We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
303
74
30
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
74
30
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews solway firth lamb superb food bay view dinner menu single track road peace and quiet an excellent hotel high standard threave gardens public rooms castle douglas other guests wine list off the beaten track three nights the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We called in here for a drink as it advertised as being open to non-residents. It is off the beaten track but well worth the drive. The hotel is immaculately clean with beautiful interior decor. The bar area is very inviting and leads into a conservatory with commanding views over the bay and across to the island.
The bar staff were friendly and inviting and the restaurant menu is very tempting.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

we had a wonderful 2 day break and it really exceeded our expectations. The food was brilliant and definitely a highlight for us: fresh produce, imaginatively cooked and presented and plenty of it too. We are now self catering in scotland and missing the lush food - well done chef

Stayed: August 2018
Thank polly528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

I have been going to this hotel for decades. Lovely coastal location right on the shore of The Solway Firth. Fantastic Sunday lunches always have variety of fresh quality produce. Great trained and supervised staff.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Donaldosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Amazing house, fun couple and excellent service, good food, worthwhile experience and competitive prices. Excellent gardens and grounds, also evening meal options, had burgers, good gin selection. Good for family or couples.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank James P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We booked this hotel again after more than a 30 year gap. We were then in our early 20s and now we are in our late 50s early 60s. We loved it all those years ago and still loved it this time. There is something to be said for old fashioned service whether you are young or old and after several very difficult years we decided to treat ourselves - and what a treat it was. I endorse all the other positive reviews on food,ambiance,setting and service. I would not have brought my young children here for no other reason than its just not the place, although I know they would be welcomed. We found other guests friendly and ready to chat and staff were unobtrusive but extremely hard working. We will go back and would 100% recommend.We will not leave it 30 something years !!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a bay view room
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Foodiemum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews