We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hollyview

Coldingham Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Coldingham Beach
Living Room Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Coldingham Beach
Living Room
Master Bedroom
St Abbs
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen - dining area
Coldingham Beach
Garden
Court Yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coldingham, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cruising8...
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in this area many times and although Hollyview is situated off the beaten track so to say it was no hassle to pop in the car for the short 5-10mins drive to Coldingham Bay, St Abbs or Eyemouth. The School House at St Abbs serves the biggest and best cakes. The house is well maintained, spacious and warm, it does echo a bit as it is open plan with high ceilings, a good tip is to put the washing machine or dishwasher on when you are out and about or sitting out in the lovely garden.
We have had a fantastic week and the weather has been great. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and modern
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshi...
Lanarkshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a 4 night 5 day break at Hollyview. Mairi and Gordon have created a gem in this two storey cottage. It's the best self catering by far that we have ever stayed at. The downstairs twin room and shower room were perfect for my octogenarian mother and father Iaw. The cottage is spacious and fully equipped. The quiet location is ideal for relaxation and lovely long walks. An excellent base for exploring the surrounding Border towns. The New Inn in Coldingham does excellent food and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Don't forget to visit Coldingham Bay which is very picturesque. We will definitely return and tell our family and friends about Hollyview which sleeps 6 and Hawthorn cottage which sleeps 4

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstjc
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“And relax......”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Hollyview Cottage was the perfect cottage for a relaxing mid-term break. Our party of 4 adults, 2 children and 1 well behaved dog have enjoyed a peaceful few days in this well appointed house.

The cottage is modern but warm and homely feeling and although located by the road is totally tranquil. The bedrooms are great sizes and the beds are super comfy! Both bathrooms are lovely although the light in the downstairs shower room could do with being replaced. The shower itself was brilliant - there is nothing worse than going for a shower and being hit with a trickle of water but not the case at Hollyview! The kitchen is absolutely stunning and well equipped however the fridge is small for a party of 6. The kids loved the garden - one because of the trampoline and the other because there was tonnes of room to play football.

There was a bottle of wine and box of chocolates from the owner in the kitchen when we arrived which was a lovely touch.

Hollyview is a brilliant location for exploring the East Coast. Kids loved the beaches at Coldingham and Eyemouth (and the arcade Highway 66). We took a trip to Alnwick which we would highly recommend and also to the totally beautiful Holy Island.

All in all a fabulous time had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kane1878
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, everything you need all under one roof”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

fron start of booking to the point of leaving Hollyview, everything went exceptionally well, Mairi is very helpful and welcoming and gives you a very relaxed feeling about booking her Excellent hoilday home.
Hollyview itself is amazing, very well presented, with every possible amenity you could need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Decorated and furnished to a very high standard, to not be impressed by this place would be a travesty.
Location is perfect, just a couple of miles outside of Coldingham, with easy access to local pubs, shops and beach (which is amazing). A very good base to explore from, we visited Berick, Edinburgh and Eyemouth on our stay, all within easy driving distance.
We were a group of 4 adults and 3 children under (5, 8,& 9) and Hollyview suited us all, spacious enough for the kids to play and quiet enough for the adults to relax
We could not recommend highly enough and will be coming back soon
Thank you for letting us enjoy your holiday home and hospitality Mairi, see you again soon

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaS1...
Seahouses, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This cottage was really lovely, accommodating for all my needs of an extended canine family, beautifully decorated/furnished everything I needed, lovely and toasty warm even when snowing outside. I could move in tomorrow :)
Thank you Mairi for the wine and chocolates :)

Rebecca

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything nothing to complain about
Liked least: Nothing about the place was not spot on
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing