We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, comfortable and very well equipped...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amble, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
onlyjonel...
East Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable and very well equipped property in quiet location”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lilian was waiting to greet us when we arrived and made us very welcome. The property is in a quiet area on the edge of town, is very well equipped, warm and comfortable and has a lovely, spacious garden and a little conservatory for warmer days. There is a wealth of information about the area in the sitting room. Amble is well placed for using as a base to explore Northumberland and we enjoyed visits to Seahouses, Bamburgh, Alnmouth, Alnwick, Berwick upon Tweed, Hexham, Housesteads, Durham and Sunderland (to visit family and friends), also Amble itself. There is a good variety of shops in Amble on Queen Street and on the harbour. For eating out we would recommend The Wellwood and also the fish and chips from down by the harbour are superb. What did we like best? My husband's answer would be The Olde Ship at Seahouses, a beautiful old building, which served lovely food and sold McEwan's Scotch Ale - a Mackem, he has been deprived of it for a long time as it is not available in Lincolnshire and surrounding counties. Seriously though, the beautiful coast and lovely castles. Least favourite, my answer would be lack of both wifi and signal on my mobile in a great many areas. Thankfully the friends who travelled with us were with a different supplier so we were not completely without a working phone in case of emergencies. I would recommend Lilian's retreat wholeheartedly for a couple, friends or a small family and we hope to return in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsgskg
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Another lovely welcome to a great holiday stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely clean house, near to all amenities. A visit to Alnwick Castle is a must. The best free attraction we found was the Chain Honey Bridge Farm where you were able to walk to Scotland from. The Wellwood in Amble was good for Sunday Carvery but the evening meals were not as good or such good value as 2015. Great beaches for our grand-daughter who wants to come back again in 2017

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet of the area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
disappoin...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet area and well kept house and garden”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Owner there to welcome us and let us in early. Gave a quick resume of various things we needed to know and left us in peace. The house and garden were very clean and tidy. It was very well equiped, but did need larger pans when cooking for 5! The estate was very quiet and people were friendly. It was at the top of the town but only 10 mins walk down a shortcut through the estate. Amble is a lovely village with lots of very good independent shops and a Sunday market (somewhat depleted in winter). There have been new developments since we were last there and they have improved the village around the harbour area. There are good road links to larger towns and seaside villages and much to see. A good area for the coastal path route and very clean beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: the beds
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay, we are so pleased that you had a good holiday. It is great to hear that the area has improved since your last visit and it sounds as if you did plenty of exploring - sounds like our idea of heaven! We hope that you book with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annglen1
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cosy comfortable house, with lovely garden”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our second visit to Lillian's and it did not disappoint. Landlady Lillian makes you so welcome you never want to leave ! The house has everything you need and is in such a quiet area yet a 10 minute walk takes you into town. Nice restaurants and take-aways to enjoy in Amble make the stay even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Meeting the Landlady again
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$62
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing