We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Home away from Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Honeysuckle Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Honeysuckle Cottage
Sit  by a real log burner, in a cosy lounge Kitchen and Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Welcome to Honeysuckle Cottage
Sit  by a real log burner, in a cosy lounge
Kitchen and Dining Area
Lounge and sitting room
Lounge and sitting room
King Size Bed, snug and cosy
Single bedroom, clean and contemporary
Rear patio garden, a real sun trap, ideal for barbeque's
Canal walks 2 minutes from the door step
Canal walks 2 minutes from the door step
Canal walks 2 minutes from the door step
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Whaley Bridge, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek B
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our Home away from Home”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked a week in Honeysuckle Cottage as a birthday present for my wife and timed it to coincide with our wedding anniversary. Neither of us had been to the Peak District before and so we were depending almost entirely on the owner's description and guests' reviews.

Whaley Bridge itself is a nice little town at the heart of a network of canals, towpath walks and cycle routes. The locals are friendly and helpful and there is a good choice of pubs, takeaways and restaurants within easy walking distance of the cottage. This, in turn, sits right at the heart of Whaley Bridge. The head of the canal is a stone's throw away, the river Goyt even nearer.

It is an old, three-storey building but fully refurbished, well-equipped and comfortable. The kitchen opens onto a pretty courtyard with a table and chairs, which the weather was kind enough to allow us to use most mornings.

We arrived to find a (very) welcome gift of wine and chocolate. After a long drive, the complimentary tea and coffee went down equally well!

As the week went on, we found we were wonderfully well situated for access to various attractions, including the Blue John cavern at Castleton, the plague village of Eyam and the very genteel spa town of Buxton.

Honeysuckle Cottage isn't the Ritz and it doesn't pretend to be but it was our home away from home. We loved our stay there and would recommend it to anyone who can manage two flights of stairs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Hi Derek

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage.

Best Regards
John & Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevebT25...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“bloody great”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

stayed with daughter,great little cottage,handy to shops,bus,train,chippy,whaley bridge bakery&great coffee,handy to the pubs,great walking distance to bugsworth basin,tescos just 10mins walk down along the canal,only draw back is the stairs but its only a minor draw back,keeps you fit,good little co.op 10mins walk in whaley,open till 10pm,same with tescos open till 10pm.we stayed 3weeks the cottage was great,everything you need is in it.would stay again no problems.
steve&von perth australie.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale0834
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage in a convenient location”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for just a short break at the cottage and it provided everything we needed for our weekend. The owners were very helpful - doggy towel and biscuits very kind.
Have to be very honest and say the only downside for us was the stairs - the open treads were slightly scary - and would sadly prevent us from booking again.
Otherwise, great location and very nice, welcoming little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Scary open tread staircases/ smell from the rear of the fish and chip shop
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cat R
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a lovely little house on three levels. It was extremely conveniently located for the train station, the town as well as walking, especially along the scenic canal. I enjoyed bakewell tarts from the Bridge bakehouse and the off licence is well stocked.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio W
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very sweet place to stay, would come again.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really lovely little place, very enjoyable holiday, no negatives other than that we struggled with the heating but the fire compensated for that issue, so lovely to have that! Everything was clean and well presented - thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner and the lovely painting hanging behind the sofa!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing