We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
109
38
18
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
109
38
18
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages beautiful emerald large balcony newman unit chairs beach rental gulf grill florida
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2021 via mobile

This is a gorgeous property. It is family oriented with beautiful fountains, large pool with hot tub, gas grills, well light walk ways the lead to the beach. The place 212 was clean with all necessary amenities. We didnt meet one person that wasn't friendly. Highly recommend the Hidden Dunes

Room tip: There isnt a gym on this property
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed Hidden Dunes Resort and your vacation rental. We look forward to welcoming you back when it's time for your next beach vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2021

While the Condo, weather, waves, and sand was fabulous, at the Hidden Dunes, the Beach Blue Property Management was HORRIBLE. We travel once per year with our Two Daughters and Two Grand Boys 5/13. One Car 6 people, 10 hour drive, with small utility trailer for all luggage, beach toys, etc. Our contract with Beach Blue Properties stated we had 3 parking spaces reserved. However, Hidden Dunes has a NO TRAILER policy, never stated by Beach Blue. The Guard gave us 10 minutes to unload and get the 8' trailer off the property. (at 8 pm) We had to waste 3 more hours finding a parking place off site for the trailer (risking theft), there were lemon rinds (stinking) in the disposal, Sand on the couch, Sand on the floor, Dustbunnies and Beer poptops found under the beds, SAND IN THE BED SHEETS, Stained dishwear, a refrigerator which was not cold, freezer which melted all our ice cream. But to top it off, the RUDENESS of the Beach Blue employees when we reported it. Nice Place, but NEVER trust Beach Blue to be honest about what to expect, even if it is in writing. Read their BBB ratings for further horror stories about Beach Blue Property Management. Even the Gate Security Codes, Wifi Password, and Beach Access codes were ALL WRONG, causing us an extra 2 hours figuring it out for ourselves.

Room tip: Avoid booking with Beach Blue Property Management
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the condo, the views, and the beach at Hidden Dunes Resort. However, we’re disappointed to learn of your experience with your property management company. Since Hidden Dunes Resort condominiums, villas, and cottages are all individually owned, some are managed by different vacation rental companies or by the owner themselves. The on-site property management company is Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, which is on-site and able to provide immediate service and address any issues. In addition, their guest portal provides visitors with all the information they need in advance, including the "no trailers" rule so guests can plan accordingly. We're disappointed to learn you were not informed of this in advance. We hope you'll give Hidden Dunes Resort another chance for future vacations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

We stayed in Beach Cottage 198 from June 4-10. The place could really use some TLC. The floors were dirty, the screened in porch hadn’t been swept in goodness knows how long, there is a major squirrel issue on the property. Seriously, at least 10 squirrels were running around the patio. The description of the beach being a minutes walk away is not true. They offer a tram service to get there. The pool was nice and clean with plenty of chairs, but no umbrellas. And the newly remodeled master bathroom, whoever did this renovation did a poor job. The sink faucet was hard to reach on the above counter sink, the shower door was in the way of the shower head. We had guests above us with a toddler and we could hear everything that child did. We would not stay there again. Too expensive for what you get.

Room tip: The traffic is a major issue as the road is under construction. Don’t shop at the Winn Dixie, prices are outrageous, go to Walmart
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsSki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Thank you for your recent review. We’re disappointed that your beach cottage did not meet your expectations. Each vacation rental cottage at Hidden Dunes Resort is individually owned and varies in terms of quality, cleanliness, and upgrades. While there are never guarantees on who you’ll have as neighbors, by using the on-site property management company, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, you’ll at least have the peace of mind knowing that you’ll receive prompt reliable service if there are cleanliness or maintenance issues. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of our seasonal tram service to the beach and hope you’ll give Hidden Dunes Resort another chance to make a first impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

My wife and I have vacationed before at Hidden Dunes and fell in love with the property and area. Again this year we returned with 2 other couples and with my endorsement, we chose Hidden Dunes. This year however something changed at the beach. This year the entire beach front property of Hidden Dunes was taken up completely by a beach umbrella company named "White Diamond". If you wanted to set up your own umbrella, tent or other shade device, you had to set up completely behind the umbrellas of White Diamond. In other words the only space to do so was the back side of the beach near the Dunes leaving you no view of the beach and water only the backs of green chairs. To get to the water you had to walk thru small spaces between chairs. The line up of chairs was set up in 2 large "U" formations, side by side to maximize the amount of space in front of their chairs, with 2 "owners sections only" to each side of the "U" formations. You could rent 2 chairs and an umbrella for the day for $40 or for the week for $200. A couple can afford this however asking a large family or group to pay for multiple chairs is excessive! Paying over $3000 for a week's stay and then being forced into renting a chair if you want to enjoy the beach is excessive! I did speak with a representative of Hidden Dunes who referred me to their HOA who handles these issues. I spoke with an HOA rep who was very friendly and said he would pass my thoughts on to the owners. You may be thinking, why didn't we just walk down past the umbrellas and set up....we'll Walton County is in a property fued and every property is restricting your ability too setup in front of their hotels or resorts to those guests who are staying there or if you are a single owner there were signs stating "private property. I highly suggest you do your research of Walton County properties etc. before sinking any money into a resort or property that forces you into what I described above. PURCHASER BEWARE!!!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank josephling1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2021

Thank you for your review. We're disappointed to hear that your return trip to Hidden Dunes Resort did not meet your expectations. The HOA contracted White Diamond Beach Service to provide beach service to owners and guests to ensure everyone has a view of the water. Previously, there were complaints that 10x10 tents were lining the water's edge and hindering the view. For guests who rent their vacation rental through the on-site property management company, Newman-Dailey Resort Properties, two chairs, and an umbrella are included with each day of the stay. This way families are assured a view of the water and are able to set up a tent behind their chairs for the rest of their group. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the other resort amentities, including swimming pool, hot tub, grilling stations, tennis center, horseshoe pit and walking trails that make staying at Hidden Dunes Resort a treat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021

We stayed at Hidden Dunes in Unit #1506. We arrived to a very dirty condo and would never stay here again. Needs updating - pictures are deceiving. Floors were filthy, linens are beds (pillow cases did not seem changed - hair, stains on them), dust ruffle stained dirty and the mattress pad (under the fitted sheet) was urine stained in several areas, hair and dirt. It's hard to believe anyone changing the sheets could miss this! The couch has lots of stains/dirty as well as the chair.
Mirrors/sliding door windows/microwave were dirty. The owner/manager was adamant when we called upon our arrival to show him what we saw upon our arrival, he didn't seem to care.

One elevator was not working ALL week. Our last morning BOTH elevators were not working and we had to carry luggage down 15 floors. They were in the process of replacing the one elevator.. but it sounded like it was a year of one not working. You could tell the aggravation from people as we all patiently wasted vacation time waiting for the elevator coming and going.

Also, the umbrella service on the beach is basically... if you pay for an extra chair..(equipment) you will be seated closer to the water. If you're staying for a week... I recommend finding a spot you like and pay the extra to reserve your spot, otherwise you will be seated near families with lots of kids and no view of the water.

We LOVE Destin and Hidden Dunes (we've stayed here many times in the past), but I would never rent this unit from Geoff B. (owner/manager) again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank westielover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy Louthain, Marketing at Hidden Dunes Beach & Tennis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience. We're disappointed to read that it was not ideal. As you noted, each vacation rental condominium at Hidden Dunes Resort is individually owned. To ensure your vacation is protected, we recommend renting through the vacation rental management company that is on-site--Newman-Dailey Resort Properties. The company offers a 100% performance guarantee for prompt reliable service. The HOA is currently replacing the elevators, which is why one was down during your stay and we're so sorry to hear the second elevator went down on the day of your departure. We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Hidden Dunes Resort to enjoy all the amenities you've come to enjoy over the years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews