We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Skeena Lodge secure parking for two/three vehicles.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skeena Lodge secure parking for two/three vehicles.
Rear sunroom has a perfect view across the Solway Firth and onwards to the Lake District. Bright and with plenty of room the dining area is perfect for that special holiday meal.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Skeena Lodge secure parking for two/three vehicles.
Rear sunroom has a perfect view across the Solway Firth and onwards to the Lake District.
Bright and with plenty of room the dining area is perfect for that special holiday meal.
The house bathroom is spacious, with shower seat and handrail.
Perfect for al fresco dining in the warm Summer evenings.
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, double electric oven and separate hob.
Double bedroom with wardrobe and access to the family bathroom.
Open plan lounge with comfortable seating. Flat screen TV, Blueray DVD player and stereo.
View to Powillimount from the rear garden and back windows.
View of Criffel hill to the side of Skeena.
Two single beds in the second bedroom.
Fabulous views of the Solway Firth and Criffel hill from the sun room to the rear of Skeen Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Southerness, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
heatherth...
Ayr
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Beautiful well catered for lodge. We arrive in February and although weather not great we all settled in fine. I was with my husband two teenagers and my son who is 23. We knew technology would not be the best and there would be no sky. However we managed just fine. First time in a long time we played games and television was very rarely on playing music instead, Yvonne the lodge is well equipped and to have more or less 5 adults in the lodge we were not on top of one another. Not for getting our two little dogs. Spent mornings walking along the beach well wrapped up but invigorating. We would like to thank you for the shortbread wine and dog treats. Would recommend this retreat to anyone. Would certainly like to come back if you will have used. But just myself hubby and dogs.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Invigorating walks on Gillfoot Beach heading towards Powillimount to the left and Southerness lighthouse to the right are one of the attractions of a Winter stay at Skeena Lodge. February weather can be unpredictable on the Solway coast. Our lodge provides TV and Blueray DVD player, CD/Radio, and free WiFi and lots of drying areas for wet jackets and dog waterproofs! We add games to our cupboard quite frequently and it is nice to know that they have had some good use Heather and family.! Glad you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise D
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing 1st Class Lodge”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This lodge is 1st class. Spacious,Cosy, so comfortable and immaculate inside and out. The only negative is the fact the online photos don't do it justice. If you want to visit Southerness look no further as I don't think you would find any better.The garden was perfect for our pet beagle, as its enclosed. A real holiday for him as he's always attached to a leash. Plenty of attractions near by to visit. The Steamboat Inn which is just 3 miles away, serves amazing food and pets are welcome.
Thanks Yvonne for the welcome pack, another touch of class and very much appreciated.
We hope to revisit again sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
Thank you Louise for your lovely comments about Skeena Lodge and thank you for taking care of it for us throughout your stay. I am sure your little beagle dog enjoyed our fully fenced in garden and it provided a little bit of freedom to burn of all that 'beagle' energy they seem to have. You would be most welcome anytime, and I hope that the weather next time may be a little more favourable. Such a pity we can't arrange that for our guests too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gswannack
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect retreat”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My husband and I arrived at the lodge on Monday 21st November and spent 3 nights 4 days. We were very impressed to find how clean and well equipped it was, we both felt very comfortable and relaxed from the word go. The walks along the beach certainly blew the cobwebs away, we wanted a getaway to somewhere peaceful and tranquill to charge our battery's and this beautiful lodge in southerness certainly did that!!
Thank you Yvonne we had a wonderful stay
Gloria and Peter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The peace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
Thank you Gloria and Peter for the positive comments about your stay at Skeena Lodge. We do endeavour to provide all those little extras that we have found useful ourselves when staying away. The walks along the beach can be very bracing during the Winter months and it is always good to remember to pack gloves, hat, thick socks, wellies and some waterproofs. The lodge has plenty of drying space so no real problem with the weather when prepared.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Marie...
2 reviews
“Girls break”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Very enjoyable break at lodge which had everything you could need. Minutes from beach. Lovely welcome pack of wine, milk and shortbread. We will be back!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Skeena Lodge is very adaptable to fit in with many of our guests needs. Glad that you all had a relaxing time and the weather was mainly favourable. Although in the Autumn it gets dark early, the lodge is very well equipped with Blue Ray DVD player and a selection of DVDs, flat screen TV, stereo music CD player and Wifi to keep you entertained whilst keeping warm and cosy on some of those windy, wet evenings that can sometimes arrive in November. We shall look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Glad that you had a lovely break staying in our wee lodge. Dogs are always welcome at Skeena Lodge, with a fully fenced in garden and only a minute from the beach it is ideal. Much of Gillfoot Bay beach is firm sand extending for a return walk of 2 miles to Powillimount, easily seen from the rear windows of the lodge. Summer sunrise along this walk is a particular favourite of ours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$85
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing