lots of interesting places in the area to visit too. In all Spindrift proved a very comfortable base for our holiday. We would certainly rent it again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mesmerising views, top notch 5* accommodation, we'll be back!”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This has been a fantastic holiday...... The owners have created a wonderful property full of all the mod cons you could wish for to make your stay as comfortable and user friendly as possible. The views from the main open plan living area are just sublime, the sunrises and sunsets are awesome (yes.....even in February!). We only had 2 cloudy days out of 7 and had wall to wall sunshine on the day we drove out to the Mull of Galloway (well worth the 2 hour drive) and could see right out to the Isle of Man and Ireland.
Having the Paul Jones Hotel a 2 minute walk away and The Steamboat Inn about 10 minutes by car is very handy too, if you can resist making your own food in the well equipped kitchen.
You will not be disappointed if you choose to holiday in Spindrift.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in front of the wood burning stove looking out over the Solway Firth
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thank you for sharing your lovely review, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay at Spindrift. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the owners who have obviously done a fabulous job with the place! Being able to enjoy those incredible views from the comfort of the property sounds like bliss to us too! We certainly hope that you return again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing