We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lots to commend this cottage but”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Templehall Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coldingham, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diana S
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“lots to commend this cottage but”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage is very clean and comfortable but we would have expected that either the table in the kitchen or the one in the living room would have had space for 4 chairs, after all self catering means self catering. The oven gives off noxious fumes when one has cooked a simple meal and I would have hoped for the provision of more than 4 teaspoons for a family of four. The juggling of the remote controls to work the tv beggars belief. The owner who lives next door is very helpful on this score. The views from the back windows over to Coldingham Bay are superb .There is a safe mostly enclosed garden but the cottage is very close to a busy road so supervision is required if children are playing out.. We were surprised to find that all the leaflets about nearby attractions were from 2014 .We left our more up to date ones for anyone following us. Cetainly overall a very pleasant cottage for a week's holiday..

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review.
In response to your comments, there are a total of 8 teaspoons in the two drawers which we will now increase to 12 . The table in the lounge is a drop leaf table that when extended seats 4 to 6 comfortable. There are 5 seats provided (4 in the lounge and 1 in the bedroom.
There are two remotes for the TV and satellite box . One does the TV and the other the satellite. The TV one is only used for switching it on the TV and then the other does all the other functions. They are very simple to operate especially with the instructions provided.
As for the comment on the oven, if there was a smell it would be caused by a spillage of your own making . We have the oven spotless for every new arrival.
The oven when you left was beyond belief and took over an hour to get back to our high standard. It is no wonder it was giving off a smell.
The pans etc had to be all re-washed as well.
The leaflets that are in the cottage are all left by previous guests and only provide information that is dateless but we will update where necessary .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spacious warm and comfortable, this is one of the best holiday rentals we have stayed in. We were blessed with good weather and the views over the fields to the sea were lovely from the back of the property and the back garden, we even ate our breakfast out in the garden one morning! Well equiped kitchen, comfortable beds, heated towel rails and a socket next to a mirror for hair drying! These things all make a difference.
This cottage is also very well situated for walking north and south along the coast without having to use the car and Coldingham Bay is a lovely spot.
Easy to book and contact via email, the owners live next to the property and give a warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: situation
Liked least: nothing to like least
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in our cottage. It makes it all worthwhile :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeangl200...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Spent a very pleasant 4 days in this well equiped and very comfortable cottage. Lovely view from the spacious back garden. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. One of our party had mobility problems and found the access easy to manage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and comfort of the property.
Liked least: A mirror in the second bedroom would have been helpful for hair drying.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for the review it is much appreciated.
We like to here that our guests have enjoyed their stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Templehall Cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Have taken cottage breaks before but this one ticks all the boxes. A lovely compact cottage with everything needed to have a nice quiet break. the living room and bedrooms were really comfortable while the kitchen area was perfect for our use.The back outside area was large fully lawned ideal for children and the views were perfect.The cottage is in an ideal place for walkers or cyclists ,a short run down the hill and you are in coldingham a village with all you will need, a store, pubs, and restraunts. Coldingham has its own small beach with all the amenities a family would need for a day out.The cottage is good forI its closeness to Eyemouth or St. Abbs both worth visiting. In all a very comfortable cottage..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Hi David
Thank you for your review.
We are very grateful that our guests take the time to let us know that they have enjoyed their stay with us.
Thank you again
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlo44
acle norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb and peaceful views”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here with my husband for four nights earlier this week.we found the cottage superb, clean with all amenities.a view to die for from the kitchen.area super lovely walks and a gorgeous village with beach.a superb break in a great location.st abbs nature reserve nearby and eyemouth both so fantastic and also accessed by bus

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for your review. It is always lovely to here that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Hope to see you back soon
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing