We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy and comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindaandi...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is about a 5 minute walk from the harbour close to shops so is ideally situated. There are lots of things to see and do around Amble and the surrounding area. The house was cozy - although it was June we had a cold week so needed the heating on, which warmed the house. The bed was very comfortable with a good mattress. It was very clean and had everything we needed. It's in a quiet neighbourhood and the owners are very welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found plenty to do despite less than favourable weather. Glad you found the house comfortable. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oudi14
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A very satisfying week”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The rental is right in the middle of town, on a quiet residential street. Three bedrooms, one full bathroom upstairs, everything else downstairs, a small backyard, the place was very comfortable for the 3 of us.
John and Irene, the owners, met us, and showed us how everything worked. They left us a bottle of wine, some chocolates, and a jar of John's home made jam as a welcoming gift. And, after a 5 hour drive up from London, the wine was very welcome indeed!
There were no maintenance issues of any consequence, we enjoyed the week exploring the northern part of Northumberland, and the town of Amble, and were sorry that the week went by so quickly. I would definitely recommend this place for someone visiting the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was really nice to be able to offer hospitality to guests who travelled from the Bahamas to this beautiful part of England. We hope you are able to return in the future. Our best wishes to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne k
1 review
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

John and Irene are very welcoming hosts. Everything you could want to make your stay comfortable is in the well furnished, clean, spacious house, plus some lovely extras to welcome a weary visitor from Australia, like chocolates and homemade jam. The house is well located in a quiet street. Made my visit to family and friends such an enjoyable experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you Anne for your favourable review. We are pleased that we were able in some small part to make your stay so enjoyable. It was lovely to meet you, and your sister from Warkworth. We send our kindest regards to you in Western Australia and hope you will be able to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richjwhit
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb stay!”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A great stay. So much bigger than expected and brilliant facilities. Washing machine / freezer etc. We had two small children so benefited from the large living room and kitchen. Only 2 mins from supermarket and 5 mins from Harbour.

Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It was really nice to have you stay at Sunflower House. Hope to see you again.
John and Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edd35
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great base for Northumberland”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked very late and found this property. It had good reviews so we were looking forward to it. We weren't disappointed! John and Irene met us at the house and we immediately received a very warm welcome. The house felt very much like a home with three good size bedrooms and a big bathroom. This was important with our three children. It was well decorated, very clean and tidy and good heating as the nights were getting colder! John gave us a good brief on the local amenities and local places of interest. The area gave us a brilliant base to visit the area with trips to Lindisfarne, various castles and a really nice train trip to Edinburgh. We had a great time and our only disappointment was that a week was not long enough!

I would recommend this holiday home to anyone visiting Northumberland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you for this positive review. We are really happy that you had an enjoyable stay. It was lovely to meet you and your children. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing