We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
134
47
22
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
134
47
22
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ghillies bar open fire bar menu great chef soft furnishings other guests varied menu single track road comfortable rooms an overnight stay the main hotel fishing highlands lounge coast fires cyclists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2020 via mobile

The drive to the hotel is on a single track road over moorlands. The views are spectacular and well worth the trip.
Altnaharra is a traditional, well run family hotel In a rural, peaceful location.
The varied menu, great food and excellent service always makes our visits memorable.
We look forward to our next trip in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank fullplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2020

Liked the hotel a lot - public areas comfortable & cosy with open fires on what turned out to be a cold few days.

Bedroom again very comfortable - bathroom a bit dated but not really an issue.

The food & service could vary a bit. The bar food was good - dinner in dining room trying a bit too hard & sometimes missed - simplification & fewer ingredients might help eg the venison dish didn't really need the extras of sauerkraut etc. I really disliked the addition of vinegar to mash with a fish dish (wouldn't have chose it on reflection).

Breakfast generally very good - good quality ingredients. Portions varied a bit from day to day as did the service. We weren't too fussed but one day quite a few tables became frustrated when apparently their whole order couldn't go in at the same time leading to considerable delays.

These are quibbles - we liked it a lot. The locations is spectacular & remote so it was great to have a real break there.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

Stayed here on a trip around the north of Scotland. The Ghillies bar is small but a great place for a drink or bite to eat in your boots, cycling gear etc.
The room looked fresh although the bathroom could do with updating it was really clean and welcoming.
I didn’t eat in the restaurant but in the lounge from the bar menu. The food was lovely and the open fire a nice touch on a cool August evening.
Breakfast was superb although a bit small if you have a long active day planned.
The owners are really friendly and helpful.
Midges, holy moly, there was no wind in the morning and I’ve never seen anything like it.
I’ll definitely go back although it’s not exactly somewhere you can go on the spur of the moment for the weekend.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank trannymanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2020 via mobile

Only option available to us in area for an overnight stay.
Most expensive stay in our tour of the top of Scotland and pricey food. Room and food were ok but both overpriced.
However the biggest issue with the place was the disappearance of hot water meaning only one of us got a hot shower before it cut off. On highlighting the issue I was told it was an ongoing problem that plumbers had been unable to solve and we would just have to wait and it would come back on sometime - it didn’t until much later. Other residents overheard my complaint and told me later that they had the same problem. This really is totally unacceptable

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank midfielder_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2020

Stayed with some very fussy cyclists and we were all impressed by the very comfortable rooms and delicious dinner and breakfast. Very helpful staff particularly Naimh. Stunning setting and also very good value.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duggyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews