We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality, quiet holiday lodge with view across the...”
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges Jump for joy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Lodge with large balcony to view the mountains of Sutherland
September sunset from the Lodges
Jump for joy
Sango Bay
Local wildlife
Sitting room
Lodge site
Glenmorangie distillery
Bedroom
Duncansby Head cliffs
Can you count the stars?
Kitchen
View from the site
Salmon Leaping Shin Falls
Dornoch beach and sky by Keith Kerr
From the rope bridge
Pony Trekking Brora Beach
The Big Burn, a favourite walk
Royal Dornoch golf course
Winter stag
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rogart, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gregg W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quality, quiet holiday lodge with view across the glen”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Highland Glen lodges for 3 nights at end April / start May 2014. We were in lodge 5 of the 5 on site. We have stayed in many self catering properties in Scotland and abroad and what immediately struck us about this place when we arrived were the high quality of the lodge and the attention to detail. It's in a really peaceful setting with each lodge overlooking the glen. The interior of the lodge we were in was very clean and well equipped including dishwasher and wifi, and a very comfortable living room area with large windows making the most of the great view. The beds were comfortable (not a given in our experience) and even had electric heating blankets (nice touch when the weather turned colder).

The owners Adrian and Trude were very helpful with information and everything was well prepared and thought out. There was a play area for children, an enclosed area for dogs and on site laundry facilities. Also, we don't consider ourselves as birdwatchers but couldn't help but notice the great variety of birds.

If you would like a quality lodge in a quiet scenic area of Scotland then we would recommend this place. It is one of the very few places we would like to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and pleased you enjoyed you stay. We would love to welcome you back again and look forward to helping you explore other areas of the Northern Highlands. Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinozw
Larbert, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway holiday - for peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Thanks Trude - We really enjoyed our stay...even though the weather wasn't to nice to us. I really liked the fact that we had wifi in the middle of nowhere !!!!

The lodges were smart and maintained to a high standard.

We will certainly come back soon

God Bless

Martin, Nyasha & Tino

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2014
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to do a review. We appreciate that. You will be most welcome at the Lodges again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidandJ...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were lucky enough to stay for 2 weeks in August . We were given a lovely welcome from Adrian who had already printed us out local information and where the best places were to see the wildlife. We followed Adrian and Trudies advice on many of our trips and always felt that we had seen the true Scotland. Our son had a wonderful time with the other children exploring the site and playing in the dark !!! (Something he loved doing as in London he doesn't get as much freedom ;). ) As with the other guests we found the lodge extremely clean and sheets towels and bath mats were changed regularly over the 2weeks. The view is glorious and even more impressive when the rainbow appeared across the glen and also even if it's cold remember the stars at night are worth getting cold for. Our daughter has already said it's somewhere she will take her children when she has them in the long long future !!!
Dornoch beach,Durness drive and beaches are fantastic ,Ullapool the gift shop/tea room brought our tea and cakes out to us while we sat on the wall by sea that was lovely ,Golspie for a local 15min drive for beach and lunch is nice, we went to John o Groats and followed the map and did lots of stop offs there and back ask Adrian for advice ,we stopped so many times but well worth the trip. La Mirage was recommended by Adrian and yes it was a absolute feast YUM the meringue and breaded fish .... We also had crab sandwiches that tasted of crab something we don't seem to be able to find in London Trude knows where !
We also found the Loch behind the lodges unlike the gentleman in lodge 2 !!!!!! Hahahahaha

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge and would be delighted to see you again if you ever decide to visit the North Highlands, there is still plenty to see so we could happily organise plenty of trips for your second visit. We also look forward to the next generation visiting the lodges but not for a few years!
Kind regards
Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparkymar...
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excelent”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Second visit to here. Had a great time. Very clean. Trude and Adrian made us feel very welcome. The property was lovely and clean. No need to take towles etc as they are all provided. even washing facilities too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very homely
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2013
Pleased you had such a great time! It is always nice when guests return and we do hope to see you back at our lodges soon. Kind regards Adrian & Trude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester v
Rogart
1 review
“Best Selfcatering Lodges in Scotland,with excellent service”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The Glen Lodges are situated in the hills of Rogart. From there every place in North Scotland can be reached within 2 hours by car. From here we made a lot of beautiful walks in Sutherland and along the North and Westcoast area. The Lodge and its suroundings inspired us to draw and sculpt.
The service of the owners is excellent. Of course it's clean, the kitchen well equiped and the bathroom contains a bath. The view on the valley of Rogart is magnificent. There are 6 lodges in total, all well separated so your privacy is quaranteed.

The service of the owners was far more then expected. Just giving shelter for a week is not enough for them. The guests have to feel comfortable, can receive advice where to go or information about historical and ecological background whenever the guests want. They provide assistance in all kind of things.

In summary: we will return as soon as possible here!!!

Frank en Hester, the Netherlands

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service and the location of te Lodge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2013
Dear Frank and Hester,
Thank you so much for the time you spent in writing your review. Both Trude and I at Highland Glen Lodges try our utmost to give everyone who stays with us the best opportunity to explore this most beautiful part of Scotland and it is so nice to have your feedback. We do look forward to seeing you again and should you venture this way in the winter, whilst we can not guarantee snow, if there is a snow fall then the whole landscape is changed to a magical winter wonderland. Kind regards, Adrian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing