We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

The Clachan Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We loved the Clachan Inn. Excellent ambience, delicious food, friendly staff. An excellent place to eat. Would highly recommend but book a table as it gets very busy.

Thank MandyPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Husband ordered Pigeon for starters, He had Pork Belly with mash,creamed hispi&bacon ,apple purée,tender stem,crackling and black pudding. I ordered Ballards 8oz flat iron steak with hand fries,cabbage&whipped garlic butter. For dessert my Hubby has Baileys ice cream whilst I indulged in Caramelised poached pineapple in pink pepper caramel sauce,honeycomb and coconut&lime panda cotta. All I can say is WOW , absolutely out of this world and we have eaten in a few mitchellen star restaurants but this litttle public house in the middle of nowhere is outstanding quality so it’s a MUST to book a table here as you won’t be disappointed. You need to book as it does get busy and they do hold the odd function but worth every penny

Thank Joci74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Many thanks for your very kind comments . We are very pleased that you enjoy your time at the Clachan and we look forward to seeing you both next time you are in the area. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Have eaten here on numerous occasions. Highly recomended - good friendly staff and excellent menu and food. Dont forget to book in advance as we have been disappointed a few times when just turning up and not being able to eat here. Worth every penny an award winning pub/Restaurant Not to be missed if you are in the St. Johns Town of Dalry area of Dumfries and Galloway.

Thank linuspoint26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

It is really pleasing to receive such a glowing review from members of our local community. We think it is very important to have the support of our locals and we hope you will continue to enjoy your visits to the Clachan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Another great experience at the Clachan Inn. We stayed there for 3 nights and had 3 evening meals in the resturant area. As usual a great selection of food, all cooked and presented to a very high standard. Wished we could have stayed longer to sample more of the delicious menu. My son loved the different flavoured home made ice creams he had each evening!! Will be returning......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed their stay at the Clachan, and it was as good as your previous experiences. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Disappointing!!
Decided to give this place a try as we heard that it had recently won awards. In large letters the sandwich board on the pavement outside clearly stated that meals were served 6 till 9 on a saturday. We went in at exactly 6 o clock and all the tables were empty but set up for meals so we sat down and my husband went to the bar for drinks. As he put the drinks down a member of staff passed (we now realise that this was the landlady)
My husband asked for menus and was told that as they had a wedding in another room they were not serving food till 8 o clock.. She then disappeared and we asked another member of staff why this was not made clear on the sign outside or why the bar staff did not make this clear before taking the drinks order. She did not seem to know how to respond so we asked her to let the landlady know of our disappointment and dissatisfaction and that we were leaving not having touched our drinks.
We left the drinks because due to strict Scottish laws on drink driving you can only have the one small drink and we preferred to have it with our meal which we had to go looking for elsewhere.
The landlady did not appear before we left, very unhappy and dissatisfied.

    • Service
1  Thank bezdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip P, Owner at The Clachan Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

We are very disappointed that you had a poor experience on your visit to the Clachan Inn.
On Saturday we had the pleasure of hosting a wedding reception for a local couple. It was obviously a busy day for all our staff setting up the room and with our kitchen preparing a three course meal for 45 guests early in the evening. Unfortunately, due to an oversight the board outside the pub had not been updated.

The bar staff mistakenly thought you were part of that party and served you drinks before realising that you had come in for a meal.

Yes, some tables were empty and laid for dinner but these were for some of our residents and bookings after 8 o'clock. There is a notice at the entrance to the restaurant which requests people to wait to be seated. When the situation was explained to you, I am told a staff member did offer a table at 8 o'clock which you declined.

The reason the landlady didn't reappear before you left was that she had to organise the serving of the next course for the wedding party. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and good service and this is frequently mentioned in many reviews on this and other review sites.

We can only apologies to you for any misunderstanding.

If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact Laura on 01644430241

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clachan Inn Restaurant also viewed

New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
 
New Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Clachan Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing